Accepting Our AttRAction to Richard Armitage: One Day at a Time, 10/08/11 GratianaDS90 (Post #27)


I thought I would go ahead and weigh in on our collective fascination about and for Richard Crispin Armitage with four little words.  Don’t fight the attRAction.  It’s visceral–some might even say instinctual.  And though the law of averages suggests that one man can’t reinvent himself so appealingly time after time after time after time, Richard Crispin Armitage manages to do just that with his prolific and searing character portrayals, photoshoots, and such.  I can’t tell you the effect those Project Magazine photos  of Mr. Armitage released in July 2011 had on me–mostly because I try to keep my blog PG-13 [(1) Project Magazine pictures].  Ha!  Embedded here is the multi-RA character video [(2) Crinklette video] that encapsulates my feelings for Richard Armitage–and confess, your feelings, too:

Richard Armitage – I Think I’m In Love With You by crinklette

Whether it is leather (Sir Guy), camouflage (John Porter), or beard as accessory (Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit)–or nothing at all in the case of his magnificent bare chested scenes in Robin Hood, Strike Back, and Spooks–Richard Armitage oozes handsomeness from every pore, even when he is fully clothed, maybe, especially then.    For an amusing way to “analyze” this for yourself, here is a fun video by HeathDances that features several RA characters–including some very nice bare chested shots.  [(3) HeathDances video]  You be the judge.

Richard Armitage Sexy Back 3!! By HeathDances

In the 1985 tv adaptation of The Long Hot Summer, Don Johnson joked that the makeup people kept spraying him with “combat sex sweat” for his steamy love scenes with Judith Ivey  [(4) The Long Hot Summer].  I think we can see where John Porter must be using some of that “combat sex sweat” in the picture below left.  Then again, a chiseled bare chest and abdominal musculature without sweat is very nice, too–a la the Guy-li-cious Sir Guy in the picture lower middle.  And, of course, there is the luscious Lucas North’s tattooed muscular body lower right.

                  
[(5) John Porter]                                          [(6) Sir Guy]                [(7) Lucas North]

Okay, I’ll admit it.  Next to admiring Mr. Armitage’s expressive face and eyes, I’m an arms, chest, and abdominals trifecta girl.  Just look at the “guns” on Porter in the image above left.  Sighhhhh!

And remember another thing about our admiration for Richard Armitage.  Surely, he won’t mind.  He must be smiling all the way to the bank when we buy his dvds, audiobooks, support his tv programs through our viewership, and now support his film career through our buying a ticket.  Because Mr. Armitage having a solid, loyal, and growing fan base gives him some advantages in selecting future artistic projects now that he is becoming sought after for his talent–as well as for his market share demographic– in the larger international filmmaking artistic sphere.  Can you say Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit anyone?  Now this is one magnificent Dwarf!  And, Thorin rather reminds me–at least period costume wise–of another sword wielding fellow:

                                             
[(8) Hobbit Press Conf.]         [(9) Thorin image]                             [(10) Sir Guy]

So, whether it is the “instinctual need” we have to procreate with great genes–his, of course–that makes us desire him.  Or if our desire stems from just a plain happy and harmless delusional fantasy on our parts, I say that we embrace our attRAction for Richard Armitage.  Of course, we would all love to embrace “him”.  But, that’s not possible.  Sorry to burst my own bubble on that one.  Ha!  So cuddle up to your real life dearest one and let him derive the benefit of your inspired longings for Richard Armitage.  The wise husband, spouse, lover knows a good thing when he sees it–inspired wives, that is.  Besides, a corporeal sweetheart in situ keeps you warm at night–as in the next video that should send you right over the edge (Ha!)   [(11) JulietD001 video]:

Strike back & Spooks (John/Lucas) My Body…Put some pressure on it by JulietD001

Although, Richard Armitage as the 2D picture or video object of our affection exudes plenty of “heat” from his smouldering gazes–as in the examples below–is it any wonder we’re besotted with him?  That question is rhetorical.  Ha!

                                          
[(12) 2009 Promo pix]        [(13) 2009 Promo pix]       [(14)  Promo 2009]

             
[(15) Promo 2010]                  [(16) Promo 2010]

Because the trick about believing that we are well adjusted in our attRAction to Richard Armitage is that we learn to live with certain realities–such as, that we are completely besotted with him and we would carry his child if he asked us to.  Ha!  And the following video sums up many people’s feelings regarding Mr. Armitage [(17) Romana55 video]:

Richard Armitage – I Just Wanna Make Love To You by Romana55

Sugarbabes’ song also sums up RA fans general feelings about Mr. Armitage nicely in this embedded video [(18) spikesbint]:

Too Lost Richard Armitage Fan vid by spikesbint

And you say  to yourself, “This is just the way it is.”  So it’s okay, and we should just accept our attRAction to Richard Crispin Armitage–really and truly.  I give you leave to drool and swoon over him.  And please return the favor to me.  Richard Armitage is my non-guilty pleasure–ever since I was first introduced to his acting in February 2010 when I rented the 2004 BBC produced film North & South from my local library [(19) North & South Final Train Station Kissing Scene].  Because folks, a long time ago I gave up guilt and self deprivation–neither are healthy emotions–for Lent.  Instead, I choose to actively do something constructive during Lent–like writing an extra donation check to a charity I support, while I pop another chocolate into my mouth.  Seriously.  Ha!

Instead, I believe that it’s better to spin each situation I’m faced with 180 degrees, and look at it from the positive point of view.  So, what is positive about our collective admiration for Mr. Richard Crispin Armitage–whether he be clothed or bare chested?  Wonderful endorphins surge within us that embue us with happiness and contentment, being sincerely moved by his searing character portrayals, and the spark of creativity that he inspires in us through our fiction writing, blogging, discussion group facilitating, vidding, graphic design, etc.  The man is a veritable pied piper of creativity–and we are definitely playing his tune.  And on that note, here is one final music video to enjoy about our admiration for Richard Crispin Armitage [(20) luisalane93]:

Richard Armitage – HOT  by luisalane93

Cheers!  Grati  ;->

P.S.  And if you couldn’t guess, my tongue is firmly in my cheek with regard to my essay and these fun video selections created by the wonderful video mavens cited.  That is, my tongue is in my cheek until Mr. Armitage wants a kiss.  Ha!

P.S.  Grati’s aside to my wonderful hubby:  “Just kidding, sweetheart.”  *wink*

References

(1)  Project Magazine portrait of Richard Armitage on RANet at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/ProjectMagJuly2011/album/slides/ProjectMag-07.html

(2) “I Think I’m In Love With You” video  by crinklette (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V30HCIg8tC8)

(3)  “Richard Armitage Sexy Back 3!!” video by HeathDances (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V30HCIg8tC8)

(4) “The Long Hot Summer” tv movie info on the Internet Movie Database http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0089500/)

(5)  John Porter bare chest from Strike Back series 1, episode 6 from RANet (http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/StrikeBack/album/series1/Episode6HD/slides/ep6hd_003.html)

(6)  Sir Guy bare chested from Robin Hood, series 2, episode 3 from RANet (http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode3/slides/rh203_104.html)

(7)  Lucas North chest Tattoos from Spooks series 7, episode 1 from RANet (http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Spooks/album/ep1/slides/spooks701_052.html)

(8)  Richard Armitage at The Hobbit Press Conference, Feburary 11, 2011 from RANet
(http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitPressConf/album/slides/PressConf-05.html)

(9)  Richard Armitage portrait as Thorin Oakenshield on RANet
(http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitStills/album/slides/11-ThorinWallpaper-1600×1200.html)

(10) Richard as Sir Guy of Gisborne in Robin Hood series 3, episode 11
(http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasonthree/Episodeeleven/slides/RH3episode11_118.html)

(11) “Strike back & Spooks (John/Lucas) My Body…Put some pressure on it” video by JulietD001 (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=44rs1nx7OFo)

(12) Richard Armitage smoulder picture in 2009 Promos Gallery on RANet (http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/2009%20Promo/slides/TVSatcoverbyHeathra.html)

(13) Daily Mail picture of Richard Armitage in 2009 Promos Gallery on RANet http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/2009%20Promo/slides/DailyMailpic_10Oct09.html

(14)  New Richard Armitage Head Shot in 2009 Promos Gallery on RANet
(http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/2009%20Promo/slides/NewHeadshotHigh.html)

(15) Richard Armitage from Sunday Times article in 2010 Promos Gallery on RANet
(http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/2010Promo/album/slides/SundayTimes_12Sep10-JoeMcGorty.html)

(16)  Richard Armitage from Mail article in 2010 Promos Gallery on RANet
(http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/2010Promo/album/slides/Mail_19Sep10-ElsaQuarsell(2).html)

(17)  “Richard Armitage – I Just Wanna Make Love To You” video by Romana55
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6dE-IUkPtBE&feature=related)

(18)  “Too Lost Richard Armitage Fan vid” video by spikesbint
(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fbJZzH4wVSM&feature=related)

(19)  North & South, Train Station Kissing Scene between John Thornton and Margaret Hale, North & South, episode 4, picture 340  on RANet at (http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/nands/album/episode4/slides/ns4-340.html)

(20)  “Richard Armitage – HOT” video by luisalane93  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XFM5Y7CTcBE)

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in AttRAction, Fangurling, North & South, Richard Armitage, Robin Hood, Spooks, Strike Back, The Hobbit and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Accepting Our AttRAction to Richard Armitage: One Day at a Time, 10/08/11 GratianaDS90 (Post #27)

  1. kathryngaul says:

    Yes, yes, yes…I’m totally agreeing with you! I often feel that we are taking this cry of “objectification” way too seriously if we are going to analyze it to bits every minute (or every second) of every day. Is it really hurting Richard, either on a personal or professional basis, if we find him attractive as well as talented from his head down to his toes? If it isn’t, what’s the problem? Why would he agree to undertake so many publicity shots/photo shoots or newspaper and television interviews if he really didn’t want any attention at all? If I were to see and hear RA himself say that he definitely wants women to never ‘see him”, just the characters he portrays on screen, I would really try to do so…seriously, I would if I thought it upset him so much. It would be extremely difficult to never look at a fanvid ever again but I’d give it my best shot!

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Hi Kathryn,

      It’s good to see you again. At some point, the analysis about “obsession” about Richard Armitage ironically becomes obssessive in and of itself. And yes, I just wanted to lighten the mood about the whole “are we are or aren’t we objectifying Richard” issue. I’m in the “not” camp, by the way.

      And when one crafts a new artistic project, one can assume that you would like a few people to see it and enjoy the story. Otherwise, acting merely becomes an exercise in self expression that does not seek to engage nor interact with others–which is contrary to the usual reasons for doing it in the first place.

      Besides, the nature of the entertainment business–and I use the word business purposefully here–is that artistic projects need to be promoted with interviews, photo spreads, etc. This advertisement is certainly to do more than “break even” or even make a profit. Because artists and filmmakers want to continue doing what they love to do. So success breeds continuation.

      A person might not “seek fame” as their goal in acting–merely wanting to challenge themselves with new and creative roles that they hope people will enjoy and to work in an ensemble acting group to tell a story. However, part of the package deal in acting is encouraging others to watch your work–and that means self promotion. And those who are master storytellers–and I count Mr. Armitage as a master story teller–need an audience to tell their stories to.

      So we, your audience Mr. Armitage, salute you! And we request that you please keep your character roles coming, because we do so enjoy you telling us a story.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting, Kathryn.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. judiang says:

    I certainly don’t struggle and agree completely with Kathryn. RA is aware people find him very attractive even if he doesn’t think so, and exploits it himself in promo shoots etc. As long as he continues in that vein, I will continue to admire ALL of his assets.

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Hi Judiang,
      I agree with you. Personally, I think Mr. Armitage’s humility about his handsomeness and his self-effacing charm are two of his most endearing qualities. Unlike other celebrities or public figures who “swagger” about, Mr. Armitage comports himself as a gentleman–that is, for me, his most attRActive quality.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. fitzg says:

    Guilty? Who feels guilty about objectification? Just one small complaint – hope he stops waxing his chest….

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Hi Fitzg!
      Ha ha ha ha ha! I agree! RA should be wax free and all natural. Maybe he’s getting the chance to channel his inner “guy with chest hair” now that he’s playing Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit and he probably has his chest covered in costume all of the time. Ha!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. kathryngaul says:

    I’m perfectly fine with Richard’s waxing that very small and sparse bit of chest hair!! I must be extra extra strange, then?

    I was married to a man with lots and lots of chest hair and he even had some hair across the back of his shoulders! Yuck…it peeped out of his collar sometimes and looked utterly gross. He hated it himself and made me shave it off for him on a regular basis! But he went bald (on his head!) over the years. And, no…that’s NOT the reason I divorced him after 12 1/2 years of an extremely bad marriage! I got used to the bald look because it was gradual but I am not attracted to bald men per se.

    The only bald men who’ve ever appealed to me are (1) Sean Connery (also “sex-on-legs” to me since the days of “Dr No”) and Yul Brynner…..but most of you are way too young to have seen the old movie “The King and I” with Yul and Deborah Kerr???

    To get back to RA….whatever he wants to do about his chest hair (or not do as the case may be), is OK by me. I’ll still think he’s one of most attractive men I’ve ever seen in my long long life!

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Hi Kathryn,
      I’m cool on whatever Richard wants to do with regard to his chest hair. I’m just guessing that waxing is painful. I’m recalling that scene in “The 40 Year Old Virgin” when the quite hairily chested Steve Carrel gets part of his chest hair waxed. Ouch!

      And despite my “tender” years–not! Ha!–I remember and love “The King and I” with Yul Brynner. I’m an avid movie fan–and taught a cinema class during my student teaching days–so I’ve seen and enjoyed what most people consider “the classics”–many times over. Who can forget watching Henry Fonda in the 1939 film”The Grapes of Wrath” as he gives his “I’ll be there” soliloquoy among my many favorite films of all time?

      And back to RA, my self. Ha! I love classic literature made into film. And though the new “Jane Eyre” is serviceable, I’ve long wanted to see Mr. Armitage take on the role of Edward Rochest to Emily Blunt’s Jane Eyre. I even proposed it to Mr. Armitage’s agents 1.5 years ago–before I knew there was another film in the works. But, that’s not to say that in 5 years time, “Jane Eyre” couldn’t be remade again. Mr. Armitage would be brilliant!

      Thanks for visiting and commmenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  5. fabi says:

    Kathryn, there’s no age required to enjoy classic movies, I love “The King and I” and agree about Brynner! I’m not young in age, only in mind/heart, I hope. ;)
    Grati, I’m glad you brought the subject.
    My fascination with Armitage is lasting one year right now. Unfortunately a guilty pleasure (not due to objectification) because I feel like I’m cheating my hubby, he doesn’t know and would not understand if I told him. I can’t help myself, need my daily fix like an addicted.
    The problem is that I had putted RA on a pedestal, dreaming him as the closest to perfection I’ve ever seen in a man. Suddenly (one year later, LOL!) I realized: my golden idol has clay feet, he’s someone who “sells” himself, or allows it, his image is consumed by thousands of people the way they want. To me this is disturbing. I have to accept this is how entertainment world works, and if doesn’t harm him, why do I feel bad by thinking of him like a piece of meat in a butcher shop? (Sorry, didn’t found a better metaphor.)
    I only hope this strange feeling goes away, I want to be a happy fan again, without any doubts.

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Hi Fabi,

      I guess I’m in between with regard to the pedestal versus the feet of clay position. I regard and admire Mr. Armitage quite highly for his exquisite acting talents. Yes, the man makes me swoon everytime he opens his mouth and voices his lines of dialogue–or even not, as he expresses himself so eloquently without words in many scenes. And, his gentlemanly persona as evidenced in his interviews endears him to me even more. I was brought up to esteem kind, decent, honest, faithful, and honor as being the finest qualities a man could have. And Mr. Armitage meets those distinctions for me–as does my wonderful hubby, I might add.

      And speaking of my hubby, before I realized I could watch films on my laptop with my headset microphones, I watched the North & South Train Station Love Scene–I’ve capitalized its label because it is one of the finest romantic scenes of all time–on our shared great room tv during commercials of whatever my hubby was watching. So, my hubby got an “inkling” of my admiration for Richard Armitage then. And as I said above, my wise and loving hubby doesn’t begrudge me my admiration for Mr. Armitage–because my hubby is the beneficiary of my heightened romantic feelings. Ha!

      And though Mr. Armitage’s image via film and photo shoots is everywhere these days–at least in RA land–I don’t view that as Mr. Armitage “selling” himself. These images certainly promote the films, or they let us glimpse and remember as aspect to a film that we recall fondly. Hey, I created my signature that I use for myself from the RANet screencap of that N&S kissing scene (North and South episode 4 image 340)–Love Lives in Our Hearts. That signature can be found to the right on this window under resources. So, I urge you not to think of Mr. Armitage as having “feet of clay”. Mr. Armitage is just a normal human being like the rest of us. It’s just that his “job” is one to share stories for people to enjoy. And that includes illustrating that film ad by sharing via images–as I have done with these and my other posts, to add visual interest.

      And I know that Mr. Armitage has made some choices to appear nude in films–such as in the “Between the Sheets” tv show. And I respect his right to do so. I haven’t seen that film only because they haven’t made it into the US region code for dvds. But, I’m sure I will see it eventually. What I have seen of that tv show via You Tube makes me think that it is a highly insightful tv film about the complexities of love and relationships.

      But nude love scenes are no doubt chilly when they’re being filmed on a large sound stage–and probably slightly embarrassing to film with the crew standing around and all, not to mention the director telling you what to do. So, I don’t imagine that nude love scenes are all that romantic or erotic for those portraying them. So, I bow my head to those who forge ahead in that regard and are able to convey the romanticism for us. It’s just that for my own sensibilities–and were I to ever see my own stories and their love scenes filmed–I would want them to be filmed more discreetly. Bare shoulders and a bare back would be at most what I would want to see. In my view, women want romance, not an instructional video. Ha! And as I said, the most romantic and erotic love scene that I have ever seen is the North & South Train Station love and kissing scene between John and Margaret–and they were fully clothed. The tenderness makes me melt everytime. Sighhhhhh!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  6. kathryngaul says:

    Sorry, I can’t help you on this. I’ve been a devoted fan since about 1999 and I find it difficult to look at photos of Richard as Richard and not drool!

    It’s a strange thing…but I can separate the portrayal of a character from Richard as a person. I loved Lucas from the moment he appeared in “Spooks” and don’t actually “see” the real life Richard on my television or computer when I’m watching a show, I just see the character he’s playing. I drool over those guys, too, so don’t get me wrong.

    But I have a hard time thinking I’m somehow exploiting Richard Armitage personally if I think he’s attractive???? But I’m also aware that some ladies do feel that way. Does it take away from your enjoyment of his work? Just curious…I’m not trying to be funny or anything else

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      I know what you mean, Kathryn.
      Richard Armitage so transforms himself into his charactors–he’s a real acting chameleon that way–that we, his audience, are transported into the story he is telling. I was astonished that the same man interviewed about portraying John Thornton on the North & South dvd was actually the same actor who portrayed them. I mean, I could see some of the resemblance–as if maybe they were brothers–but Richard’s physicality and voice were all different when he was being himself.
      The man has a real gift and talent for storytelling as an actor. And I’m happy to be the recipient of those gifts.
      Cheers! Grati! ;->

      Like

  7. fabi says:

    I think all the talk about objetification had messed things in my head, I didn’t feel this way before.

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Fabi Dear,

      The overanalyzing of people’s fascination with Richard Armitage was why I created this post on accepting our attRAction to Richard Armitage.

      Don’t worry about over analyzing your interest in Mr. Armitage as some people do. Our like, love, or lust for Mr. Armitage is what it is. We admire Mr. Armitage’s acting and him as a person. And yes, he’s more handsome and charming than any man has a right to be, I always say. Ha! These are all flattering things to him in my mind. And I give Mr. A. full permission to like, love, and lust after me. Ha! See? I like to keep a sense of humor about such things.

      So, don’t let others–who for whatever reason in their own psyche are still coming to terms with their admiration of RA–get you down. They’re perfectly free to have their own feelings about it, it is their right. I just don’t intend to be dragged down with them. I view my admiration for Mr. Armitage as being honest and sincere. And I wish all good things for him professionally and personally.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      And may I add, Fabi,
      Don’t let the “naysayers” and “objectifier” wailings suck the air out of your love and admiration for Richard Armitage.
      To me, my RA “hobby” gives me pure joy. And it has inspired my creative writing again–all good things.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

      • fabi says:

        Grati, thank you and all commenters for helping me to put things into perspective again. I’m so grateful because I have “met” the extraordinary artist RA is, all I want is watch and hear him and be delighted by his talent – and his chiseled face and body (I’m not made of iron, LOL!).
        I’m thinking to introduce hubby to RA work, surely he will like Strike Back! So I can make some occasional commentaries as “I like this actor”, “He’s got beautiful eyes”, “He’s really brave and heroic”, etc. :D

        Like

        • GratianaDS90 says:

          Ooh Fabi,
          You’re most welcome. I say live and let live with regard to admiring Richard Armitage. He’s so adorable when he’s playing his laid back charcters of John Standring, Harry Kennedy–or when he’s being a version of himself in interviews.

          And playing Strike Back 1 for your hubby is a great idea! I still have yet to buy Strike Back series 1. I watched it online. I’ll try that tack with my hubby, too.I want to buy all the dvd for shows and films of Mr. Armitage’s eventually. But they need to make the dvds in the right region code for the US. Ha! I actually bought Sparkhouse with the British region code–hoping that I could find a non region code specific dvd player–they do make them–to play it evetually. I’ve seen it on the meantime via You Tube.

          Have a great week! Cheers! Grati ;->

          Like

          • fabi says:

            Yes, a multi region DVD player is a survival item to me too. Only N&S was released here in my country, so I’m buying region 1 DVDs from a virtual shop which delivers worldwide – the first was Vicar of Dibley, and Robin Hood Complete Series is on the way now. It takes a month to arrive, but is absolutely worth waiting. The others I watch on YT, thankfully there were some good souls who posted them. A wonderful week to you!

            Like

  8. kathryngaul says:

    Hi again. I will go off to bed soon as it’s 1 am Monday in my neck-of-the woods. But, in the meantime….Richard is a bit of alright in the acting department, isn’t he? I’ve noticed how he’s grown as an actor over the years and also as an interviewee. (Is there such a word? If not, then I’ve just invented it! Don’t they say that English is a living language? Sorry, enough of my warped sense of humour). Richard is still shy but he’s more self-confident these days. Oh, boy, I really should use “appears” in there because I don’t “know him” personally, of course. I just think he thinks we’re all making too much of his looks and aren’t really giving him credit for his talent. But we all know that’s not so. Maybe if anyone ever gets the chance to speak to him face-to-face or whatever, she could try convincing him that we appreciate his talent and are “happy to be the recipient/s” of the display of that talent? I know I’ll still think he’s a great actor even when he becomes old and fat and ugly (those were his words, weren’t they?). Of course, he’s going to grow old one day. He may even get fatter. But I’m also thinking he’s going to find it hard to be ugly!

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Amen Sister Kathryn!

      And if Richard Armitage get’s chubby–there will simply be more of him to love. Ha!

      And he has to know that our love for him is based on his talent–not just his looks. Because I enjoy closing my eyes and raptly listen to him telling me a story as much as I enjoy watching him tell a story. The fact that he is handsome is merely icing on the cake.

      And hey, I’m the girl who thinks Mr. Armitage looked handsome as the scruffy pre-makeover John Standring. Ha! Maybe it’s because I married my own “John Standring” who is the love of my life–a kind, decent , faithful, and loving bloke who keeps me warm at night. Ha!

      Sweet dreams.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  9. Ania says:

    I agree with what has been said. I also think that RA is well aware, for its attractiveness. And perfectly able to use it, after all consciously takes part in various photo shoots. And that’s okay, because it is part of his profession, it is part of “being an actor.” I feel that Richard ideally placed boundary between what is associated with “being an actor,” and his privacy. And I love how he protects his privacy.
    I don’t think, if I consider Richard attractive I exploiting him in some way. And he is attractive on many ways for me. Not only as the handsome guy but also, and maybe first of all attractive as the man. He has amazing personality, intelligence, talent and this kind of the gift through which he influences people ( he changes them, he forces to thinking).

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Well said, Ania,
      I agree with you completely. And to me, the ultimate compliment I can bestow is that I feel Richard Armitage is a gentleman–on top of him being a renaissance actor. And in truth, Mr. Armitage seems like a gentle man, too.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  10. kathryngaul says:

    I told you I was still partly asleep, didn’t I? I just read the comment above about region codes and DVD players. There is a website that gives the numbers one must punch into the player to make it “all regions”. Melanie was able to make one of her DVD players region-free…I think it was the older machine. She’s in Oceanside, CA. I will try to find the website address for you and get backto you later today. I might feel a little more awake if I go eat something. Bye for now

    Like

  11. kathryngaul says:

    Back again. I’m not sure what website I used to find how Melanie could change her American DVD player into a “region-free” one but I found this link below and hope it works for you.

    http://www.dvd-region-codes.com/index_new.htm

    Like

  12. kathryngaul says:

    I missed your comment about “instinctual need to procreate” previously.

    I’m about to “duck for cover” .. but…

    don’t you think that’s a bit of a generalization?

    Not every woman has this so-called “instinctual need”! Throughout my late teens and early twenties, I really didn’t think I’d ever bother to get married and have children as I didn’t feel the need. It was only the societal expectation and pressure of the times that forced me to change my mind and marry. Then I basically had to be talked-into having a child by my husband and my mother! I guess I must have thought I loved him at the time but it’s so long ago now that I can’t honestly remember!

    Of course, from the very minute I fell pregnant with Matthew (and I was one of those weird women who felt “different” from only a few days into my pregnancy), I was very pleased to be having a child. Then, when Matthew was 18 months old, I gave away all of his baby stuff because, even though I loved my darling little boy to bits, I didn’t feel the need for any more children!!

    Husband and mother once again “talked me into it”! So I had Melanie 3 years and 4 months after Matthew. Once again, I was happy from that first week of pregnancy! 37 years later, I can’t imagine what my life would have been like without my baby girl. (Matthew’s and Melanie’s children think “Grandy (me)” is just so funny when she refers to them as “my little boy” and “my baby girl”!!!!)

    I have older and younger female and male cousins who have never married. Maybe it’s because we were all brought up as Catholics and Catholics are not supposed to divorce that makes us hesitant in that department.- I don’t really know. As I may have said previously in this post, it took me 12 1/2 years to leave a very bad marriage – partly because I still believe that marriage should be forever.

    I am so thankful that some of you ladies have wonderful marriages or some sort of alternative long-term loving relationships – that helps maintain my belief in humanity! But I have been quite happy on my own for years and years now. Of course, I’m not really alone as I have children, grandchildren, brothers, sisters, nieces, nephews, etc., as well as a couple of close friends of long standing and many acquaintances. But, if I’m being totally honest here, it would have been nice to know true love but….ah well, such is life.

    Getting back to our darling Richard – I was already 50 years of age when I “discovered” His Gorgeousness/His Hotness! So, there’s certainly been no “instinctual urge” to have his babies (beautiful though they will obviously be IF or when he gets around to having some)!

    Like

    • GratianaDS90 says:

      Well said, Kathryn!

      People’s lives are many and varied. It is the spice of life. And finding out what makes each of us happy–and pursuing that happiness–is unique and individual unto ourselves.

      You’ll notice that when I mentioned the term “instinctual”, I qualified it by saying “some might” have that notion–not that all of us did.

      No one can tell us what makes us happy or what to do–we have to find that for ourselves. I have one perspective based on my own life. And that is what I share with you.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  13. GratianaDS90 says:

    Okay Ladies,

    May I suggest another video that glorifies Richard Armitage’s character of Sir Guy of Gisborne? We have the tongue in cheek video from Romana55:

    Guy of Gisborne – I Like it Rough

    This is a Lady Gaga song with an edgy topic–“a man who likes it rough”–yet the song styling is rather sweet and lilting,very top 40. This video contains quite a juxtaposition of portrait like images of Mr. Armitage as Sir Guy, edgy lyrics, and a melodious song–rather amusingly ironic.

    Why am I including this video in a comment? Well, its song is a catchy tune, and the beauteous images of Richard Armitage as Robin Hood series 3 Sir Guy are heart stopping–especially from Episode 5 (“Let the Games Commence”).

    And although, we might sincerely wish to see Mr. Armitage in the flesh soon–Sir Peter, how about Production video #4?–Mr. A is very busy filming. So, perhaps like Sir Guy in RH 3, epi 5, Mr. Armitage might say “Demand away”. Ha! Not! I’m sure Mr. Armitage would be wearily gracious. Poor guy (little g), I hope he’s getting some rest.

    Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  14. Pingback: On the Genesis of Perving: ad quod respondit Servetus — THREE « Me + Richard Armitage

  15. Pingback: Accepting Our AttRAction to Richard Armitage: One Day at a Time, 10/08/11 GratianaDS90 (Post #27) | Richard Armitage | Scoop.it

  16. Pingback: WCW: Is Actor Richard Armitage Causing Global Warming? March 12, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #528) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

