A Tiny Corner of My Heart, a poem by Gratiana Lovelace, 10/29/11 (Post #43)

A tiny corner of my heart waited for its dearest one to love.
No sincerely wanted children of mine came to claim it.
Though my sweet nieces and nephews reside in my heart elsewhere.
I leant my heart to friends in need, and with doing quiet good deeds.
But still, this corner of my heart wanted its own resident. [(1)]

And though my cherished lover claims the lion’s share of my heart,
This tiny corner of my heart
Lay waiting for its own fulfillment.
With hope, I waited for someone who would inspire me. [(2)]
Someone who would spark passions anew in me.

I first saw you from afar,
Looking confident, strong, and in command. [(3)]
Your demeanor demanded respect from others,
And you received it–including from me.
My heart nodded its acknowledgement to you.

And then, you smiled one day.
Yours was a small smile, with barely curled lips.
The shy smile of a private man, [(4)]
A man not given to public displays of himself.
And a tiny corner of my heart was forever yours.

The more I saw of you, the more my regard for you deepened.
With fearlessness you bared your soul to me and to others.
Would I see the confident man today?
Or perhaps the brave and honorable man?
Or would you reveal to me the tragic tortured man?  Or someone new?

                 
[(5)] Sir Guy                 [(6)] John Porter          [(7)] Lucas North

And though I will never truly know you, [(8)]
Nor will you truly know me,
Each of us keeping private that which only ourselves know,
I do not mind this impassable gulf between us.
I find a comfort in it, a cushioned softness from rejection for my tender heart.

In keeping my sincere love for you tucked silently away in my heart,
You are esteemed and valued and loved for you, in all your incarnations.
And I wish you every happiness that you wish for yourself.
Without knowing it, you have claimed me, and I am yours forever,
In a tiny corner of my heart. [(9)]

Image References

(1)     Open Heart Locket by Adin Antique Jewelry (2011). Image found at http://images.adin-antique-jewelry.com/low/09360-4382.P01.JPG

(2)     Flowers by Linda Knorr Shafer (2011). Image found at  http://images.fineartamerica.com/images-small/victorian-romance-linda-knorr-shafer.jpg

(3)     John Thornton, as portrayed by Richard Armitage, meeting Margaret Hale in North & South, episode 1, picture 26 (2004). BBC.  Screencap image courtesy of RANet.  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/nands/album/episode1/slides/ns1-026.html

(4)     John Standring, as portrayed by Richard Armitage, smiling at Carol Bolton in Sparkhouse, episode3, picture 23 (2002). BBC.  Screencap image courtesy of RANet.  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/sparkhouse/album/Episode3/slides/SH3_023.html

(5)     Sir Guy of Gisborne, as portrayed by Richard Armitage, in Robin Hood series3, episode 5, picture 84 (2009). BBC.  Screencap image courtesy of RANet.  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasonthree/Episodefive/slides/5_084.html

(6)     John Porter, as portrayed by Richard Armitage, in Chris Ryan’s Strike Back series 1, episode 2, picture 62 (2010). Sky 1. Screencap image courtesy of RANet. http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/StrikeBack/album/series1/Episode2HD/slides/ep2hd_062.html

(7)     Lucas North, as portrayed by Richard Armitage, in Spooks series 9, episode 8, picture 35 (2010). BBC. Screencap image courtesy of RANet.  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Spooks/Spooks9/album/episode8hd/album/slides/8_35.html

(8)     Richard Armitage attending the New York City premiere of Captain America:  The First Avenger (for his role portraying spy Heinz Kruger) July 20, 2011. Screencap image courtesy of RANet.  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/NYCScreening-20July2011/album/slides/NYC-17.html

(9)     Heart shaped locket by Lang Antiques (2011).  Image found at http://www.langantiques.com/images/external/90/1228499855_Victorian_Heart_Shaped_Locket_Main_View90-1-1500.jpg

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in AttRAction, Love, Love and Relationships, poem, Richard Armitage, Romance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Tiny Corner of My Heart, a poem by Gratiana Lovelace, 10/29/11 (Post #43)

  1. Kitty says:

    This is almost too tender to touch w/ a comment, Gratiana. Gently beautiful. If we read this aloud, it must be whispered.

    Like

    • Gratiana says:

      Thank you for your kind remarks, Kitty.
      Though I’m sometimes honest to a fault in my essays, my poems are where “I” bare my soul–even if I am the only one listening.
      Sincerely, Gratiana ;->

      Like

  2. fabi says:

    Grati,
    You expressed so beautifully this strange feeling for someone we will never know, but seems to be so intimate inside our hearts. I’m so glad for all sensations he awakens in me, helps to keep depressive thoughts away. Sometimes I really need Dr. A like some medicine, and I’m not guilty anymore about it. :)

    Like

    • Gratiana says:

      Hi Fabi,

      Thanks for your kind note about my poem. I know what you mean about feeling love for Mr. Armitage.

      Yes, it is a romantic love–tender and sweet, never to be reciprocated by him. But perhaps, our love for him is also an “agape” type of love–that which seeks nothing from him in return, because he has given us so much in his heartfelt and moving character portrayals that enrich our lives.

      Another friend of mine, Jane, shared a lovely music video about North & South today that begins with the train station scene–and the kisses and gazes are shown beautifully in slow motion. The song and the images are heartwarmingly touching–as we wish our lives will be, filled with love. I link that music video for you below (This I Promise You by Illlna):

      We might sing this video’s song to Richard: “And when I look in your eyes, all of my life is before me. And I’m not running anymore, because I already know that I’m home. With every beat of my heart, I give you my love completely. My darling, this I promise you.”

      Sleep well and pleasant dreams dear friend.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. fabi says:

    Due our time difference (three hours later here), I only saw your reply today in the morning.
    Very touching video indeed – lyrics fitting perfectly with images. Thanks!
    About agape love, I agree but I’m not 100% sure that my love for Mr. A isn’t made by a bit of other love styles!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Wanting Something More: More or Less, January 08, 2016 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #857) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

