Melissa the Mouse: “It’s Mice to Meet You”, 12/06/11 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #71)

Melissa the Mouse:  It’s Mice to Meet You

I am Melissa the Mouse by name.
My fur is soft charcoal gray with ladylike pink toes.
I do not seek fortune nor fame.
Its vagaries I would surely oppose.

My friendly humans are Grati and Bill.
And I live in their comfy nice house.
Of them, I cannot ‘eek’ any ill.
Of nothing do I have to grouse.

You see, I have always been
A decidedly indoor mouse girl.
Consistent temps are my heaven.
Clean and dry nests are my world.

I’ve made many a cozy nest
In obliging homes and studios around the Earth.
And though some might think that I jest.
It’s merely my usual state of mirth.

From London to Wellington, and now to Illinois.
Around the globe I used to roam.
But there is no need for me to be coy.
Because now I’ve found a restful home.

As mice go, I’m considered a pearl.
A ‘perfection of cheeses’ in my own mind.
You see, I’m a polite mousie girl,
Truly, I’m one of a kind.

I eat what is leftover for trash
And not what is on my human’s plate.
In London, I liked bangers and mash,
But Midwest meatloaf is also first rate.

And I cushion my nest with used papers and such,
That I shred from their trash resting place.
To some, my nest might not look like much.
But, it is to me–I’m not in the ‘rat’ race.

Though, my canine companions preceded me,
They tear up important papers left and right.
They are a guy and a gal named Max and Sophie.
Who have not learned to be good, not quite.

The dogs steal papers not intended to be shred,
To the consternation of Grati and Bill.
You would think the dogs would appreciate being fed.
But our humans love them still.

So as I settle into this, my home during the winter cold,
My thoughts cause me to reflect.
Of the joys of being welcomed into this family’s fold.
And, of a whiff of cheese that I do detect.

P.S.  Tomorrow:  Melissa’s Twenty Preferences

Image References

(1)  Image representing the virtual Melissa the Mouse–a character that Grati created and will expand upon in follow-up posts–was found at http://images.macworld.com/appguide/images/312/621/772/ss2.jpg

(2) Image example of a ranch style home found at http://www.thehouseplanshop.com/images/house-plan-images/Ranch-House-Plan.jpg

(3)  Image representing Melissa’s “perfection of cheeses” found at http://www.igourmet.com/images/topics/stack.jpg

(4) Image representing the virtual Melissa’s shredded paper nest in a turquoise blue ceramic bowl, was found at http://m.favecrafts.com/master_images/Gifts/bluepot7-alyiceedrich.jpg

(5)  Images of Max and Sophie taken by Bill.

(6)  Image of smelly cheese wedge found at http://images.sodahead.com/polls/001240097/cheese_oh_cheese_answer_1_xlarge.jpeg

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Buddies/Friends, Creative Writing, Melissa the Mouse, poem and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Melissa the Mouse: “It’s Mice to Meet You”, 12/06/11 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #71)

  1. Fabi says:

    Ooh, let’s welcome the newest member of the household. Mice to meet you too, little one! I will introduce myself: I’m Fabi the black cat, and very “fond” of your kind. *licks her whiskers greedily*
    (Don’t be afraid, just kidding! I’m a sophisticated feline, only taste cat food of the best brands.) I think we will be very good friends, meow!!!

    Like

  2. GratianaDS90 says:

    Hi Fabi,
    Thanks for welcoming me. I like your dark charcoal gray fur. It complements my fur nicely. I’m glad to know that there are vegetarian cats in the world. It gives a mouse hope.
    Holiday Cheese! Melissa the Mouse ;->

    Like

  3. judiang says:

    Oh Melissa, is this your literary debut? Congratulations! Momma says she has some nice cheeses for you later. – Patty the Pomeranian

    Like

    • Hi Patty,
      Thanks for your warm welcome. It’s mice to be here. I look forward to Miss Judiang’s cheese offerings. She is always such a gracious hostess–just like Pearl Mouseta.
      Holiday Cheese! Melissa the Mouse ;->

      Like

  4. fitzg says:

    Hello, I’m Kiwi. 20 pound feline. (preening whiskers). I got a house mouse the other day. Fitz was not happy. Can’t think why.
    (She did, actually. Fitz was NOT happy, as she loves field mice…)
    Comforting myself with Melissa. Off my Christmas card list, Kiwi.

    Like

    • Kiwi,

      Oh dear! You must mend your ways if we are to be friends. It is hard to be open and honest with someone who might pounce on me. *shudder* Your Momma Fitz was right to be discheesed.

      But it is the holiday season. So let us put all thoughts of mousetaken actions out of our hearts.

      Wary Holiday Cheese! Melissa the Mouse ;->

      P.S. To Momma Fitz: I thank you for your caring of mousekind. We appreciate it.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

