My Imagination, My Muse, My Blog, 1/08/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #99)

If you couldn’t tell by now, I have a vivid imagination and a brain that won’t turn off sometimes.  Ha!  I am on the cusp of reaching my 100th blog post mark here on my little blog–a small milestone [(1) right] to be sure compared to the established blogs of my friends and mentors (see their links over in the blog rolls).  But, this milestone causes me to reflect in a happy way about what I’ve learned about myself in writing this blog.  So, here are my musings, in no particular order:

1)       I will freely admit my admiration for the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Crispin Armitage knows no bounds.  Hey!  The guy (little g) is my creative writing/graphics/vidding muse–as he is for many people–the man is an acting chameleon he is so versatile in his character portrayals.  So, I will briefly reveal what it is about some of his characters [(2abcdefg) below] that I love so much.

                           
Thorton (2a)                                            Standring (2b)

                                   
North (2c)                                           Porter (2d)                             Gisborne (2e)

                      
Monet (2f)                                         Oakenshield (2g)

I am in awe of his John Thornton’s strength and honor in adversity.  I could cuddle up with his John Standring’s shy but heartfelt bloke.  I would want to comfort his Lucas North and his John Porter as they overcome their personal struggles to reclaim their lives to be men of purpose again.  I would pretend to be a damsel in distress rescued by his redeemed Sir Guy of Gisborne–you always have to let the men think that they’re rescuing you, when in reality you’re rescuing them.  Ha!  It would be thrilling for his Monsiuer Claude Monet to paint my portrait. [(3) right]  And, the fierce intensity of his warrior King Under the Mountain Thorin Oakenshield makes me weak at the knees, but I would follow him to the ends of Middle Earth–or at least to the Lonely Mountain of Erebor.   And Richard Armitage the “real” man?  Well, he seems to be able to take care of himself quite nicely.  So, I’ll just wish him well and look forward to experiencing his upcoming film projects.
[Grati’s facetious alert:  Okay, my humorous imagination ran wild a bit here.  So, I’m labeling the paragraph above for major tongue in cheek action, lest anyone think that I am remotely serious about my “intentions” toward Mr. Armitage’s character portrayals.  Sorry Thorin dude, but I’m not an outdoor camping girl.  Ha!]

2)       And finally, among Richard Armitage’s many other character portrayals, I would want to spend my life with his lighthearted and fun loving Harry Kennedy [(4) right].  Maybe it’s because like Dawn French used to be–she has lost a lot of weight recently–I am a curvy lady.  And like her character Vicar Geraldine, I was a late bloomer for love.  So, it’s thrilling for me to see curvy woman kind get the heartthrob in film.  Snap!   And, Dawn and I kind of look alike facially [(5) right]–but she has better makeup artists.  The two episode Vicar of Dibley Christmas Special in 2006–A Holy Wholly Happy Ending–where the Vicar Geraldine meets and marries her dream love Harry Kennedy [(6) left]  sends a great message, that everyone has love to be shared and everyone deserves to be loved.  That all people deserve love is a fantastic message compared to the usual “only the skinny beautiful people have great lives” message that the media usually promulgates.  Of course, I married my heartthrob 22 years ago–my wonderful hubby, who makes me feel beautiful every day.  And I let my hubby know every day that I love him and I’m proud of him.  That is a gift that we give each other–along with abundant laughter and joy.

So let’s enjoy Dawn French and Richard Armitage finding and sharing love in this sweet video “The Vicar of Dibley: Richard Armitage and Dawn French” by AmberDarke:  [(7) below]

3)       I try to be a forward thinking positive lady and I also try to be open to testing and challenging my limits and boundaries.  And this blog certainly tests and challenges me–in a very good way.    I have shared quite a bit about my life with you via my blog–such as the important women in my life.  And I have shared a bit about my and my hubby’s love story in some of my poems and my “Flirtation to Frission” three part post awhile back.  Goodness that essay series did take guts to post here–especially the “Misadventures in Dating” [(8) right] part.  Ha!    But I did it.  Not because I think that anything I have to say is of particular note, but that I find it freeing to share and then let go of some aspects of my life that I may have fretted over in the past.

Probably the biggest hurdle I have overcome in sharing myself with you via this blog is to share my stories that I write.  It’s scary to share something that I’ve created like my original and fan fic stories–not knowing if anyone will like them or understand them.   My stories are my babies and they are precious to me. You see, up until this past fall–when I started sharing my stories on DF and then here on my blog–no one had read them before.  But with me being 1.5 years into writing them–almost 2 years now–and with 50 plus stories, I felt that I had to start sending my stories out into the world to see what might happen with them.  Of course, I would love to see my stories come alive some day in film–or perhaps my “short” stories be collected into a book and my novel length stories also turned into books. So, we’ll see.  But this Spring I have to work on completing my dissertation research project proposal so that I can conduct my research next fall, complete my dissertation writing by Fall 2013 and defend it so I can graduate in May 2014.   Yup, I’m going to try to finish my Ph.D.–while still working full time and keeping up some of my creative activities like this blog.  It’s going to be a tough semester trying to balance everything–and it will probably set the tone for me as I work through the dissertation process.    I don’t know if I’ll succeed with that balancing act.  All I can do is try.  But, I plan to continue with my little blog here–essays, humorous graphics, storytelling, etc.  And to “celebrate” my blog’s 100th post on Monday January 9th, that post will fittingly be what I love most, sharing one of my stories with you–the next chapter of “Guy’s Rose”.    So thanks for visiting and reading–and special thanks to the folks who comment as well.

P.S.  And back to my vivid imagination?  Here is the lovely song Pure Imagination sung by Glee: [(9) video below]

Pure Imagination lyrics [(10) lyrics below]

come with me, and you’ll be,
in a world, of pure imagination.
take a look, and you’ll see
into your imagination.
we’ll begin, with a spin,
traveling in the world of my creation.
what we’ll see, will define explanation.
if you want to see paradise,
simply look around and view it.
anything you want to do it.
wanna change the world,
there’s nothing to it.

there is no, life i know
to compare with your imagination
living there you’ll be free
if you truly wish to be.
if you want to view paradise
simply look around and view it
anything you want to do it
wanna change the world
there’s nothing to it.

there is no, life i know
to compare with pure imagination.
living there you’ll be free,
if you truly wish to be.

References

(1)     Milestone marker found at http://img.geocaching.com/track/678e0d64-dd9e-49f2-9818-71c666efadca.jpg

(2)     Collage of Richard Armitage’s character portrayals:
2a – http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/nands/album/episode4/slides/ns4-217.html
2b – http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/sparkhouse/album/Episode1/slides/SH1_024.html
2c – http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Spooks/album/ep1/slides/spooks701_021.html
2d – http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/StrikeBack/album/series1/Episode1HD/slides/ep1hd_056.html
2e – http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/RHpromo/album/slides/series2-36.html
2f — http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Impressionists/album/ep1/slides/TI1_017.html
2g – http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitTrailer/album/slides/HobbitTrailer07.html

(3)     Grati’s portrait as if done by an impressionist.

(4)     Image of Harry Kennedy (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) in The Vicar of Dibley:  A Holy Wholly Happy Ending” from 2006 was found at
http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/VOD/album/VOD1/slides/vod1-065.html

(5)     Image of Dawn French at the Glamour Women of the Year Awards in London, July 2011 was found at http://www.contactmusic.com/photo/dawn-french-at-the-glamour-women-of-the-year-awards-at-berkeley_3381539

(6)     Image of Harry Kennedy (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) and Vicar Geraldine Granger (as portrayed by Dawn French) in The Vicar of Dibley:  A Holy Wholly Happy Ending” from 2006 was found
http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/VOD/album/VOD1/index10.html

(7)     Vicar of Dibley:  Richard Armitage and Dawn French a video by AmberDarke (with the song “Dive in” by Darius)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dFQkGQFH4K4

(8)     Mistakes graphic was found at  http://www.khoaanh.net/_upload/NewsImages/1010.jpg

(9)     Pure Imagination from Willy Wonka and sung by Glee (2) Video by binniglee03
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zchj_SGKhN4

(10)     Pure Imagination Lyrics from elyrics.com (lyrics by burkul) at http://www.elyrics.net/read/g/glee-cast-lyrics/pure-imagination-lyrics.html

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Authors, Creative Writing, Fun Day Sunday, My Life, Richard Armitage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Imagination, My Muse, My Blog, 1/08/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #99)

  1. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    Creativity, humor, optimism, heart-warming stories (real or imaginary) – the readers of your “Something About Love” blog can find here in a daily basis, as well as know a very kind and lovely lady, the imaginative mind behind all, that is you, dear friend. If only Mr. Armitage could know how his art can be inspiring and bring people together.
    I’m so glad for being your reader and commenter, thank you!
    I wish you good luck in your dissertation project and may you find the balance you need to your life from now.
    “A rock pile ceases to be a rock pile the moment a single man contemplates it, bearing within him the image of a cathedral.” (Antoine de Saint Exupery)

    Like

    • Dear Fabi,
      Thank you for your very lovely remarks. I’m humbled by your kind assessment of my little blog–and of me. I so appreciate your friendship in my blogging journey. It makes such a difference to hear from readers like yourself responding about my posts. And you are always so encouragingly gracious in your comments to me. Thanks again for being my most faithful reader and commenter Fabi. You also reached the 100 comment milestone this past week. So brava to you, dear friend!

      I, too, wonder sometimes if Richard Armitage realizes that apart from his fans’ sincere admiration for his talents and gifts to us with his acting and storytelling, he has unknowingly inspired creativity in others and facilitated friendships? If he does have an inkling, I hope he knows that all three are blessings to we, his fan.

      I’ve never been as actively engaged in writing creativity as I am now, since Mr. Armitage’s artistic endeavors reawakened in me my love for storytelling that had long lain dormant. And now? You can’t shut me up. Ha! So gentle readers, you’re stuck with me.

      Thanks for your encouraging words about my working toward completing my Ph.D. It has been a long climb and there is still a steep climb–similar to what Mr. Armitage described his journey in filming The Hobbit has been and will be. But, the worthy goals in our lives are not always easy–thus, we appreciate them more.

      So as I continue my blogging journey I wish you and everyone good health, full lives, love, friendship, challenges, goals, contentment, wonder, curiosity, a sense of purpose, opportunities to help others in need, the willingness to let others help you when you’re in need, and a spirit of enthusiasm for life that infuses everything you do. And as I told a certain gentleman: I wish for you, every happiness that you wish for yourselves.

      Cheers and much love, Grati ;->

      Like

  2. bccmee says:

    Congratulations on all your accomplishments. It’s such a delight to watch your journey. I haven’t the least doubt that you will achieve all your goals. I take great pleasure in knowing you! *HUGS*

    Like

    • Thanks so much for your kind words, Bccmee!
      They mean a lot to me. You’re the best! And of course, dear friend and mentor, I have you to thank for nudging me into my journey of blogging. Of course now, I have no word limit like I did in Facebook. *Grati types gleefully!* Ha!
      You and all my RA gal pals are gReAt! *HUGS BACK*
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. Ania says:

    Hi Grati,
    It is really a pleasure to read your blog. I love the optimism emanating from your posts. I wish you success in the realization all your plans.

    Like

    • Hi Ania,
      Thanks for your kind note. I’m glad that you’re enjoying my blog. I’m enjoying writing it. And I’m glad that you don’t find my positivity nauseating. Ha! I try not to be too sugary, but life is too short to let negativity rule my life.

      Thanks also for your encouragement of my goals–including my Ph.D. I will get there, no matter how long it takes. I had set it aside for a little while. “But I have promises to keep, And miles to go before I sleep, And miles to go before I sleep” (*). And challenges are what make life interesting.

      Thanks for being a faithful visitor and commenter.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      * Robert Frost poem, “Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening”
      http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/171621

      Like

  4. Congrats on y0ur 99th post! You are so far ahead of me, but I’ll try to catch up. LOL. And I know you’ll acheive all your goals. You’ve proven you are focused and determined. You will definitely get there!

    Like

    • Hi Joan,
      Thanks so much for your kind note! I can barely believe that I’ve reached almost 100 posts myself. Ha! And thanks for your encouraging words about my goals. I do hope to achieve them.
      Good luck with your book project. I look forward to reading it when it becomes available.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  5. April says:

    Congratulations Gratiana for your 99th post.

    It’s a pleasure to read your blog. :-)

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

