Thorin Thursday–Look Out World, Here Comes Richard Armitage! 1/12/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #102)

For “Hobbit” and Richard Armitage Fans alike, I don’t think the remaining 336 days (or, 11 months and 2 days) until the December 14, 2012 U.S. premiere of “The Hobbit:  An Unexpected Journey” could be any less anticipatory than it is.

And since the December 2011 release of The Hobbit Movie Announcement Trailer gave us all a glimpse of Sir Peter Jackson’s 3D rendition of Middle Earth, old fans and new fans alike have been agog with delight over what looks to be an exciting film masterfully told.  Here is that trailer again:

And for those Richard Armitage fans–of which I am one if you hadn’t a clue (Ha!)–we are starting to see more main stream media articles about him and his character portrayal of Thorin Oakenshield.  Thanks to RANet (www.richardarmitagenet.com) for the  link to the January 11, 2012 article “Richard Armitage’s Journey to ‘The Hobbit’ Best ‘By Far’ at the MTV Movie News site with an interview with Richard Armitage:

http://www.mtv.com/news/articles/1677131/richard-armitage-hobbit.jhtml

http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitTrailer/album/slides/HobbitTrailer19.html

‘The Hobbit’ Countdown, Character Guide:  Who is Thorin Oakenshield? (And We Don’t Just Mean Richard Armitage) by Larry D. Curtis (of http://www.TheOneRing.Net) for Movies.com

http://www.movies.com/movie-news/39the-hobbit39-countdown-character-guide-who-thorin-oakenshield-and-we-don39t-just-mean-richard-armitage/6117

Here is an excerpt that RANet also shared:

“But the dwarf who is most likely to become a household name is the more fully titled Thorin Oakenshield and we think not only will we have an unforgettable character on the first Hobbit day (Dec. 14, 2012, the release of The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey) but also the actor Richard Armitage will become a household name.  While there are many who know and love the English actor, that day and the films, will change his career forever.”

All I have to add to the above statement is “Look out world.  Here comes Richard Armitage!”

Getting back to the issue of how we fill up our/fans’ time–apart from reading and rereading “The Hobbit”–while we wait 336 days?  So here’s a Word Search puzzle that I made courtesy of this handy site at Discovery Education (http://puzzlemaker.discoveryeducation.com/WordSearchSetupForm.asp).  I hope you enjoy it.

I will post the puzzle solution Thursday evening.  Enjoy!

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in movies, Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thorin Thursday–Look Out World, Here Comes Richard Armitage! 1/12/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #102)

  1. I totally LOVE the idea of your Thorin Thursday! I will look forward to the next 50 or so of these with delight! You are so right about the fact Richard’s star is about to blaze across the sky with enough trailing sparks that the whole world will notice. The world is about to find out what the “Armitage Army” has known for years now!

    Like

    • Hi Joan,
      Thanks for your note. After Richard Armitage Central christened Friday’s “Guy Day Friday” a while back–and which we imitate in RAFN–I coined the term Thorin Thursday’s last Fall for our Thorin character discussion days in RAFN. I like alliteration. Ha!

      Richard Armitage is going to have such an amazing year–culminating in the release of “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey”! I’m so thrilled for him–as all of his current fans are.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

      • kathryngaul says:

        Oh, doodneth me (my darling Kaitlyn’s was of saying “goodness me – she lisps!), Gratiana, I will now show my ignorance again! What is RAFN and where do I find it?

        Like

        • kathryngaul says:

          typo alert…….”was” should be “way”

          Like

          • Hi Kathryn,
            Sorry about not being able to edit your comments yourself to fix typos. I’ve looked at the settings to see if that’s possible, but haven’t found it.
            Judiang’s blog “Confessions of a Watcher” allows commenters to edit and fix their own typos. So, it would be nice if WordPress added that feature to these blogs.
            Cheers! Grati ;->

            Like

        • Hi Kathryn,
          Love the “kid speak”. We had family lingo and terms, too. Most of the time we fractured each others’ names and they became nicknames that stuck–whether the person wanted the nickname or not. Ha! Most humorously, I referred to my brother as elbow. Tee hee.

          And RAFN? Well, when I began to tentatively poke my toes into social media like Facebook last June–for something beyond my university alumni affinity groups–I thought it would be useful to group together my RA related friendships with other ladies into a closed Facebook group to keep my life compartmentalized. If you would like more information about RAFN, please look me up in Facebook and I would be glad to continue this conversation.

          Cheers! Grati ;->

          Like

  2. bccmee says:

    What a fun game! I’ll enjoy doing your Hobbit word search puzzle.

    Like

  3. April says:

    Excellent game, thanks Gratiana. :-)

    Like

    • Hi April,
      Have fun playing. We’ll see how many of the 69 words people can find.
      Cheers! Grati ;->
      P.S. The software made a solution puzzle for me. Ha! I’ll post the solution puzzle tonight, Thursday night.

      Like

  4. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    I feel so excited and proud about the positive reaction of people regarding to the first teaser trailer, as if “our” dear Richard was someone in my family or a close friend who is climbing up the steps of success and recognition at last.
    Loved the puzzle, just don’t want to take 336 days to finish it! :)

    Like

    • Hi Fabi,
      I agree with you about being excited and proud for Richard Armitage. Mr. Armitage is a master storyteller. He has worked so long and hard to reach this level of accomplishment and success. And, he has maintained his gentlemanly self while doing it–no bad boy antics like some stars. Richard Armitage deserves every good thing that comes his way–especially more film roles that we may enjoy him in.

      Giggles on your hope to finish the puzzle in time for the premiere!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

