“The Hobbit”–Mulubinba’s Perspective on Richard Armitage’s Views about Thorin, 1/19/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #108)

Fans of Richard Armitage are eagerly anticipating his debut on the world’s artistic stage as Thorin Oakenshield [(1) right] in Sir Peter Jackson’s “The Hobbit” films–“An Unexpected Journey” (to be released in 2012) and “There and Back Again” (to be released in 2013).

As I “troll” around the web looking for “The Hobbit” book and films resources, one blog site continues to strike me as having wonderfully insightful commentary and resources–that of Mulubinba’s “An RA Viewer’s Perspective of ‘The Hobbit’ Moves from 33degrees S of the Equator … aka ‘The Other Side of the Planet”.  Her web  blog focusing exclusively on “The Hobbit” [(2) right], and I encourage you to peruse her essays.  You’ll be glad that you did.  I have her blog link listed in my “Hobbit/Richard Armitage: Writings About it” section.  One of her recent essays (from 1/14/12) caught my eye.  It is about the recent MTV interview that Richard Armitage gave about his role as Thorin Oakenshield in “The Hobbit”.  Mulubinba summarized the interview and her interpretations of it far better than I could.  So I provide the link for you to visit her blog and read this essay for yourself:

http://mulubinba.typepad.com/an_ra_viewers_perspective/2012/01/new-interview-with-ra-in-mtv.html

And it wouldn’t be Thorin Thursday if we didn’t get to watch Thorin and his buddies in action-­-especially them singing the stirring Misty Mountain cold song.  So here is “The Hobbit” movie announcement trailer again for you to enjoy [(3) below, courtesy of bccmee2]:

And to close today’s post, I want to draw your attention to Empire Online [(4ab) below] that gave a detailed analysis–11 sections!–of “The Hobbit” movie announcement trailer.  In particular, they praised Richard Armitage (portraying Thorin Oakenshield) for solidly anchoring what looks to be a fantastical and riveting film experience:

“Thorin and company singing the Misty Mountain Cold song impresses listeners with the solemnity and reverence of their tone.  To quote Empire online: Led by Thorin (Richard Armitage), and seated in Bag End, the dwarfs sing of the loss of their homeland, each slowly standing. It is set against a grave montage of faces, the mood switching in a trice from comic to epic with a tincture of melancholy. The lyrics are taken directly from Tolkien, and where we might have feared The Hobbit’s propensity for song might trigger sniggers now feels like a strength. Carried by Armitage’s impressive basso, the trailer shifts up a gear, and a sense of the scope Peter Jackson intends for his two films becomes clear. We are back in Middle-earth in a big way.”

http://www.empireonline.com/features/the-hobbit-teaser-trailer-breakdown/p1

References (not elsewhere specified)

(1)    Image of Thorin Oakenshield (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) in “The Hobbit” Announcement movie trailed and capped by RANet was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitTrailer/album/slides/HobbitTrailer24.html

(2)   “The Hobbit” logo was found at TORN (www.theonering.net).

(3)  “The Hobbit Film Trailer 20 December 2011” movie announcement trailer, video courtesy of bccmee2 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xuuZWsY3s8c&feature=player_embedded

(4)    Empire Online review–and picture–of Richard Armitage and Dwarfs singing the Misty Mountain song in “The Hobbit” movie announcement trailer was found at  http://www.empireonline.com/features/the-hobbit-teaser-trailer-breakdown/p4

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “The Hobbit”–Mulubinba’s Perspective on Richard Armitage’s Views about Thorin, 1/19/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #108)

  1. Fabi says:

    Good morning Grati,
    Mulubinba’s was one of the first blogs that I read in my early days of Armitagemania, and as far as I know one of the oldest still active, although she has changed the focus to The Hobbit movies. A wonderful blog indeed, it’s worth reading.
    About Empire analysis of the trailer, I just didn’t understand why they wrote “Armitage’s impressive basso”, when we are tired of knowing that his voice is a baritone, bass is the lowest vocal range of all voice types. Well, at least it was a praise. :)

    Like

    • Good morning Fabi,
      Thank for your note! Yes, I’m enjoying Mulubinba’s essays, too.

      Yes, Empire voice typing Richard Armtiage as “basso” may have been more a nod to the deep notes in the song and them not having heard RA speak at length in various character portrayals and such in his wonderfully velvety baritone–as we all have. Ha! But still, Empire gave unqualified praise of him as the leader of the Dwarfs. So that is great!

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. fitzg says:

    Thanks for posting the trailer – I can watch it over and over ad infinitum! Mulubinba had me, from her postings: “Looking for the Good in Guy”, and the e-mail correspondence between Harry K and Mulubinba. A fertile mind!

    Like

    • Hi Fitzg,
      Thanks for your nice note. The Hobbit trailer is mesmirizing. I also love the song and Bccmee’s video of it–with the imagery she chose–that video is in the right sidebar under the Hobbit Media Resources.
      Finally, thanks for pointing out a non Hobbit essay of Mulubinba’s. I’ll have to search for that.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      P.S. Harry K?

      Like

  3. Fabi says:

    Well minded, Fitzg! It was a pity that “Looking for the Good in Guy” didn’t covered all series, I think it was only until some point in season one, if I remember correctly.
    Grati, I’m sure you would like it, and Harry’s e-mails telling his story before he comes to Dibley – kind of a fanfic. Very good stuff!
    If it’s still available in Mulubinba’s blog – I did a quick search and couldn’t find her posts before 2011.

    Like

    • Thanks for cluing me in Fabi (and Fitzg earlier),
      I’ll have to take a look at Mulubinba’s site this weekend for those post threads.

      My dissertation research project proposal writing class starts Saturday. So, I have to devote some prep time to that first. We’re teleconferencing so I have to find my head set microphone and make sure the web link works. Ha!

      But, I’m going to prep “Guy’s Rose” tonight for Friday’s regular post of it.
      Cheers! Grati ;-.

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

