“Heirs of Durin” Blog Site by Darkjackal is full of “The Hobbit” and Thorin Resources and Commentary, 2/02/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #120)

  

Each week I have either searched  for  or lucked upon finding some great resources pertaining to “The Hobbit”.  None more so that the featured blog site this week by Darkjackal  titled “Heirs of Durin” [(1) above].  The “Heirs of Durin”  site contains a wealth of Hobbit and Thorin [(2) above] resources, commentary, and original artwork by the extremely talented Darkjackal.   Here is that “Heirs of Durin” blog link http://thorinoakenshield.net/ that is also found in my blog’s right sidebar under “Hobbit Writing About It” web links.

I particularly want to draw your attention to Darkjackal’s December 6, 2011 insightful commentary titled:  “In Defense of Thorin Oakenshield:  A Journey from Hero to Villain, and Back again” [(3) below]:

http://heirs-of-durin.livejournal.com/8303.html

Darkjackal’s essay is the most brilliant Thorin and Hobbit commentary that I have read to date.   Darkjackal explains Thorin’s  [(4) right] motivations and his changing fates within the context of his circumstances and the actions of others–though Thorin, himself, does not waver in his own focus.  Darkjackal’s essay is a fascinating must read commentary–and I urge you to click over to it now and read it.  I have also linked her commentary under the “Hobbit Writings About It” web links section to the right.

I will stop now because I bow to Darkjackal’s wisdom on this subject.

P.S.  And if you haven’t viewed Darkjackal’s creative “Misty Mountain” song animated video [(5) below]–that I have also linked it under Hobbit Media Resources in my blog’s right sidebare–then here is that link for you again now as well:

LOTRO:  “Over the Misty Mountains Cold” ~ Thorin’s Song from “The Hobbit” by darkjackal32

You may have to view this video from within her blog–here is that URL:
http://thorinoakenshield.net/2012/01/28/misty-mountains-music-video/

 

References

1)      “Heirs of Durin” blog site logo by Darkjackal was found at http://thorinoakenshield.net/

2)      Thorin Oakenshield (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) pencil drawing image by Darkjackal.  The image link is at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/artwork/DarkJackal-Thorin.jpg   And a link to the artist’s site is:   http://darkjackal32.deviantart.com/gallery/

3)      “In Defense of Thorin Oakenshield:  A Journey from Hero to Villain, and Back again” by Darkjackal (December 6, 2011) was found at  http://heirs-of-durin.livejournal.com/8303.html

4)      Thorin (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) signature by Darkjackal32 with “The Hobbit” quote “My mind does not change with the rising and setting of a few suns.”  Image found at http://heirs-of-durin.livejournal.com/8303.html

5)      LOTRO:  “Over the Misty Mountains Cold” ~ Thorin’s Song from “The Hobbit” by darkjackal32; Thorin’s singing voice is that of Richard Armitage who portrays Thorin Oakenshield in “The Hobbit” films.  The animated music video was found at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eANbtn0CM4E  ;
You may have to view this video from within her blog–here is that URL:
http://thorinoakenshield.net/2012/01/28/misty-mountains-music-video/

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Heirs of Durin” Blog Site by Darkjackal is full of “The Hobbit” and Thorin Resources and Commentary, 2/02/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #120)

  1. You might have to view Darkjackal’s animated video of the “Misty Mountains Cold” song from inside her blog. Here is the page to that address:

    http://thorinoakenshield.net/2012/01/28/misty-mountains-music-video/

    Like

    • DarkJackal says:

      Oops, sorry for the trouble there! I uploaded a version with a better aspect ratio the next day, and made the original private, hence the weird restricted notice. The link via the blog page is the updated version.

      Like

  2. kathryngaul says:

    Thanks, Grati. Did she really draw that image of Richard as Thorin? She is supremely talented!

    Like

    • Hi Kathryn,
      Yes, Darkjackal drew the exquisite pencil drawing of Thorin. It is a masterpiece and I am in awe of her talent.
      The sepia toned siggie with the Thorin quote on it looks like a retouched photograph–though I could be wrong about that.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. April says:

    Hi Gratiana,

    Thanks for the blog link.

    I’ve seen the pencil drawing once… woooow, it’s wonderful !!! Bravo Darkjackal !!! :-)

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

