Richard Armitage: Portraits of the Everyday Bloke, 2/18/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #133)

The oh so talented British Actor Richard Armitage–soon to be on screens as Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit, in only 299 days–is known for his fierce on screen action adventure hero demeanor and his more reserved, congenial, and gentlemanly off screen demeanor (0-right) What is it about the “real” Mr. Armitage whom we think we glimpse during his “unguarded” moments that we find so endearing and alluring?  I share some pictures of Richard Armitage and let you decide.  All pictures are courtesy of RANet as noted below (www.RichardArmitageNet.com).  

Outside Mr. Armitage’s Radio One interview on May 4, 2010 (two poses):

1)       He must protect his beautiful blue eyes from the sun.   (left)

2)       A cordial thumb up acknowledgement of a fan shout out, no doubt. (right)

 

 

 

Another Radio One Interview, this time September 17, 2010:

  • 3)  Ladies, his briefcase/satchel is bigger than our purses–so no kidding from him to us on that score. Though what is so heavy and bulky, we would like to know.  Ha!  Scripts?   (left)

4)      And who can resist a man in a hat?  Not I. Sighhh!  (right)

 

Moving even a little more forward in time to November 2010 and the Old Vic 24 Hours Plays Gala (two poses):

5)      Quiet confidence is oh so sexy.  This is among my favorite portraits of Mr. Armitage. (left) 

6)       A music lover, he plays the cello and he appreciates  other musician’s artistry. (right)

 

And then there is Richard Armitage being interviewed for his film role in Captain America and Attending the NYC Premiere in July 2011:

7)   A bemused smile while talking about his role of Heinz  Kruger is complemented by a rare showing of bangs.  (left)

8)  Chatting amiably with an interviewer at the NYC Premiere–Mr. Armitage has his hand casually in the pocket of his gRAy suit coat; and with his shorn hair and full beard for his role as Thorin, he looks positively swoonworthy.  (right)

P.S.  I spent four hours reading research articles Friday night in preparation for my Saturday morning doctoral dissertation research proposal writing class before this post theme came to me.  So, think of my viewing and sharing Richard Armitage candid portraits as “eye” theRApy for a weary student.  Ha!

References (back to the usual format, ha)

(0) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/NYCScreening-20July2011/album/slides/NYC-13.html). 

(1) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/OutsideRadio1_040510/slides/Radio1_08_040510.html

(2) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/OutsideRadio1_040510/slides/Radio1_06_040510.html

(3) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/OutsideRadio1_170910/album/slides/Radio1-07.html

(4) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/OutsideRadio1_170910/album/slides/Radio1-05.html

(5) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/OldVic_21Nov2010/slides/RAOldVic7.html

(6) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/OldVic_21Nov2010/slides/RAOldVic4.html

(7) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Interviews/CAInterview/album/slides/Interview08.html

(8) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/EventsandAppearances/NYCScreening-20July2011/album/slides/NYC-20.html

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in AttRAction, Captain America, Richard Armitage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Richard Armitage: Portraits of the Everyday Bloke, 2/18/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #133)

  1. bccmee says:

    A lovely selection of pictures. I’m so intrigued by the interviews. I wish we saw more of the interviews RA did on the red carpets in LA and NY.

    My best wishes on your research! :D

    Like

    • Hi Bccmee,
      Thanks for your note. I agree withyou about the interviews on the CALA and CANYC red carpets. Unfortunately, the sound quality on the LA interviews was poor–not to mention an interviewer there mispronouncing his name. Ha! And there were fewer interview videos of the NYC red carpet. But it was exciting for him to have his “first” film premiere for his cameo role of Heinz Kruger.
      Thanks for your best wishes about my research.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. I love the pics, but doesn’t he look a bit stalkish in the picture with the woman paying the violin? LOL he looks a bit menacing! Oh, let the wrath fall on me for saying that hahaha ;)

    Like

    • Hi IWTBAPU,
      Stalkish? Ha! Actually, I think RA looks rather shy there–enjoying the lady’s violin performance, and perhaps thinking that he should practice his cello more. Ha! He looks completely endearing to me.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

      • Haha, he’d be my first choice in a whodunnit ;) I jest, he’s adorable!

        Like

        • Hi Pin up.
          Precisely! Because when Richard Armitage isn’t portraying one of his action adventure hero guy (little g) and “virile sex god” (as the media had labeled him once) roles, RA looks like the nice boy/man next door that your Mummy would like to fix you up with. And we’d all be eager for that blind date. That is, if we weren’t already happily attached as I am. Ha!
          Cheers! Grati ;->
          P.S. You’ve been commmenting regularly here now and I’ve given you a nickname to try on–it’s easier than getting your acronym right. Ha!

          Like

          • That’s a lovely nickname ;) It’s true, he is adorbs! It’s just that pic that makes me giggle.
            Now, if you had a pic of him playing the cello and the violinist looking on at him! I’d pay good money to see (and hear) that!

            Like

  3. Fabi says:

    Good morning Grati,
    I prefer his hair a bit longer, and definitely love the bangs. The brown beard is beautiful, seems so smooth to the touch. But that old, very worn jeans in pic 3? I think Mr A didn’t expect any photos were taken in that day, LOL.

    Like

    • Good morning Fabi,
      Yes, RA looks quite youthful with slightly longer hair as in the Old Vic photos and with the bangs of his sit down interview abou CA. I wonder if it is the “Samson effect” of women adoring hair that we can run our fingers through as we’re kissing our man? Giggles. My own dear hubby has soft natural curls that he keeps shorn for his professional appearance at work. A pity. Ha!
      And the old worn looking jeans on Mr. Armitage just says to me that this is what he’s comfortable in wearing as he goes about his day–like a regular bloke. And yes, he probably didn’t dress with being photographed in mind. However, since worn looking jeans are still so popular today, he looks trendy to me. Ha!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Okay, I changed the image link references to the bottom as usual so that our lovely images could be displayed in a more streamlined way. Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  5. Kate Patrick says:

    Great job for someone who must be seeing double after all that serious reading! I am proud of you for pushing to reach your educational goals. It is not easy, but will be well worth it! Taking a break with some RA viewing may be all the inspiration you need to push forward! Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Thanks Kate!
      I just got offline from class and realized that one of the pictures in this essay was dropped–technical glitch or me, I’m not sure. Ha! So I had to go back in and add it back–the 7th image of RA, with bangs. We definitely can’t miss that one. Ha!
      You have a great weekend, too! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  6. Meryl says:

    hi Grati, nice selection of pics, I don’t really like beards, but Mr Armitage looks cool with his.
    Have seen him on the red carpet at the BAFTA’S in London last year~he scrubs up real nice!
    And the satchel? He apparently carries scripts, and his lap top around in it, amongst other stuff!
    Hope you are having a good weekend, I work every Sunday so my “weekend” is Friday/Saturday, and is almost over sadly……………

    Like

    • Hi Meryl,
      Thanks for your nice note. I’ve come around to the beard and love it on Richard Armitage. I joked to my AW gal pals that my hubby always considerately shaved for me–since the skin on my face is delicate. Ha! But, now I don’t mind it if he has a little stubble when we kiss. I just consider the exfoliation benefit a new part of my skin care regimen. Ha! Though I would think that no one would need any enticements to kiss Mr. Armitage. Please note, I’m being facetious–making fun of me. Ha!

      Ooh, and Mr. Armitage does look so handsome in his tux and other formal wear. Lucky you for getting a chance to see him in person at the BAFTA’s in 2010. He did look particularly dashing at the 2010 BAFTA’s per the pictures I’ve seen. But, I’m too short to see over people’s heads and too shy to get close enough to see him without a telescope were I to attend a public function where he might be present. Ha!

      Yes, men carry all kinds of things in their satchels. My hubby jokes that his satchel is his man purse–carrying his cameras, reading materials, music cds, gadgets, and such. Additionally, I have a brown suede brief case that I use when needing something professional looking to carry my handouts in for conference presentations and such. But, its not as big as Mr. A’s satchel. But then, he has big upper arm muscles. Sighhh!

      Wishing you lovely rest of your weekend today. Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  7. fitzg says:

    Great photos – the candids are my favourites, always! Love that old brown satchel. Yes, scripts, laptops – and sandwiches!

    Like

    • Hi Fitzg,
      Thanks for your note. Scripts and laptops are okay for satchels. However, my laptop briefcase only has room for it and its cables. But ooh! Sandwiches? They could get rather squished. But I suppose, as long as RA has a ziploc bag with a good seal on it for his munchies, he’ll be alright. Ha!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  8. Elaine says:

    oh…………the beard, the beard, the beard…………….thud

    Like

    • Hi Elaine,
      I agree you you. Richard Armitage has many incarnations, but the “grown up” man with the beard from his recent portraits? So swoonworthy! ***thud***

      And not that Mr. Armitage wasn’t a “grown up” man clean shaven as Lucas North or John Porter–or even stubbled and rock star tressed (so beautiful!) as Sir Guy. But, IMHO RA’s close cropped hair and beard in the NYC Premiere pictures and the Project Magazine portraits are evocative of a level of maturity and masculinity–with his intense gazes–that are breathtaking and cause me to tremble. Okay, I’ll stop gushing now. Ha!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  9. mersguy says:

    Hello Grati,
    Divine selection of RA pic’s, WOW only 299 days to go to TH – we will get through it somehow!
    I know it will be worth it.
    I remember when seeing the vid/interview on his role of Heinz Krueger in CA, and Richard being Richard was so eloquent and thoughtful in his responses, only added to my heightened anticipation of seeing him for the first time on the big screen and then being shattered when he appeared on the screen for what a whole 10mins!! TH will well and truly make up for it!!!

    Like

    • Hi Mersguy,
      Thanks for your nice note! 299 days will be a loooooong wait to see Richard Armitage portray Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit. We can only hope that Mr. Armitage will find an additional artistic project to perform in during the interim. If he is free by the Summer, might he take on a stage role? Or even a tv role that might be broadcast in the Fall? Fingers crossed.
      I love RA’s CA interviews as well. He is so articulate about his craft–talking about he many disciplines that come together collaboratively to produce the final result. And though his pivotal role of Heinz Kruger might be considered a “cameo”, he portrayed it well and his character set up the conflict for the remainder of the movie.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Cheers! Grati ;->
      P.S. And don’t forget, Daria GizTheGunslinger has kindly collected all of RA’s Heinz Kruger bits into her slave labor video for us to enjoy again and again.

      Like

  10. Pingback: Richard Armitage: A Fiercely Sexy and Magnetic Actor on Film, and a Charming Gentlemanly Man in Life, June 15, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #418) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

