“Miles to Go Before I Sleep”: A Lucas North/Richard Armitage Wallpaper, 2/21/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #136)

“Miles to Go Before I Sleep”:  A Lucas North/Richard Armitage Wallpaper, 2/21/12  Gratiana Lovelace (Post #136)

A Lucas North/Spooks wallpaper inspired by the poetry of Robert Frost and by the artistry of Richard Armitage’s portrayal of Lucas North in Spooks.

For Lucas North, sleep is elusive–something that cannot be summoned, the rest it provides fleeting.  No longer held within prison walls, he still cannot escape them–perhaps wishing for their permanence as he tries to find his way in an unfamiliar world that almost forgot him, that did forget him.  The world Lucas now inhabits upon returning home to England is deceptively open–its openness a prison cell in its own way, testing his resolve to start a new life.  He is weary of holding on, of wondering what happens next.  But Lucas is so practiced at it–at clinging to hope when all hope is lost–that hope does not desert him.  And Lucas finds his way out of the darkness of his past torment to live in and be of the world again.    And peaceful slumber will come at last.

“Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening
By Robert Frost 1874–1963 Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.”

References

The poem text was found at The Poetry Foundation, http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/171621

The original Lucas North (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) image from Spooks series 7, episode 2 (pix 25) was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Spooks/album/ep2/slides/cap025.html

The background woods scene was found at http://megzspeakz.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/dark-forbidden-night.jpg

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Hope, Lucas, poem, Richard Armitage, Spooks and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “Miles to Go Before I Sleep”: A Lucas North/Richard Armitage Wallpaper, 2/21/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #136)

  1. April says:

    Very nice wallpaper and poem Gratiana. :-)

    Like

  2. What a great combo- my favorite Frost poem matched with Lucas, who is constanly “journeying through the woods”. Simply lovely!
    Wouldn’t mind spending a few insomnia nights with Lucas. Maybe he could teach me to play chess ;)

    Like

  3. Kate Patrick says:

    LOVE it! Always liked this poem. Your handiwork has greatly enhanced it! Thank you!

    Like

  4. AJ Daisy says:

    What can I say this is beautiful. Thank You

    Like

  5. Dear Friends,
    I have to share with you this new video by Daria GizTheGunslinger that she just shared the link to in RAFN in Facebook. Not only is her video stunning, but it is rather wonderful that independent of each other, she and I also focused on Lucas in Spooks 7 episode 2–see her video’s closing scene and my Lucas wallpaper above. All I can say is gReAt minds think alike! Ha!
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. Here is the link to Daria GizTheGunslinger’s amazing new video ” [SPOOKS] Lucas North – To Have And To Hold”:

    Like

  6. RAFrenzy says:

    Love this wallpaper! Perfect lines for Lucas.

    Like

  7. Ania says:

    Hmm Lucas * sigh * beautiful poem and I really like your wallpaper :)

    Like

    • Hi Ania,
      Thanks for your very nice note about my Lucas wallpaper. I’m glad that people are enjoying it. And Robert Frost is always a good poetry choice.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting. Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

