Fun Day Sunday: April Fool’s Day–on Me! Gratiana Reveals All Her Secrets–Maybe 4/01/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #158)

Today is April Fool’s Day in the U.S.  For the uninitiated, that means playing harmless pranks on one’s friends.  Such as years ago, my setting my then college roommate’s alarm clock ahead one hour and letting her think for 5 minutes that she would be late for class.   I set the alarm ahead an hour because I didn’t want to actually make her late.   That is the only prank I have ever played–and it is rather precious–and not really prank like.  I think that I am loathe to play real pranks on other people because of my thinking of the other person’s feelings all the time.  And, I am too polite.   I am such a Pollyanna [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pollyanna].  But, I have less concerns about lampooning myself now and again.  So, fasten your seatbelts, Pollyanna has left the building! [right, me at 20 months old]

 [***Tongue in Cheek and Facetious Alert***]

Responding to inventories about myself has never been my forte.  They always seem like a job application.  And I’m too shy–except for today.  Again, that whole nom de plume anonymity thing gives me false bravado.  So, I will share a few potential questions and my possible answers to them.  I say again, be forewarned: POLLYANNA  HAS  LEFT  THE  BUILDING!  Ha!

Name:  Grati After Dark — When this essay posts, it will be after 12:04am on Sunday morning, so it is dark then.  I can’t help it if you sleep in and you don’t read this until mid morning your time.   Ha!

Sex:  Yes, please.  “Fooling around, doing the nasty. or scaring the neighbors, etc., is the spice of life.”  Well, of course, bring it on!     Folks, if you don’t need sound buffer baffles on the walls and a sturdy steel bed frame, you’re not doing it right.  Ha!   Oh!   You mean, you know, my gender.  Female.  Check!

Age:  Preferably 40, but he looks 39.  Tee hee.  He is tall, dark, and handsome with a beard and close shorn head of hair at the moment, he has a deeply timberous British baritone voice that sounds like velvet caressing my heart when he is storytelling or portraying a character, and he has a smouldering gaze that can melt the polar ice caps!   Thanks to RANet (www.RichardArmitagenet.com)  for the pictures of Richard Armitage:  left, at the NYC premiere of Captain America:  The First Avenger in which he portrayed Heinz Kruger; middle two left portraits, Project Magazine; and the two right photos, Recognise Magazine.

           

Oh!  You mean ‘my’ age.  Well a lady never divulges her age nor her weight–those are trade secrets.  Let’s just say that I celebrate the anniversary of my 35th birthday each year.  And as for other measurements?  I eschew the metric system.  Ha!

Foreplay?:  Five play, six play, whatever it takes.  Anticipation and really good canoodling are half the fun.

Preferred position:   I’ll have to get back to you on that one.  Uhhh, maybe two.   No, three. Never mind. Sighhh!

Preferred location:   A comfy bed.   Like I’ve said before, there is only one thing that should be ahem, ‘not soft’, in lovemaking–and it’s not the furniture.

Preferred partner:  Folks, I’m happily married–very happily with the same man for almost 24 years.  So I heartily recommend monogamy.  Some people get hung up on marriage just being a ‘piece of paper’–claiming that ‘it doesn’t mean anything’, to justify why they haven’t taken the plunge.  I’m here to say that marriage is a license to have lots and lots of tenderness, caring, love, support, encouragement, someone to reach things on the top shelf (just checking to see if you’re reading closely, Ha!), and love making–whenever you both want to, without having to constantly look for a new partner to date so that you can have sex with them after the third date.  Do people really jump into the sack that quickly?  The whole sexual revolution completely passed me by.  Ha!    Which segues nicely to ….

Preferred frequency:  I read an article once where a couple made love every day for a whole year and they kept a diary of how their relationship grew based upon their continuous intimacy:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1357771/Couple-sex-day-year-revive-marriage.html

And by intimacy, they and I don’t just mean joining your body with your beloved in blissful ecstasy.  Though, that is completely lovely.  Intimacy involves caring and consideration of your love partner–the best aphrodisiacs, and they’re free.  So, you’re wondering.  Did my hubby and I try that?  Once a day?  Only once a day?  Normally, I would say that that is an impertinent question.  But then again, it’s April Fools and I’m the one asking it.  Ha!  Seriously, we lasted about a month at that pace–the demands and fatigue of life and work interfered with us keeping our ‘groove on’ constantly beyond that month.  But we made some lovely memories.  And we do very nicely without a proscribed benchmark for how many times a week we make love.  It’s not a competition with your friends, people.  Do what feels right for the two of you is my suggestion to couples.  And enjoy!  Oh and a little non coital canoodling on ‘off’ nights is de rigeur.  It lets him know that you think of him as more than just as a sex object for your personal gratification.  And who knows, you might get lucky on those ‘off’ nights.  Ha!

Okay. We’re done with sex.  Awww!  I got sidetRAcked!  Sorry. Well, this blog is called “Something About Love”

What does the “A” stand for in this blog’s name, “Something About Love (A)”?:  Guess.  Ha

Favorite book:  The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

Favorite Gothic Romance:   Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

Favorite Novelist’s collected works:   Jane Austen’s six novels.  Although, I’m not really fond of Northanger Abbey, if truth be told.

Favorite movie:   “Little Women”, 1994 (movie trailer video by CheckTrailer)

Favorite Mini series:  “North & South”, BBC 2004 (video of the best moments of episode 4 by misshale78)

Favorite actor:  If you don’t know that by now, then you’re not paying attention.  Ha!  Richard Crispin Armitage; also Kevin Spacey, Colin Firth, and Daniel Day-Lewis, etc.

Favorite actress:  Sandra Bullock; also Kate Winslet, Meryl Streep, and Katharine Hepburn, etc.

Favorite poem:  Sonnet 116 by Shakespeare
Let me not to the marriage of true minds
Admit impediments. Love is not love
Which alters when it alteration finds,
Or bends with the remover to re[move:
O no! it is an ever-fixed mark
That looks on tempests and is never shaken;
It is the star to every wandering bark,
Whose worth’s unknown, although his height be taken.
Love’s not Time’s fool, though rosy lips and cheeks
Within his bending sickle’s compass come:
Love alters not with his brief hours and weeks,
But bears it out even to the edge of doom.
If this be error and upon me proved,
I never writ, nor no man ever loved.

Favorite Poet:  Maya Angelou; also Alice Walker, Carl Sandburg, and Robert Frost, etc.

Favorite song:  “The Prayer” sung by Celine Dion and Josh Groban, (video by jlhet)

Favorite Composer:  Mozart; also Chopin, Bach, Beethoven, Schuman, Copeland, Gershwin, etc.

Favorite dance:  slow, but I would love learn to salsa and tango;  ever since my hubby and I danced at Jordan’s wedding last Fall, we’ve been itching to find a fun–and inexpensive–partners’ dance class.  It’s been a while since both of us did any partner dancing, so a refresher is in order.  Ha!  And you’ll recall that I am 5 ft 2.5 inches tall to my husband’s 6 ft 4 inches tall self.  So, we’re an interesting matchup on the dance floor.  No, that’s not a metaphor.  Besides, everyone is the same height lying down. *wink*  Ha!

Favorite leisure activity:   swimming; also bad golf (we love the scenery and chatting, etc.), playing the piano, and quilting, etc.

Favorite season:   Spring.  I love the cool weather, fresh green grass through my toes, and lower utility bills since the heat and the air conditioning are not needed.  We just open the windows for air flow.

Favorite holiday:   Christmas Eve, with snow blanketing the ground the moonlight reflects off the snow crystals so  beautifully.

Religious Affiliation:  Yes.

Address:  www.gratianads90.wordpress.com   What did you think I would write?  That I live in the Midwest in a subdivision surrounded by cornfields?  Ha!

References:  The people from 100 countries around the world who have visited this blog just since February 25, 2012 when WordPress made those stats available to us.  Hello, Bon Jour, Hola, 你好, Hallo, tere, ciao, Olá, здраво, привет, hoy, etc.

Miscellaneous:

Wishing you a lovely Palm Sunday as well, for those who observe it.

And a special shout out to my good friend, fellow blogger [“Confessions of a Watcher” at http://www.jagrant.com/watcher/ and  linked in the blogroll to the right], mentor, gracious hostess for our nightly chats in Armitage World, and lovely lady in general:

Happy Birthday, Miss Judiang!

Here are  beardless Richard Armitage pictures just for you!  Love, Grati

        

(Thanks to RANet, www.RichardArmitagenet.com for these portraits:  left, Sunday Times 2006; left middle, 2007 Promo shot; right middle, 2009 Bafta’s; and right, 2010 Old Vic 24 Hours Plays.)

P.S.  And if you thought that I might have a “short” essay for April Fool’s Day?   Not a chance!  Ha!

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Birthday, Creative Writing, Fun Day Sunday, Holiday, Love, Richard Armitage and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fun Day Sunday: April Fool’s Day–on Me! Gratiana Reveals All Her Secrets–Maybe 4/01/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #158)

  1. fabi4 says:

    Good morning Grati,
    I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for being a sunshine dispelling the clouds of a very bleak weekend (despite the nice day outside). Bravo, Grati After Dark!
    Oh, and that article can be very inspiring, LOL. Intimacy is the key, and I don’t mean only bodies, but minds. Talking, joking, spending time together. Hubby really surpised me last December when he watched all Jane Eyre miniseries with me, without falling asleep!! It was a two days session, I didn’t want to tire him. Two hours a day of drama and romance!! Isn’t he lovely? The next will be Pride and Prejudice, Persuasion, and obviously N&S.
    Have an excellent Sunday!

    Like

    • Good Morning Fabi,
      Thanks for your kind note! I’m glad that my humorous musings brought a smile to your face. Humor is always my “fallback” position. Life should be fun! And fun begins at home–such as poking fun at myself.

      Ooh! Your hubby sounds like a lovely fellow–watching the romance classics with you–and such. Enjoy! My hubby also watched quite a bit of “North & South” with me–until I figured out how to play dvds on my laptop. Ha! And my hubby has been my handy reference guide for Hobbit related questions in a pinch. So, I thoroughly plan to enjoy seeing Richard Armitage portraying Thorin Oakenshield in in “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” in December 2012 as a date night out!

      Have a great rest of your weekend! Cheers! And Hugs for the “bleakness” you mentioned, Grati ;->

      Like

  2. fitzg says:

    Gratiana, just :D ! Lovely April 1 post!

    Like

  3. april73 says:

    It’s a lovely April 1st post Gratiana. :-)

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

