“Imaginings of My Love Margaret, by Her John” (a poem), 4/18/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #168)

“Imaginings of My Love Margaret, by Her John” (a poem), 4/18/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #168)

I see her across the crowded parlor of my home.
She is a vision of beauty and grace.
The flickering candles bow to her as their soft light
illumines the creamy skin of her shoulders.

Her neck is swan like as she turns to greet another.
Her smile is genuine, as is her heart sincere.
Does the soft blush of her cheeks betoken her
knowing that I admire her so?

If I could wrest my gaze from her, I would.
But I long to forever sear her eyes and their merriment into my soul.
If I could reap a smile from her lips, I would envy no one for taking her company away from me briefly.

I dare to gaze upon her and seek a dream of love with her.
Could such an exquisite creature, too fine for my untutored heart, deign to love me simply, honestly, for all the days of our lives–as I would love her?
It is this I ponder with hope, as I see her across the crowded parlor of my home.

Two lovely videos whose music and images speak to the longings of John:

North and South – Falling by dnetherl

North & South – When You Say Nothing At All by jerichoholicstaz


Our favorite scene:

North & South ending by hayhay2245

References

Image of Margaret Hale (as portrayed by Daniela Denby-Ashe) is beautiful to behold by John Thornton at the Masters’ Dinner in the 2004 BBC Production of North & South Episode 2 (pix 213) was found at http://www.richardarmitageonline.com/north-and-south/north-south-pictures-episode2.html

Image of John Thornton (as portrayed by Richard Armitage) in the BBC’s 2004 production of North & South, episode 2 (pix 116) was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/nands/album/episode2/slides/ns2-116.html

North and South – Falling by dnetherl
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWlBTwB2QuM&feature=related

North & South – When You Say Nothing At All by jerichoholicstaz
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&v=dwtoiCZeei8&NR=1

North & South ending by hayhay2245
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K1w3wiVPeZU&feature=related

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, John Thornton, Love and Relationships, North & South, poem, Richard Armitage, Romance and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Imaginings of My Love Margaret, by Her John” (a poem), 4/18/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #168)

  1. bccmee says:

    Delicious imagery. You have definitely captured John’s longing for Margaret in your poem. ♥

    Like

  2. Sandra says:

    Daniela Denby-Ashe is a very intelligent, talented and incredibly beautiful actress with beautiful eyes. She gave an astounding performance in North and South. It would be great if people can support this actress by setting up a blog. There is no Richard armitage without Daniela. People went crazy after Richard. If somebody is fair, they have to see Daniela’s acting.

    Like

    • Hi Sandra,
      Daniela Denby-Ashe was an amazing Margaret Hale! She and Richard Armitage portraying John Thornton were electric on screen together!

      And I read somewhere that–gracious gentleman that he is–when Richard Armitage was asked about all the attention he received from North & South, he deflected the comment by pointing out that Daniela Denby-Ashe had won an award for her role, and rightfully so.

      I’m guessing Daniela Denby-Ashe has admirers and bloggers of her own. If you Google her name, lots of entries come up. But if you feel there is a gap, you could certainly start your own blog about her. Good luck with that.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

