Wednesday Wanderings, 5/02/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #176)

Wednesdays are those middle of the week days that often get overlooked.   ‘Hump Day’ is what our local radio station colloquially refers to it as.

Wednesday is a mystery, a placeholder in the week–a milestone to reach and put behind us.  Depending upon whether you are a pessimist or optimist, you might view Wednesday thusly:

1)      Pessimist — still three days to the weekend, counting today

2)      Optimist–only two more days until the weekend, not counting today

Wednesday’s Child  [(1)] might be full of woe–if they were a pessimist.

Wednesday is also the longest named day (9 letters) of the seven days.  What follows are the days of the week in descending order of numbers of letters (mildly amusing, if not interesting–at least for a former math geek like me):

Wednesday (9 letters)

Thursday (8 letters)

Saturday, Tuesday (7 letters)

Friday, Sunday, Monday (6 letters)

Wednesday has been a girl character’s name–as in Wednesday Addams [(2)] from the Addams Family.   There is also an actress named Tuesday Weld.  But have any boys been named  for days of the week?

Alliterative ‘rhymes’ with the word Wednesday include:  wonderful, weird, weary, wild, wacky, willfull, winsome. woeful, and weasonable (per Elmer Fudd [(3)]), etc.

And finally, for a liltingly upbeat song about Wednesday Morning by Slackstring we have the following to start off our day:

Enjoy and have a great day!

References

 

1)       Monday’s Child poem was found at http://www.scrapbook.com/poems/doc/2727/8.html

2)      Wednesday Addams information was found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wednesday_Addams

3)      Elmer Fudd cartoon character info was found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Elmer_Fudd

4)       “Wednesday Morning” a video by slackstring was found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wYNjREmXWLw&feature=related

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Wednesday Wanderings, 5/02/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #176)

  1. bccmee says:

    Your post made me curious about boys named for days of the week so I Googled it. I forgot that in Ghana, children are often named after the day of the week where they’re born. It reminded me of a lovely Ghanese family that lived next door to me when I was a teen. Their son was named “Wednesday” in his native language. You brought back a very fond memory! :D

    Like

    • Hi Bccmee!
      Yours is a delightful story! Glad my post jogged your memories.
      And we’ve learned something new on top of it about Ghanese culture. Thanks for visiting and commenting.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. Fabi says:

    Good morning Grati,
    I remember another fictional character named after a day of the week. He is Robinson Crusoe’s companion, Friday.
    And in Portuguese we have the male name “Domingos”, from Sunday (Domingo). :)

    Like

  3. Hi, Grace, I liked your post. I guess I fit in the ones pessimist perfil, because I really don´t like wednesdays.It´s the day I work more.That explains everything!LOl! About the story names, this remindes me of the Robinson Crusoe `story.His friend named Wednesday.

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,
      Thanks for your nice note. It’s kind of rainy around here today. So, the song is pepping me up! Ha! I think Fabi was write about the name Friday. But is there another character, too? It’s been so long since I read the story Robinson Crusoe.
      Wishing you a good day! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. I always heard that story as a child and the character from R.Crusoe was named Wednesday.Well, his name was translated by Quarta-feira (wednesday). I guess Fabi made a little confusion.However it´s very nice her remembrance of the name Domingo. I wish you a great wednesday,too!

    Like

  5. Fabi says:

    Grati and Tereza,
    I have this book at home and I can assure you that my translation says “Sexta-feira”, meaning Friday. Maybe there are another translation, I don’t know.

    Like

  6. Ania says:

    Hi Grati,
    I really like your post. I love Wednesdays, especially after work because almost “I see”‘ weekend. ;) And just want to say that in my language Wednesday ( środa) has only five letters, and this is the smallest quantity of letters among all days of the week.

    Like

    • Hi Ania,
      Thanks for your kind note. I usually like Wednesdays, too–both for your reason and because my hubby usually picks me up for lunch. Though today, I had a working lunch.
      That’s interesting about środa (for Wednesday) having only five letters. Your language wins the “brevity” award. Of course, conciseness isn’t my strong suit. Ha!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  7. Hi, Fabi and Grace.You´re completly right! I really made a huge mistake about that Robson Crusoe ´s story .I have to ask millions of apologies to Fabi, because I thought she was making a little confusion, but who was making a Big mistake was justly me. Oh, Bad Memory! However I was so much certain about it at that hour! Thanks Grace to posting the wikepedia link!
    Hugs for all!

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,

      You’re most welcome. We’ve all been there–memory mixups. Not to worry.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      P.S. But you’ve given me an idea for a Fun Day Sunday activity that might be part literary quiz, part literature mad lib, part literary character mash up–as in putting characters into different stories, but changing the stories a bit. Hmmmm. I’ll have to let my idea germinate for a bit.

      But if you have ever seen the movie “Lost in Austen”–where a Pride and Prejudice loving modern day woman somehow switches places with Regency era Lizzie and mayhem ensues. The modern woman thrust into portraying Lizzie is afraid that she’ll ruin the story by her interference–well, she impacts the storyline, with humorous and romantic results. Ha! The British actress Jemima Rooper portrays the modern day woman. Here is that YouTube link for you:

      Of course, another way to go would be for me to have a fictional romantic round table of Austen or other similar heroines discussing their lives, etc. I might entitle this post “A Couple of Austen Chicks Sitting Around Talking”. That title is a play on words of another title. Ha! Who knows, That might end up being an upcoming Wednesday post. Ha!

      Thanks for inspiration to both you and Fabi! I’ve got two more post ideas to work on!

      Like

  8. Fabi says:

    Tereza, you din’t need to apologize. My memory plays me tricks all the time too, and we are all friends here.
    Grati, I’m glad that you got inspired. All is well when it ends well, isn’t it?
    I’ve seen “Lost in Austen” (on Tereza’s channel too) and liked it, except that Mr. Darcy. For me, Colin Firth is the perfect and definitive Darcy, as well as Richard Armitage’s portrait of Mr. Thornton will never be overcome by another actor. *sigh*
    Hugs to you two. :)

    Like

  9. Hi, Grace,I´m sure you will have great ideas for your new project because all you do is always very well done . Speaking to Lost in Austen, It would very be interesting to see another parody following the model of it.Maybe Persuasion or Jane Eyre. Although I wouldn´t wish to see a North and South parody. I guess no need any explanation about it.You know why! I also agree with Fabi.There are actors were made to play determined roles and Mr Darcy and Mr Thorthon never will be played for other actors better than Colin Firth and R.Armitage.
    Hugs!
    Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,
      Thanks for your very nice note. It’s always good to get feedback and input from my friends and readers. I agree with you that somethings are sacro sanct and being “exempt” from parody consideration–North & South being one of them.

      As you’ll notice from my other parodies–they are “gentle”, usually taking an existing whimsical moment and tweaking it up a notch. And with my CRAzy Captioning, etc., I go for humor–but not at anyone’s expense, least of all Mr. Armitage’s. I’m a Pollyanna. Ha!

      I do like Persuasion, and that might be an excellent suggestion for a future more humorously skewed fan ficlet. Tee hee. Anne’s hypochondriachal sister Mary is someone who would definitely suffer under my pen. Ha!

      As for Jane Eyre? That is another one of my sacro sanct books–and were I to adapt it for modern times, it would be no parody. But rather a heartfelt romantic tale as in the original. Actually, I had started outlining and writing a Jane Eyre fan fiction over a year ago–before I learned of the recent version. So I set it aside. But I might come back to it. In particular, I had developed a metaphorical twist–which I wont’ reveal for now–that I felt added depth to understanding the characters and their love story. At that time–and I still feel–that my ideal casting would be Richard Armitage at his brooding and dashing best as Rochester with the luminous Emily Blunt as Jane Eyre. I had also thought of Judi Dench for Mrs. Fairfax. And then I discovered that the recent version of Jane Eyre had alreadycast her! Ha! I also had a few ideas for who might portray the tortured mad wife–who descends into a hell of her own mind’s making. We would need someone small and scrappy, yet who could portray the young wife as entrancing to have enticed Rochester to marry her–so initially, the British actress Cheri Lungi came to mind. But I also have a few others. Oh dear! Now that I’ve been talking about my Jane Eyre fan fiction (or fiction adaptation) again, you’re making want to get back to it. Ha!

      Have a great weekend, yourself! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

