Lucas Tuesday: Is it too much to ask to see the top of Richard Armitage’s Head? 5/08/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #180)

In my “skin wars” John Porter image that I manipped yesterday (original left, manip right) for a future original fiction story illustration of mine–Richard Armitage being my muse and always part of my “dream” cast–I healed his torso wound and removed the bandage, I sampled his abs (I wish!), I removed the rotator cuff surgery scar that Porter had, and I also actually rounded up Richard Armitage’s head of hair because the shot had lopped off the top of RA’s head.  Photoshop is wonderful, isn’t it?

 

But RA going “topless” seems to happen alot with photographers and cinematographers–especially in the BBC series Spooks in which Richard Armitage portrayed Master Spy Lucas North for Series 7-9.  Ha!   Mr. Armitage’s head being lopped off in extreme close-ups became almost a “signature” element of the visuals of the show–along with the blue lighting and backgrounds complementing his blue eyes.

So what follows are some not so random categorizations of Lucas lopped off head tops in close-up images..

Richard Armitage has a lovely full head of hair–albeit  thinning a bit at his temples.  But these images seem to want to unnecessarily advance a receding hairline for him:
   
     

Do they think that after seeing Richard Armitage’s noble nose, his long fingers, and slight smile (image far left lower) that also seeing the top of his head would make us swoon?  Well, they might be right.  Ha!  But I still want to see the hair “on” his head–even if it is shorn close to his scalp.

This image above–with the most extreme close-up that contains only Richard Armitage as Lucas North’s eyes and nose–really takes the notion to the extreme.  Though it must be said, that Mr. Armitage’s expressive eyes are beautifully  showcased in this picture.

But then there are the images where only a portion of the top of his head is cut off, still showing some hair (thank goodness):
     

Yet, there are some screen cap shots where all of RA’s head can be seen (Heaven!)–not to mention the rest of him:
   
 
    

So, I say we start a campaign urging photographers and cinematographers to stop lopping off RA’s head in their close-up shots.  We could call ourselves, the “Friends of RA’s Top”.  The mostly PG-13 nature of this blog caused me to reconsider my original word choice, lest it be misconstrued.  Ha!

We are Global Team Armitage!

Cheers!   Grace  ;->

P.S.  And if you can’t tell that I’m being completely facetious, then you need to lighten up.  Ha!

Nota Bene:  All images of Richard Armitage as John Porter (with Shaun Parkes) in Chris Ryan’s Strike Back Series 1 (2010) and Spooks Series 7-9 (2008-2010) are courtesy of RANet, www.RichardArmitageNet.com at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/gallery.html

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Lucas, Spooks, Strike Back and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Lucas Tuesday: Is it too much to ask to see the top of Richard Armitage’s Head? 5/08/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #180)

  1. bccmee says:

    Ah yes, the dilemma of the cropped off head. Well-said! I don’t understand why “they” do it. Maybe it happens to other actors and we just don’t notice, but I’m not sure. Great work on your reconstruction!

    Like

  2. Dear Readers,
    I’m rethinking the acronym of “Friends of RA’s Top” (FRAT), because it has a rather masculine connotation and most of us are ladies–except for Donald and Kevin who subscribe to this blog, Hi fellas!, and others who might wander in. All are welcome.

    So a new acronym I came up with employes the artifact we seek embedded within it: HAIRR, “Hair Atop Is Right for Richard”. I know, it’s a little forced. But I’m still working on it.

    So if you have a suggestion for an acronym (keeping in PG-13) and/or another RA image that had its top lopped off, please share that (and its URL) in a comment.

    Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. My tongue is still firmly in my cheek. I guess that I’m feeling whimsical today. Ha!

    Like

  3. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    Acronyms are very tough! Just for play:
    TRRACC – The Right RA Close-up Committe
    FOR SARAH – For Our Right to See All of RA’s Head (any resemblance to the name of a Spooks’ female character is purely coincidental)

    Like

    • Excellent options, Fabi!
      Of course, we could also invent an acronym option based on RA’s character of Lucas North’s name:

      Let
      Us
      Cease
      Anatomical head
      Slicing and

      Nurture more
      Optical
      Renderings of
      Tops of
      Heads

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Fabi says:

    Great! LOL

    Gratiana:
    Really an
    Artist,
    Talented and
    Imaginative

    Like

  5. Meryl says:

    whatever you decide for a name~sign me up!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Fun Day Sunday–Richard Armitage Gaze Fest 2012: Heaven Shines in Lucas’ Smile Wallpaper, 10/21/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #292) | Something About Love (A)

  7. Pingback: WCW: I Need Me Some Richard Armitage as Sweet Harry–Following his Heart and Kissing Me with Tongues, April 10, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #394) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

