Thorin’s Quest: “The Impossible Dream?”, 5/10/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post # 181)

Life is a journey of pathways and destinations.  And even if we don’t believe in destiny–but rather that we make our own destinies–fate sometimes pulls us back into its inexorable spiral toward an inevitable conclusion.  What we hope for might be impossible.  But that doesn’t mean that we shouldn’t dream.

So for your consideration, I created a video slide show for  Thorin Thursday:

“Thorin’s Quest: The Impossible Dream?”, a video by Gratiana Lovelace, 5/10/12

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin, Video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thorin’s Quest: “The Impossible Dream?”, 5/10/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post # 181)

  1. bccmee says:

    Very inspiring fanvideo! RA is going to be a star!

    Like

    • Bccmee,
      You are so kind! And most definitely yes, Richard Armitage is going to be a superstar!

      Bless your heart for staying up to view my video post. You’re a true friend–especially since you’re in a time zone ahead of mine! Now we can both welcome the Sandman. Hmmm. I wonder what he looks like. *wink* Sleep well, dear friend.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. Fabi says:

    Good morning Grati,
    Someone said: “Dreams are like stars…you may never touch them, but if you follow them they will lead you to your destiny.”
    Beautiful video!

    Like

  3. Dear Readers,
    I just wanted to say a special hello to my blog visitors from Switzerland today because their readership has jumped to over 100 today so far.
    Welcome! Enjoy! Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  4. Very good choice of this song,Grace.With so little Thorin´s pictures, you did a fantastic video. About the song .I don´t know from who is its authory, since we had listened several versions of it,including in portugues.The lyric is simply amazing.I need to search about it!

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,
      Thanks for your very nice note.

      My video credits may have been hard to read on the last slide due to the background. Sorry about that. The song “The Impossible Dream” is from the musical play “Man of La Mancha”. Music by Mitch Leigh with lyrics by Joe Darion.

      I have loved this song for years. And it just seemed to fit Thorin Oakenshield’s journey. Here is a Wiki link talking about the musical: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man_of_La_Mancha

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  5. Ania says:

    Hi Grati,
    I really like your video. And what a wonderful music. *sigh*

    Like

    • Hi Ania,
      Thanks for your lovely note. I sampled several versions of “The Impossible Dream” in addition to the one sung wonderfully here by Placido Domingo. American Actor–Richard Kiley, who portrayed the Don Quixote character–also has a lovely version.

      And fellow Englishman to actor Richard Armitage–who portrays the questing Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit films currently in production–is the Welsh singer Bryn Terfel also has a beautiful rendition of the song on You Tube (video by Kappelmeister35):

      Here also is a Wiki link for Mr. Terfel’s career:
      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bryn_Terfel

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  6. Meryl says:

    dream on I say! thankyou for pulling together all your multi talented friends to make this “sweet” video Grati x

    Like

    • Hi Meryl,
      Thanks for your nice note. I’m delighted that both DarkJackal32 and Bcc Mee graciously allowed me to share their respective artistic renderings yet again.

      DJ32 shared her lovely Thorin pencil drawing on RANet back in November 2011. I latched on to that right away and used it for my Thanksgiving message graphic. Her drawing really is exquisite and I urge readers to enlarge the image to see the detail in the image. This time I used her image I had discovered the image blurring/facing tool in Photoshop to place the face in the clouds. Here is that original link for the full image that DJ32 created: http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/artwork/DarkJackal-Thorin.jpg And don’t forget that DarkJackal32 is the power and creativity behind the “Heirs of Durin” blog found at http://www.ThorinOakensheild.net

      And Bcc Mee is a multi-talented graphics and video designer and friend and mentor. She first shared her Thorin Sword Path wallpaper that she created with her blog readers (her blog address is http://fanvideos.wordpress.com/) back in July 2011. And I have included it in several Thorin/Hobbit mentions on my blog here, as well as, at least one other video. The Thorin Wallpaper Bcc mee created has so many layers of image “blending” (for lack of a better word) that I marvel at her artistry. Here is that original link for her Thorin Wallpaper:

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

