“To Sleep, My Beloved,” A poem by Gratiana Lovelace, 5/12/12 (Post #183)

Dear Readers,

Saturday’s are usually non new post days for me.   But sometimes thoughts just flow out of me.  Thus it is with today’s poem.  So, I thought that I would share this poem with you now.

Cheers!   Grati

P.S. And if I may suggest, begin the video  and listen to Chopin’s Nocturne Op. 9 No 2 as you read my poem.

“To Sleep, My Beloved” by Gratiana Lovelace

To sleep, my beloved,
is to give respite to my weariness.
And to dream,
is to give hope to my despair.

Thus, my waking dreams
become a hopeful reality.
You are there wanting me.
I am there disbelieving your want.

The premise is the same waking or sleeping.
You want me, desire me.
The outcome is the same with my dream and my pen,
I give in to your love.

Yet it is my want, my desire that drives my dreams.
Symbolically, you are me and I am you.
So, my dreams are more about me than about you.
But still I dream of love with you.

Would you welcome the tenderness of love
that I feel for you?  Perhaps, perhaps not.
Love is an abstract concept, except in the daily living of it.
Though I offer my love sincerely, this love for you is my creation.

My own romance is joyful and loving.
My own beloved is all that I could hope for.
He is kind and caring, sexy and playful.
I would not supplant him with you.

So I wish you love and joy,
to find someone to share your life with.
Yet you are private and solitary,
not given to romantic displays–except when required.

Skittish like a colt, you are.
Racing like the wind toward the horizon.
Only briefly does your forward movement slow,
as you graze to take your fill.  Then off you go again.

You flick your eyes in interest and intrigue,
lacking long hair to toss petulantly as you once did.
But your arched eyebrow gives your meaning.
Your gaze tells your tale of smouldering desire.

My own hair is long and sleek now.
It falls over and about my shoulders in soft curls.
It is both a raiment and a conceit,
clothing me in a supposed beauty.

To me, your beauty lies in your strength,
in your artistry, in your gentlemanly ways.
And, in truth, your beauty that is your
handsomeness stills me in awe even now.

What is this power that you have to enchant me from afar?
To beckon me to imagine as my muse.
When knowing each other is impossible.
Except, my dreams make it possible.

For if you would love me unconditionally,
then my dreams would be fulfilled.
And if you are really me in my dreams.
Then with your love, I would love me unconditionally, too.

And thus, my love awaits for you to fulfill it.
Because my restful dreams are of love with you.
And so I sleep and dream, to summon your love to me.
And I summon a hope of love for you as well.

References

“Yundi Li plays Chopin Nocturne Op.9 No.2”, a video by Sissco was found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EvxS_bJ0yOU

Richard Armitage portrait (blurred here) from the July 2011 Project Magazine photo shoot and article was found at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/ProjectMagJuly2011/album/slides/MattHolyoak-36.html

Richard Armitage portrait (blurred here) from the July 2011 Project Magazine photo shoot and article was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/ProjectMagJuly2011/album/slides/MattHolyoak-07.html

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Love, My Life, Richard Armitage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “To Sleep, My Beloved,” A poem by Gratiana Lovelace, 5/12/12 (Post #183)

  1. Ania says:

    Hmmm, a beautiful poem. *sigh* Thanks for sharing.:)

    Like

  2. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    I wonder too “What is this power that you have to enchant me from afar?”
    Chopin Nocturne is the perfect soundtrack for your poem, as handsome as its muse.

    Like

  3. Beautiful! Adding Chopin is an amazingly fab touch :)

    Like

    • Hi Pin Up!
      Thanks for your lovely note! I’m a classical music fan. I have played this particular piece–but not as well as Mr. Li. But I do enjoy the gentle emotion in this music.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Pingback: Legenda 26: Stuff worth reading (the get caught up after travel edition) « Me + Richard Armitage

  5. april73 says:

    Very lovely poem Gratiana, bravo. :-)

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

