“In the Mood, or Not”, 5/30/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #196)

As my love stories and sensuous love poems attest to, I’m a romantic at heart.  And blessedly, my hubby of 22 years–and happily coupled for 24 years in June–and I are on the same page in that regard.  *wink*  We are a devoted loving couple–and then some.

But sometimes, the spirit is willing but the flesh is weak.  Case in point.  Today, Tuesday–or yesterday in the case of when this blog writing posts–it should have been one of our “romance” days this week.

However, I had spent most of the day Tuesday in my sauna of an office because our university can’t seem to acclimatize our 101 year old building for air conditioning.  I’m talking 82 degrees in the morning and 87 degrees in the afternoon out in the main area–I’m sure that my office was hotter than that.   Though I didn’t feel quite as bad as the fellow in this photo–[(1) right]–I was close.  And we ladies wearing our layers–dress, slip, girdle, underwear–we’re insulated better than an Indy driver on race day.  Ha! And my teensy bronchitis/asthma issues don’t like heat and humidity.

I was hoping to work from home Tuesday afternoon.  But my boss wanted to do some budget planning for the next fiscal year.  So, I had to return to the office after going home at lunch to feed and let out the dogs–and enjoying the nice air conditioning.  But we didn’t’ end up working on the budget since the university online system for doing so was down.  Hmm!   Happily I had some department errands to run for an upcoming event, so I was able to duck out of there around 3:30pm–before I fainted from the heat.   But the damage was done and I started to get a headache, which I rarely get.   Popping some OTC pain meds didn’t help as I went to three different stores around town trying to find the items we needed for our event.  Then I went to the grocery store to pick up some things my hubby and I needed.

So, by the time I arrived home around 5:15pm Tuesday afternoon, all I wanted to do was sit quietly on the couch and enjoy our home’s air conditioning.  That is, after I had freshened up and put on my comfy clothes.    Hhhhh!   Heaven!

And there my hubby found me after he rode his bike home from work–we’re down to one car until we get mine fixed–typing away on the computer.  He was eager to be with me–and one really wants to encourage eager husbands.   But I was just wiped out from the heat all day and my headache.

He noticed my fatigue and I explained.   He nodded and went to take his shower.  He came back and told me that he had brought the remaining grocery store items in from the car.  I smiled and thanked him.  He asked if I was feeling better–code for “did you want to fool around afterall?”

I suggested that he was probably tired from his ten mile ride home.  He said no, that it actually got his juices going–whatever that means.  Ha!  Then he considerately said, “but you’re tired, we can wait until tomorrow–it will be cooler then”.  I smiled and said “yes”, because my head was still throbbing–poor choice of words there.  Ha!  Then after he did something else, he asked me again.

Gosh, you know your hubby is eager if he asks three times.  And goodness knows how blessed I am that he is so eager–truth be told, so am I.  Ha!  But I’m a firm believer in mutual enjoyment. And I wasn’t feeling well–let alone frisky.  So I compromised and offered to cuddle–the old bait and switch.  He jumped at it.  Again, poor choice of words on my part.  Ha!  So, our dogs went into their lairs so we could have uninterrupted Mommy and Daddy time for about fifteen minutes of cuddling.   I snuggled up next to my hubby in bed, kissing and cuddling as we shared our day–it was quite lovely actually.

So Wednesday/today is another day.  And if the heat is saunalike at work again, I’m going home to the air conditioning–to prevent a repeat of my fatigue and headache on Tuesday–or charge my department with creating “alienation of affection” from my hubby.  Ha!

P.S.  And just for fun, here is a relevant and saucy little Richard Armitage fan video by a friend of mine [(2) below]:

Richard Armitage:  Gimme Some Lovin’ (RA Multi-role fanvid) by fedoralady

 

References

 

(1)     Image of Richard Armitage portraying John Porter in Chris Ryan’s Strike Back , series 1, Episode 6 HD,  pix 3 was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/StrikeBack/album/series1/Episode6HD/slides/ep6hd_003.html

(2)     Richard Armitage:  Gimme Some Lovin’ (RA Multi-role fanvid) by fedoralady was found at
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QHHhYKKmyX4&feature=fvwrel

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Love and Relationships, Richard Armitage, Romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “In the Mood, or Not”, 5/30/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #196)

  1. That’s an adorable story Gratiana! Heatwave and all! People spend a lifetime never meeting a person that can offer them a nice long hug at the end of a bad day :)

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    The beauty of being pursued.

    Like

  3. servetus says:

    Hope today works out better. It’s supposed to be cooler here, anyway.

    Like

    • Hi Serv,
      Thanks for your nice note. It is cooler–only in the high 70’s so far this morning. But if it hits 82, then I’m heading home. Ha! Have a good day yourself.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Fabi says:

    Poor Grati’s hubby…
    *giggles*

    Like

  5. Brandi Tiapula says:

    That is soooo sweet! I just love sexy couples. :) :)

    Like

    • Hi Brandi,
      Thanks for your nice note! I’m sure my hubby and I are very tame–compared to the love scene writing of others. Ha! But we love each other sweetly, tenderly, adoringly, and passionately. Sighhhh!
      Cheers! Grati ;->
      P.S. Okay, now I’m going to turn around three times and spit–so the gods won’t be jealous. Ha!

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

