“Windblown” Richard Armitage (in a 2007 Portrait) Quietly Smoulders, 6/1612 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #209)

I colloquially refer to this 2007 Portrait of Richard Armitage as “Windblown RA”.  This is
one of my favorite portraits of Mr. Armitage because he seems so natural and unposed–his hair is caught by the wind, with wisps of hair blowing across his brow.    And he exudes a casual ease and confidence here that is neither arrogant nor brash–unlike some of his dramatic character portrayals.

Richard Armitage’s face is turned to look at us–I love his direct into the camera lens gazes–as if we had asked him a question and he is contemplating an answer.  But then, he decides to be circumspect and he demures–thereby increasing his mystery for us.

Also in this portrait, Richard Armitage possesses the barest hint of a smile that is not quite peeking through–perhaps it is a smile that he is trying to hide so carefully behind his brooding gaze.  For me, this betokens a man with an inner reserve of mirth.  And I, for one, love to see and hear him laugh.  This powerfully strong man with a classically trained booming velvety baritone voice who melts our hearts and inspires our imaginations with his storytelling, has a light hearted and lilting laugh that is quite endearingly charming.  Here is the brief video collection of a few examples of Richard Armitage laughing by Britu21, and titled “Richard Armitage” Ha-ha-ha!”:

And though leaning his back against the wall in this portrait shot (flipped), Richard Armitage  is also leaning forward–as if to minimize his tall self somewhat.   Or perhaps, he might wish to whisper something in someone’s ear–as if it is too private to be shared out loud.  Were I to guess his intended remark, I would suggest that he might simply say “Lovely to meet you” as the well brought up gentleman and the kind and gentle man that he projects.  Mr. Armitage is always unfailingly polite and courteous in his media interviews.  And his costars have positively glowed about RA.  Lucy Griffiths comes to mind, but maybe she had a little crush on Richard Armitage.  I certainly couldn’t blame her.  Ha!

In a moment, Richard Armitage will turn  and continue walking down the street–just an everyday bloke to himself, unnoticed in the crowds rushing past.  And I suspect, that he likes it that way.

Here is the RANet image link  for the “Windblown RA Portrait”  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Richard/Promos/2007%20Promo/slides/ChrisFloyd02.html

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “Windblown” Richard Armitage (in a 2007 Portrait) Quietly Smoulders, 6/1612 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #209)

  1. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    This pic is one of my favorites too. And you did a nice intepretation of it.
    Sometimes I wonder if Mr. Armitage really exists. Like that song, he’s “just too good to be true, can’t take my eyes off of” him. ♥♥♥
    *sigh*

    Like

  2. bccmee says:

    I like it when RA looks directly into the camera too. :D

    Like

    • Hi Bccmee,
      Thanks for your nice note. Gazing into someone’s eyes is intensely personal–eyes are the windows to the soul. And though there is no “gazing” going on in real life–only virtually–Richard Armitage’s forthright gazes are still very arresting and provocative.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. Pingback: Legenda 31: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  4. Pingback: “The Lords of the North: She Took My Hand” a Richard Armitage Audiobook Reading Excerpt, 11/07/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #302) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

