Fun Day Sunday Love Fest: How I Met My Sweetheart 24 Years Ago, 6/17/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #210)

Life can be mundane one minute and then surprise you so completely that your whole world changes in the next minute.   Such was the case for me 24 years ago today–when I met my future husband, and love bloomed in our hearts.

As I have written about earlier, I didn’t really date before I met my husband.  Such that my being a lady in my late twenties then, I had kind of resigned myself to being alone–never to be able to take advantage of discounts for two offers, being always the friend, and yes being always the bridesmaid.  Sighhhh!   And I had served as three bridesmaids and a flower girl by that point–though not in that order.  Ha!  I had also attended even more weddings of friends and family.   Coupling up was what everyone around me did–but me, it seemed.

Then one uneventful Friday, I went out for cocktails and then dinner with two girlfriends.   We stopped at a local restaurant bar’s happy hour where some other friends of ours were and the rest is history–as I have also written about earlier here.  My future hubby was sitting at the opposite end of a very long table with about 20 people at it.  His gleaming smile captured my heart.  And after we began dating a week later, we have been together ever since–though let me hasten to add, not in the biblical sense, not right away anyway.  Ha!    I was a good girl.  And my hubby and I giggled that we would have to come up with another first meeting scenario for our kids–that didn’t take place in a restaurant bar.  But since we had no kids, we fudge a bit on where we met with our nieces and nephews.  Ha!

Life and love should be joyous–and ours is.  This is not to say that our life is perfect and rosey.  There are household chores, bills to be paid, demands on our time, and other difficulties and sorrows.  And of course, we have each had to learn to overlook the others’ faults and failings.

But I have decided that I am not going to get “my nighty in a knot” that he:
1)  squeezes the middle of the toothpaste tube, uses the last of an item and doesn’t tell me it needs to be replaced (such as bar soap, shampoo is not akin to body wash, ha!); and/or keeps trying to get me to eat more (seriously, it gets annoying  ha!); “hoovers” what I might have liked to save for food leftovers from our meals because he has worked up an appetite with a 10 mile bicycle ride, well he is 6 ft 4 inches tall and needs his nourishment, ha!;
2)  does a Gypsy Rose Lee striptease act when he comes home from bicycling before he takes his shower (well actually, I rather like that one, ha!);  and,
3)   has turned our garage into an impromptu bicycle repair shop as he happily tinkers away;

Similarly, he tolerates my:
1)  wish to recycle as much product packaging as we can (though I wish I could get him to take it to the collection boxes in town after I have bundled them,  ha!; happily, curbside recycling starts soon in our town);
2)  domination of our clothes closets (actually all the closets but one, ha!); and
3)  arctic blast tendencies–I like our home chilly so that I can bundle up under the bed covers;  but that’s where he comes in again, too, since he is always warm and toasty to cuddle with.

Despite the above sample of minimal annoyances, my hubby is my heartfelt lover and my best friend.  And we know that we can rely on each other, support each other, and love each other come what may.

Love and friendship are the daily gifts that we give to each other.  As our marriage vows stated:  “To have and to hold, from this day forward, for better for worse, for richer for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish until death do us part.”

What made that ordinary day my hubby and I met turn extraordinary back on June 17, 1988?   I have no Earthly idea–except that I was ready not to be alone any more.  And I was receptive to his overtures and willing to balance my needs and wishes with his, as he does with me.  He actually “chased” me–he still does, as I do him.   I freely admit that I got extremely lucky when I met my future hubby.  My husband is a dear sweet man of honor, love, faith, passion, caring, and humor.  And we laugh as much as we love–which is considerable.

As I told a college friend once, the fateful day when I met my hubby was the best day of my life–except for every day after that.   My college friend said “that I was so sweet that his teeth fell out.”  Ha!  Dear readers, I hope that your teeth don’t fall out in reading this post.  But I do hope that you also find yourselves a love of a lifetime.  And I wish for you every happiness that you wish for yourselves.

And here is a lovely song to close with, “You’re the Inspiration” sung by Peter Cetera and Chicago (video with lyrics by BrandonCleaver22):

P.S.  Now, if you are so inclined, please share your own love story about how you met your spouse, lover, partner.  And I would also love to hear about their faults, too.  We can commiserate.  Ha!

P.S.  And a Happy Father’s Day in the U.S.–to those whom we love and to those whom we remember.

References not stated/linked elsewhere

Image of Grati and her hubby kissing just after we were wed is courtesy of us.

You’re the Inspiration” sung by Peter Cetera and Chicago (video with lyrics by BrandonCleaver22) was found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wM-XhQeFzW4

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Fun Day Sunday, Love and Relationships, My Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fun Day Sunday Love Fest: How I Met My Sweetheart 24 Years Ago, 6/17/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #210)

  1. Kitty says:

    I love your story, Gratiana. My favorite about it is that it is still being scripted, as is mine. I’ve known my Prince all my life. We met as little ones on the floor in the nursery @ church. But our families have a history that existed before we met. His grandfather owned & farmed hundreds of acres of land back in the ’20’s – 50’s. My grandfather was a poor share cropper who farmed a few rocky acres, owned by a rich doctor, adjoining his grandfather’s property. My grandmother died from complications of giving birth to my daddy, her 5th child; upon her death, my daddy was sent to my Prince’s grandmother who cared for him – she probably acted the wet nurse as she was caring for her own little one, too. A monument of sorts – the remains of a fire place and chimney of the house in which my daddy was born – stands on the property next to our home. Those rocks remind me that my Prince and I were meant to be together. The cement that holds those rocks in place is like the cement that holds my love to me. Like Vince Gill sang, “We’ll go down in history.”

    Like

    • Hi Kitty,
      I love your story of you and your prince! I believe you were and are fated to be together. And please extend my sympathies to him that he never knew his mother, but it sounds like he had a wonderful grandmother.

      The remnants of his home that you describe is quite touching. Places we live in always remain in our hearts–even long after we no longer live there. Perhaps it is the collective memories we hold dear that gives these places meaning for us–a talisman to our pasts.

      May you and your prince continue in your loving journey through life as soul mates, partners, lovers, and friends for all of your years.

      Love and Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. servetus says:

    A sweet story!

    Like

  3. I really enjoy reading about your life, Gratiana! It’s a lovely story. It made me think of all the people that we are destined to meet, love and support. These can be lovers, family friends. Without them are life really is meaningless :)

    Like

  4. Dear Readers,
    I have been experiencing connection to WordPress difficulties this weekend. So if my Monday post of the next chapters “Fire & Ice” is delayed until Monday evening (CST), you’ll know why.
    Thanks! Grati ;->

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

