Sexy Saturday, Richard Armitage Style: Sexy is as Sexy Does, 6/30/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #219)

The phrase “Sexy is as sexy does”  plays off the phrase, “beauty is as beauty does” [(1)].  Meaning, that doing beautiful  things–being kind, caring, dedicated, intelligent, talented, loving, etc.–makes a person beautiful.   A person’s beautiful  acts transcend and transform their physical appearance.

So by extending the metaphor,  a person doing sexy things–either intentionally or unintentionally–becomes sexy for us,  their loving caress of our cheek, the way their lips brush ours for  a gentle kiss, and the way they hold us in their arms cuddling lovingly, etc.

We often say that British actor Richard Armitage (RA) is beautiful and sexy–perhaps especially when he is not necessarily  trying to be either.  Richard Armitage just is beautiful and sexy–classically handsome, self-effacingly charming, exquisitely talented, socially aware, and possessing a searing gaze of azure blue eyes that beckon us to know more of him.  Though for myself, this particular Richard Armitage gaze  [(2) right] into the camera lens is so intense that I sometimes bashfully look away.  Perhaps RA channeling the Thorin scowl in this portrait here is off putting in its fierceness to me.  But yet, It is still one of my favorite portraits of his–distilling his dramatic character personae into one man, complex, mysterious, and elusive, a fleeting ethereal moment preserved in time.

And yet, other portraits of Richard Armitage display a sense of lightheartedness, mirth, even joy [(3) below].  I am captivated and drawn to these smiling Richard portraits–however faint the smile–because I sense that these portraits are the daily Richard, reserving drama and angst for his character portrayals, but seeking peace and contentment in his own life.  And yes, Richard Armitage remains firmly fixed in my thoughts as a gentleman and a gentle man–despite some of his rough and tumble heroic action adventure roles.   No, I am not psychic and this is pure conjecture on my part.  But, the kindness in Richard Armitage’s eyes  in most of the portraits below are very beautiful and very sexy to me.

So what sexy beautiful thing(s) does Richard Armitage and/or his characters do–or say– that you find beautiful and sexy?

The floor is open for your comments.   Pictures are welcome (of the PG-13 variety, I hasten to add).
Cheers!   Grati  ;->

P.S.  And to close here is Elvira Sweeney’s hauntingly beautiful tribute to Richard Armitage’s complex and nuanced character portrayal of Sir Guy of Gisborne in Robin Hood (BBC 2006 – 2009) in a video [(4) below] titled “Guy of Gisborne–‘Truly a Thing of Beauty 2’ – Richard Armitage”:

References

(1)     The phrase “beauty is as beauty does” was explained at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beauty_Is_As_Beauty_Does

(2)     This cropped and zoomed Project Magazine July 2011 photoshoot, pix 7, photographer was Matt Holyoak and was found at  www.RichardArmitageNet.com

(3)     The collage slide of Richard Armitage portraits as himself is from the RAFN 1st Anniversary video created by Gratiana Lovelace 6/24/12.  The images are courtesy of www.RichardArmitageNet.com and Catherine (CathoNZ) who met RA recently.

(4)     “Guy of Gisborne–‘Truly a Thing of Beauty 2’ – Richard Armitage”, a video by Elvira http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzNhrbVbXE0

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Richard Armitage, Sir Guy of Gisborne. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sexy Saturday, Richard Armitage Style: Sexy is as Sexy Does, 6/30/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #219)

  1. bccmee says:

    Definitely the fact that RA is so modest and unaware of his sex appeal that makes him sexier. He even wrote autographs at the recent theater fundraiser with his character’s name in parentheses since he supposes nobody knows who he is.

    Like

    • I agree Bccmee!
      And his autographing the book as you mentioned is hilarious! RA is not going to be “anonymous”–even in his own mind–much longer, once The Hobbit film comes out. Watch out world, here comes Richard Armitage!
      And I surmise that he will handle the ramped up attention about him beautifully–with maturity, poise, and grace–as befits the gentleman he is.
      But oh my! He is in for a whirlwind!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. Pingback: Legenda 33: Stuff worth reading « Me + Richard Armitage

  3. Teuchter says:

    He is “Truly A thing of Beauty” – as shown in what has to be one of my favourite Guy videos. The music of Faure’s “Pavane” seems perfect for it somehow. I think if his beauty was only of the outward kind we might find ourselves less enamoured by him than we are, but he also has that inner beauty that seems to defy description.

    Like

  4. fitzg says:

    I can’t imagine that a man as intelligent as we have always seen in interviews is no longer unaware of his sex appeal. I suspect that he has been learning to deal with a widening fandom, and copes with it in a manner that fits his own (non-character) personality and doesn’t get in the way of professional aspirations. For anyone who has experienced a tricky adolescence (too tall and gawky/too short and heavy/ too not quite in the mainstream?) it is an adjustment. I think he is coping nicely. :D And he seems a very decent chap!

    Cheers Grati – and Mr. A!

    Like

    • A good insight, Fitzg!
      Perhaps it is wanting to be a member of the group and not seem to stand out and be set apart from others–not wishing them to feel slighted–that is at work. I am speaking of myself and not Mr. Armitage.

      I was and am of the too short and too heavy variety. I was never the one chosen first, usually last for social activities–except academically (English, science, and math) where I excelled. So I was geekily awkward as a teen and I only found my voice and sense of self when I was in college performing on my university speech team–literature and original speeches. Having 8 different events one presents 3 times or more each tournament (if you break into finals, you perform a fourth time), means that a person is performing 24 or more times in a weekend tournament. And we went to different university tournaments nearly every week throughout the school year. It is a baptism by fire that trains you to do the best that you can, take your lumps, and celebrate your successes.

      But celebrate quietly. Though my university speech team was quite successful–it remains among the top five university speech teams nationally–we were always careful not to brag or boast about our accomplishments, lest others get jealous or feel slighted. I was not “a star” on my speech team, I hasten to add–I was merely someone who benefited tremendously from stretching my abilities and gaining the wonderful friendships I made that remain to this day.

      So although I might have professional awards hanging on my office wall at work, I still demure and sincerely give credit to the teamwork of my colleagues when others praise me. I am mindful of not wanting to stand apart from my colleagues. And I truly feel blessed for the kindness of people in my personal and professional lives. So I recognize that construct in other people.

      So back to Richard Armitage. His genuine humility as a talented actor and storyteller is refreshing in a world of entertainment artists who are too full of themselves. And Mr. Armitage’s maturity of years and experiences will, no doubt, help him weather any upcoming media and new fans fascination about him. I wish every good thing for Mr. Armitage that he wishes for himself.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

