“Fun Day Sunday: ‘Rain Drops on Roses’–A Song to Cheer Our Hearts”, 7/08/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #225)

As those of you know who visit my blog here with any regularity, I am the perennially happy and cheerful blogger.  Hey!  I even named my blog “Something About Love” as a nod to my positive outlook on life.  Ha!  And I think that my copious use of exclamation points are a clear indication of my upbeat mood 99.99% of the time.

But to be truthful to myself–and to those of you who might struggle with finding your own inner cheer–sometimes finding my happy center is hard won.  Life isn’t always a bowl of cherries.  Life and love are full of joys and sorrows.

So today, on a Fun Day Sunday, I feel like spreading some much needed cheer–to myself and to others–with a song from the Rodgers and Hammerstein’s film “The Sound of Music” [(1) and right] starring and sung by the unparalleled British actress and singer Julie Andrews.

So, I hope that you enjoy this light-hearted song “Rain Drops on Roses ( My Favorite Things)” and its optimistic outlook reminding all of us that there is happiness to be found in our lives–and blessings to be thankful for–even when life is not all that we would wish it to be.

Cheers!   Grati  ;->

“My Favorite Things – Julie Andrews” in a video by Film e popcorn [(2) below]:

And here are the lyrics [(3) below] to the song “My Favorite Things” sung by Julie Andrews from “The Sound of Music”:

My Favorite Things

raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
brown paper packages tied up with strings
these are a few of my favorite things

cream-colored ponies and crisp apple strudels
doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
these are a few of my favorite things

girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
silver-white winters that melt into springs
these are a few of my favorite things

when the dog bites
when the bee stings
when I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
and then I don’t feel so bad…
these are a few of my favorite things

when the dog bites
when the bee stings
when I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
and then I don’t feel so bad…”

And the reprise of the song in the film “The Sound of Music” is also heartwarming and touching.  The scene is when Fraulein Maria returns to the Von Trapp Family home and the children she lovingly takes care of–after having left them and staying at the convent for a time.  The children welcome her home to them with open arms and open hearts.

“Sound of Music – My favorite things” in a video by machro1993 [(4) below]:

References

1)       “The Sound of Music” is a Rogers and Hammerstein musical, with a Lindsay and Crouse book that was made into the wildly popular film starring Julie Andrews in 1965.  For more information, visit http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sound_of_Music_(film); the movie poster image was found at  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Sound_of_music.jpg

2)       Replacement video, Jan. 29, 2015 due to a broken link:  “Julie Andrews – My Favorite Things” a video by Film e popcorn, of the song “Raindrops on Roses (My Favorite Things” from the Rogers and Hammerstein musical “The Sound of Music” was found at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=33o32C0ogVM

3)       Lyrics to “My Favorite Things” by Rodgers and Hammerstein in the musical film “The Sound of Music” were found at http://easylyrics.org/?artist=Julie+Andrews&title=My+Favorite+Things

4)       “Sound of Music – My favorite things”, a reprise scene of the song in the Rodgers and Hammerstein musical film in a video by machro1993 was found at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ikpj24WMOLw

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in movies, Music, My Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Fun Day Sunday: ‘Rain Drops on Roses’–A Song to Cheer Our Hearts”, 7/08/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #225)

  1. What a great choice song! It’s a favorite of mine, especially when Alice boasted she knows all the words to the song in VOD! I always think of it when there’s a nasty storm :)

    Like

  2. bccmee says:

    Somehow Richard Armitage and music go hand-in-hand. ♫ ♫ ♪ Or perhaps mouth-to-mouth.

    Like

    • I heartily agree with you, Bccmee!
      Wouldn’t Richard Armitage make a wonderful Captain Georg Von Trapp? Singing edel weiss. Sighhhh!
      But we would need to find a songbird for Fraulein Maria who not only sounded angelic, but also looked angelic to play opposite him. Hmmm.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. Kitty says:

    I love your phrase, “finding your own inner cheer”, Gratiana. How right you are. We are solely responsible for our own happiness, cheer, joy no matter our circumstances or situations. We place a lot of responsibility on that perfect someone who will come along and “make us happy” when it isn’t guaranteed that “someone” will always be there dishing out our happiness. We must first be proactive in becoming an individual who trusts and believes in herself. All of us do not nor will ever have a life partner. Wouldn’t it be sad that one would think she could only be happy with a significant other in her life. It would be wonderful if believed that we have it in our power to contribute to the lives of others, thereby lending the map for others to find their their “inner cheer.” Bravo, Gratiana, bravo.

    Like

    • Hi Kitty,
      Thanks for your lovely note. I agree with you whole heartedly. Life is what we make of it. We can choose how we respond to life’s sometimes trying events and turn them into something positive–though it might take a while.

      My least favorite word is “regret”–because it connotes either a disappointment with what has happened or a wish unfulfilled. Things may not always turn out as we expect or want, but maybe it was “meant” to happen that way.

      As Fraulein Maria says in “The Sound of Music”, “When God closes a door, somewhere he opens a window.” So I believe in opening those windows and looking at the possibilities beyond them.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

