Lucas North’s Walk to Freedom: Come Away with Me, 7/10/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #227)

I doubt few of us watched the scene of a gaunt Lucas North being released from 8 years of hell in a Russian prison in Spooks series 7, episode 1 without being struck by the sheer force of will it would have taken anyone to survive that ordeal.

What inner reserves of fortitude and self-preservation does a person have to possess to withstand the deprivation, the torture, and the despair that Lucas must have felt?  How does a person heal from such a thing?  Or as I say to my friends who grieve a loss, maybe Lucas  didn’t get “over” it, he got “through” it–to come out on the other side.  Damaged, abandoned, wary, reticent, hopeful–these and other emotions seemed to swirl in Lucas’ reentered life.

And Richard Armitage’s searing character portrayal of Lucas North in Spooks (2008-2010) was a man who almost didn’t survive–even to the point of RA of losing so much weight himself to portray Lucas’ gaunt visage that I cringe to see some of the early photos of Lucas–instantly claimed our hearts.  Well, my heart anyway.  You’ll have to speak for yourselves.  What is it about Lucas North as a character that makes us connect with him in such a visceral way?

Personally?   I want to bundle up Lucas and take him home for a nice hot shower and then a soaking hot bath as I massage his neck and shoulders to ease the tension out of them.  Then he’ll put on new fresh clothes, have a solid meat and potatos meal, and then cuddle with me in front of the fireplace.  And I gently caress his face as he drifts off to sleep in my arms he is so exhausted mentally and physically.    But now, Lucas is safe and nothing can harm him.  And I whisper to Lucas my faith in him to find his way again:   “Close your eyes, you’ll remember.”

P.S.  And while Lucas slept, this song would play:

norah jones – come away with me (HD HQ audio sound), a video by Leo Vittorio2006

NB:  The closing  Lucas North quote–“Close your eyes, you’ll remember.”  is from the BBC’s Spooks series 9 (2010).

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Lucas, Richard Armitage, Spooks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lucas North’s Walk to Freedom: Come Away with Me, 7/10/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #227)

  1. I agree Grati, you just want to stick him in some clean PJ’s, wrap him up warm and feed him soup. If we accept season 9, and the whole John malarkey, his 8 years in the Russian prison could be seen as his atonement for his crimes. If we disspell it, Lucas was, after all, an MI5 operative, and would have been trained to withstand all types of torture. It makes it no less heartbreaking, though. I think the attempted suicide is even more painful to watch. Here we see Lucas cracking down :(
    I like the way you think Grati! Nothing a woman’s care and gentle touch couldn’t cure! :)

    Like

    • Hi Pin Up,
      Thanks for your lovely and insightful comments about Lucas! I still believe in Lucas and I am writing a fan fiction story based on the identity question that I call “Lucas, True North”. I hope to serialize it here on my blog sometime in the Fall.

      And TLC is all any man wants and needs–speaking from my limited experience of one. Ha! They may be big and tall and gruff and stubborn sometimes. But when it comes right down to it, they are pussycats and love being gentle giants. Sighhhhh!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

