Guy Day Friday: “Shelter in My Arms”, A Guy and Marian Ficlet, 7/27/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #239)

Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne  in Robin Hood (BBC 2006-2009) brought to life a complex tragic soul whom many of us fell in love with.  In RH 2, episode 6, I suspect that Sir Guy has no more tears to shed.  Sir Guy is a man bereft of friendship, of love, of a sense of belonging in the world.  And it is the always fickle, unfaithful, disloyal Lady Marian–played to perfection by Lucy Griffiths–who forever spurns his overtures of love and goodwill–extinguishing what light of hope for goodness that remained in his heart.
Were I transported to Sir Guy’s time and place–inhabiting Lady Marian’s body–I as Lady Marian would mend Sir Guy’s broken heart and ease his burdens.   So, I offer you a brief tale of Guy and Marian.

                                “Shelter in My Arms”  by Gratiana Lovelace, 7/27/12

Sir Guy [(1) right] returns from his latest reprimand from the Sherriff–his eyes cast down, his spirits lost to shame and degradation.  I/Marian  wonder how much more of this existence Guy can take.   I caress his slightly stubbled face and guide him to gaze into my eyes and see the love that resides in my heart for him alone.

Marian:  “What is wrong, Guy?   Can I help?”  I ask solicitously [(2) left], trying to make amends for the many times I dismissed his pain without another thought–nor consideration for his feelings.

Guy:  “It is nothing for you to trouble yourself with.”   He stands erect and proud–though his mind is in turmoil.

Marian:  “Guy, we each choose wrong paths for different reasons.  You believe that I am fated to be yours–at all costs.   And I deceive you–and myself–when I do not admit my love for you.  Apart from each other, we are melancholy creatures, destined to wither and die.   But together, we might thrive anew as we learn to love each other.”

Guy:   Carressing my face now, Guy beseeches me [(3) right].  “Dearest Marian, I desire you above all women.  Though, I know I do not deserve you.   If you could but grant me a precious moment in time, thinking you were mine, I would cherish our love until my dying breath.”

Marian:  Hesitatingly, I surrender.  “Guy, I have no more excuses, no more feeble attempts to delay us from being together.  I know now that your love for me is true.  My only wish is that my love for you will meet your love in equal measure.    I pay my debt to you with a gladful heart.   Ask of me, and I shall grant what you ask–I am not afraid.”  Though her trembling belies this last statement.

Guy opens his arms wide and I nestle into his leather doublet covered chest as he wraps his arms around me.  He kisses my forehead.

Guy:  “This is what I ask of you–to shelter in my arms, to feel our hearts beat as one, and to promise me that you will not pull away from me before I pull away from you–and that I will never do.”

Marian:  “Guy, teach me how to love you–to ease your troubled heart, to make your countenance merry, and to let me see your eyes shine with joyful purpose.

Guy:  “Marian, my beloved!”

Guy slowly lowers his face to mine [(4) left] and his lips ever so softly graze my own lips–before his kisses become urgent and needful, claiming me for his heart as I claim him for my heart.

And our unspoken heartfelt love mingles with our tears of joy as we begin our lovers’ dance [(5) right].

References

1)       Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne in the BBC’s Robin Hood (2006-2009), series 2, episode 6 (pix 103) was found at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode6/slides/rh206_103.html

2)       Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne in the BBC’s Robin Hood (2006-2009), series 2, episode 6 (pix 102) was found at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode6/slides/rh206_102.html

3)       Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne in the BBC’s Robin Hood (2006-2009), series 2, episode 6 (pix 156) was found at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode6/slides/rh206_156.html

4)       Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne in the BBC’s Robin Hood (2006-2009), series 2, episode 6 (pix 153) was found at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode6/slides/rh206_153.html

5)       Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne in the BBC’s Robin Hood (2006-2009), series 2, episode 8 (pix 142) was found at  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode8/slides/rh208_142.html

P.S.  I know you were expecting another installment of my original story “Fire & Ice”–and you shall have it on Monday.  But sometimes, I like to revisit Sir Guy and Lady Marian.    Hence today’s ficlet.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Love and Relationships, Richard Armitage, Robin Hood, Romance, Sir Guy of Gisborne and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guy Day Friday: “Shelter in My Arms”, A Guy and Marian Ficlet, 7/27/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #239)

  1. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    This is a very pleasant way to start my Friday! Thank you for bringing back Guy and Marian, I always loved them as a couple.

    Like

  2. AJ Daisy says:

    Oh Grati that was lovely. Sir Guy is still my favourite character. Thank you so much

    Like

    • Hi AJ Daisy,
      Thanks for your nice note. Although the role of John Thornton was my introduction to Richard Armitage’s talented acting and compelling storytelling–and his role ofJohn Standring also holds a special place in my heart–RA’s searing portrayal of Sir Guy captivates and mesmirizes me as the tragic anti-hero he became.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. I loved this, Grati.Lovely Grati! This is was really romantic! Guy had everything to be a good man. Deep inside him he wasn´t a bad person.But without one to love him , the greed by the power talked louder,unfortunately.

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,
      So true. Guy’s path was full of missteps and misdirections–because he had no one to guide him and support him. If he had, is life would have been so very different. And he would have been the better man we all knew he was capable of, through the subtle glimpses of his humanity that Richard Armitage shared with us in his portrayal of Sir Guy.

      Love can overcome all obstacles. There is no need for power, wealth, or position when one has love–because love is everything.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

