“The Hobbit Trifecta, Team Durin, and Becoming Thorin”, 8/01/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #242)

1) Can we contain our joy?  As reported on RANet [(1)], Sir Peter Jackson and company have made “Christmas in July”–on July 30th to be precise–by revealing that a deal has been worked out to film more of “The Hobbit” story and combine it with existing footage to create a third film:

https://www.facebook.com/notes/the-hobbit/peter-jacksons-long-awaited-filmed-adaptation-of-the-hobbit-to-be-a-trilogy/413954741973470

Though I don’t place bets on horses, this Hobbit trifecta–win, place, and what is sure to be a wonderful show–is a film series that I can get excited about!

2) With only four months to go until the premiere of the first film–“The Hobbit:  An Unexpected Journey”–here is a quick primer of sorts.  Can you name all “The Hobbit” Dwarfs yet without peeking?  Yeah, me too.  I always forget Oin and Gloin.  Sorry fellas.  Ha!  Here is a refresher Dwarf lineup image first published on TORN and courtesy of RANet:

This photo of the Dwarfs makes me think of “my dream baseball team”–a fantasy musing that guys sometimes do by putting what they consider to be the best players from different baseball team eras together.  It’s just that with “The Hobbit” Dwarfs, they’re all from the same era–Middle Earth.   So “The Hobbit” baseball team–the Deadly Durins?–would definitely have to play in an international fantasy league.  Ha!  And 13 Dwarfs is more guys than the 9 you need on a baseball team–so three Dwarfs have to sit out and rotate in.  How about Ori, Dori, and Nori?  And Dwalin looks like he’s the Umpire.  It just occurred to me that Thorin looks like he is ready to bat.  Bombur might make a great catcher–or his beard braid would.  Bofur looks like he’s ready to throw that axe–so I’ll make him the pitcher.   For 1st, 2nd, and 3rd bases, let’s have the formidable looking Bifur, Oin, and Gloin, respectively.  I’m saving the youthful and athletic looking Kili and Fili for left and right field.  The magnficient warrior king Thorin Oakenshield would be center field when he is not at bat.   And we need a short stop–sorry Balin, that is what the position is called.  Ha!  Any thoughts on another name for this Fantasy baseball team?

3) Finally, I was perusing the RANet Hobbit image resources–the Hobbit stills , the Hobbit 4th Production video, and the Hobbit trailer image galleries–and I was struck once more by the variety in  Thorin  Oakenshield’s look [(3)].

This Thorin transformation was alluded to by Richard Armitage who portrays this character in different interviews–most recently focusing on the development of the character of Thorin at Entertainment Weekly [(4)] as quoted below:

“There are elements of Tolkien’s description of Thorin that I’m trying to
evolve,” says Armitage. ”I’m trying to make him more human and less
cantankerous the entire journey.”

Thorin is a character who takes us on his journey.  And I wonder if some of this change in Thorin’s look might also be attributed to The Hobbit films containing some flashbacks of the young Thorin as a preface to his struggles and why this quest is so important to him?    I’m just speculating here.  But whichever portrait of Richard Armitage portraying Thorin Oakenshield appeals to you, I think we can safely say that this is one man/Dwarf that we all want to meet come December 2012.

References

(1)     RANet (www.RichardArmitageNet.com) July 30th Hobbit News was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/news.html#july30

(2)     Dwarfs rogues gallery was first published on TORN (www.theonering.net) and is courtesy of RANet at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitStills/album/slides/12-Dwarves-MockUp-TORn.html

(3)      All Thorin images were courtesy of RANet (www.RichardArmitageNet.com) and found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitStills/album/index.html ; http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/4thProdVideo/album/index2.html ; and http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/HobbitTrailer/album/index.html

(4)     Entertainment Weekly article of July 7, 2012, “Hobbit:  Meet the Dwarfs” was found at http://www.ew.com/ew/gallery/0,,20483133_20609256,00.html#21181396

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to “The Hobbit Trifecta, Team Durin, and Becoming Thorin”, 8/01/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #242)

  1. phylly3 says:

    Love your Thorin collage! He certainly does look different in each picture. I have been curious about that too!

    Like

    • Hi phyll3,
      Thanks for your nice note! And “snag away” on the collage. I embedded the images’ general citation info at the bottom of the collage so folks could also retrieve the original images if they wanted to.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    I love your collage too!
    Re: the baseball team, what about “Erebor Axes”, or maybe “Erebor Bad-Asses”? (Ops, I hope that isn’t bad language!) :)

    Like

    • Hi Fabi,
      Thanks for your nice note! What can I say? I just love seeing portraits of Richard Armitage characters in one place. Ha!
      And I like your proposed team name: Erebor Axes!
      Cheers! Grati ;->
      P.S. FYI. Your other team name suggestion does have one word that is a “vulgarity”–though it might be in wide use. So you are right to be cautious about using it. Ha!

      Like

  3. jazzbaby1 says:

    The Tolkein Thunder?

    Like

  4. bccmee says:

    Maybe the baseball will be the Arkenstone. You’ve made a fun comparison to the great game of baseball!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

