Surrender My Heart (a poem), 10/03/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #283)

Surrender My Heart (a poem), 10/03/12 Gratiana Lovelace

I find it is no use.
My thoughts will not be suppressed,
However much my wants and needs must be left unfulfilled.

My heart yearns for you,
Your voice, your gaze, your touch.
Yet, your presence unnerves me.

Even now, I hesitate.
To declare this love I have
Risks rejection–or worse, indifference

For my beloved is unaware
Of the power wielded over me.
How my heart has been captured.

I am your prisoner, unable to flee,
Not wanting my freedom,
Preferring the chains of love that bind me.

Until you came into my life,
I did not think me capable of love.
I am still suspect of its truth.

Yet, my agony is the proof
Of a love so deep, and unreturned,
It wounds my very soul.

But I love you still.
You cannot take it from me.
Though, you will not give it to me.

But it is mine to give to you.
And so, I willingly surrender my heart.
It is yours forever.

                                                         References

N.B The logo is a composite of two images, courtesy of RANet:
http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasontwo/Episode10/slides/rh210_090.html ; and http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/Series1Promo/album/slides/ep11-3.html

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, poem, Richard Armitage, Robin Hood, Romance, Sir Guy of Gisborne and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Surrender My Heart (a poem), 10/03/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #283)

  1. april73 says:

    Very lovely poem Gratiana. :-)

    Like

  2. Tereza says:

    Sublime! When I was reading it, seemed I was seeing Guy declaring himself to Marian.

    Like

  3. Summer says:

    Beautiful, Grati! Wish I could write like you my lovely writer friends :)

    Like

    • Hi Summer,
      Thank you for your very kind note. You and others are so sweet!

      The character of Sir Guy–and Richard Armitage’s portrayal of this tortured, damaged, yet hopefully seeking man–inspires me.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Grati has a Major Technical Glitch!:
    My laptop died Thursday morning and we don’t have a backup. I’m at work at the moment. So I will be offline for a several days while I hope they can repair it. But it is 5 years old, so we might have to replace it–pricey, which might have to wait a bit.

    I will post and comment again as soon as I can. Thanks for understanding.

    Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. And I won’t have a computer to do my writing with–I am so not a pencil and paper writer. Ha! So, any bets on when I start climbing the walls with not being able to write down my story continuation ideas? Ha!

    Like

    • april73 says:

      Ohhh, bad news… :-(

      I hope that they can repair your laptop. :-)

      Like

      • Thanks April!
        My go to computer guys think they might have my laptop up and running by Friday PM. Fingers crossed. It’s 5 years old–ancient in the life of a computer. Ha!
        I really don’t want to have to buy a new laptop any time soon. That would be the fifth “applicance” we have had to replace in the last 2 years–washer, dryer, 2 microwaves, refrigerator. Yikes!
        Cheers! Grati ;->

        Like

  5. titianminx says:

    Grati your love poem is very good. Thanks for posting it. I am looking forward to reading more articles. Hope you don’t have to replace your laptop. I too have had a run of replacing “white goods”, etc. My mum died exactly a year ago and since then everthing has gone wrong. Been very rough financially and emotionally.
    Keep up your wonderful writing. I have enjoyed it.

    Like

    • Hi titianminx,
      Thanks for your nice note about my poem and my blog. I’m glad that you’re enjoying them.

      I’m sorry to hear about your Mum’s passing. Please accept my condolences. October is also a sad anniversary month for me as well with my mother’s passing years ago. So I can relate. *Hugs*

      I know what you mean about being so dependent on technology and the expense–refrigerator’s, etc. But, it’s better than using a wash bin. Ha! Right now, my hubby and I are down to one car since mine literally blew a gasket last Spring (costing $2400 to fix, not happening). Being a one car family is an adjustment–I do a lot of ferrying around. But what else can you do? We live in a “country” subdivision. So the city buses don’t run out there. Hang in there yourself.

      Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

