Wild Card Wednesday: Real Life Rationalizations, 10/17/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #290)

Have you ever felt that your life was a see saw?  One minute you’re up and things are good, and the next minute you’re down and things are not so good.  Life is like that.  And lately it has been for me.   Mostly, the joy I have in writing my stories, reading others’ stories, chatting with my friends online, swimming laps (38 lengths of the pool in 35 minutes yesterday, snap!), and with my husband, etc., outweigh the mundane realities of everyday life.

Then again, those mundane realities are what keep our lives functioning and flourishing:

1)       Take my doggies, please.  Ha!  No really, feeding and walking doggies three times a day and more can be exhausting–or character building, if you want to spin it.  When someone or something is so totally dependant upon us, we need to be dependable.  We just have to suck it up and get on with it.  But then there are the perks–the joy that comes with their  wagging tails, them jumping into your arms, and their tongue baths waking you up in the morning.  Now now, I’m still talking about our four legged furry friends. *wink*

2)       Paying bills is a necessary evil.  When you use a service or consume a product, someone had to make it available to you.  And whether you have them paid via monthly EFT (electronic funds transfer), check , or credit card, there is the implied notion that you have the money to back those transactions up.  Really?  You have to have money in your account before you can buy something?   How novel!  Well, maybe a novella.  Ha!  At least there are online methods of payment that you can use without needing to write a check, address an envelope, and stick a stamp on said envelope.   And Employers’ paychecks seem to be deposited in your checking account only after the payments you have transacted have been deducted from your balance by the bank.   This might be referred to as bank kiting.  The bank wants to get the maximum amount of money out of you–and the interest on funds held in their bank.  So, they find the most complex ways imaginable of transacting business with you–and then charging you more fees for deigning to let you use your own money.  I’m not bitter, no, not at all.  Ever hear of usury?  Well you have now.

3)       Water.  We drink it, we clean with it, we float in it, we are it.  Well, about 57% of our bodies are comprised of water.  In the film “Dune”, water was so precious on the desert planet Arrakis that it was their form of currency and the focus of their conservation efforts since their survival depended upon water.  And if you’re like me, you have your chilled water bottle at the ready to quench your thirst.  Clean drinking water is so plentiful in many countries, that we take it for granted–that it will always be there.  But not everyone is so fortunate.  And, some communities near oceans have desalinization water plants that take the salt out of water and make it fit to drink.

4)       Fresh air.  And no ladies, I’m not talking about your husbands or sons–or maybe brothers–who ask you to pull their finger, only to have you regret it later.  Frankly, I wish my husband would give me that much warning.  At least he aims away from me.  Ha!    What is it with men after they hit 50?   They want to share a status report of their bodily functions with you all the time–aches, pains, wounds, in come and out go, etc.  Fellas, we ladies are only interested in one of your bodily functions–and the less talking, the better.  *wink*   But I digress.  As someone who has breathing  issues–sleep apnea, bronchitis/asthma, and a previously unknown allergy to propane that alerted everyone else in time to evacuate our building when someone’s science demonstration went awry, and a sensitivity to smelling clothes dryer coils that caught on fire before the smoke alarm could even begin to detect it–there are advantages to being akin to the canary in the coal mine.  I’m sure there are.  I just need a few minutes to come up with one.  Ha!

5)       Rationalization.  I saved the best for last.  Rationalizations are something that we absolutely cannot do without–at least I can’t do without them.  I rationalize that by hitting my snooze alarm I am gaining 10 minutes more of precious sleep–forgetting that it will bite me in my tush as I race to get to work later.  I rationalize that I miscounted my swim laps–because I was visualizing a certain someone [(right)]–and I should really be ahead.  Uh huh.  And have I mentioned that there was one muscular hottie at my gym’s pool who warmed up before swimming by doing push ups on the pool deck, right near the stairs?   It’s a wonder that I didn’t trip walking into the pool that day.  But then if I had tripped, I would only have been admiring the wonders of what nature hath wrought–muscular shoulders and back torso  mostly.  Sighhhhh!

There you have it.  Five seems a good stopping point.   The above is no Maslow’s Hierachy of Needs–from basic necessities to realizing your potential.  But it will do.  Besides, I want to write a little more on my new story.  So it makes sense to me to finish my post now.  *wink*

So what are some of your favorite rationalizations?

References

Kiting info was found at  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Check_kiting
Usury, a form of predatory lending with huge fees info is found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Usury

Body Water info was found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Body_water

Dune and water reference was found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fremen

Desalinization/desalination info is found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Desalination

Canary in the coal mine reference info is found at http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/canary_in_a_coal_mine

Richard Armitage portraying Lee Preston is found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/ColdFeet/ColdFeet5/album/slides/coldfeet_018.html

Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs info is found at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maslow%27s_hierarchy_of_needs

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Cold Feet, Richard Armitage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Wild Card Wednesday: Real Life Rationalizations, 10/17/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #290)

  1. Kitty says:

    Dearest Gratiana, I love you. We could have a long conversation over your five points, but I’ll just comment on one – clean drinking water. In the early years of our marriage, we lived in my hubby’s family’s “old home place”. The house was well over 150 years old w/ a well that was dug w/ a pick & shovel, removing the dirt one bucket @ a time. There was no cap on the well, which gave access to any vermin that might accidently fall into the well water & drown, thus making our drinking water contaminated w/ a decaying body, even if it was just a beetle. The pipes from the well weren’t planted too deeply in the ground – that ground on the northeast side of the house where the sun never shines. In bitterly cold winters those pipes would freeze, making them rupture. There were the many times a grain of sand would get into the foot valve of the pump which made the pump loose its prime and we would have no water. Needless to say, Hubby became an expert on well pumps and the plumbing that encompasses getting water from the well to the indoor faucets. I grew up in a house w/ no indoor plumbing, but we had good clean well water just outside our back door. All we had to do was lower the bucket to access it. Our bath was a tin tub. Our loo was just down the path (the toilet). So I appreciate good, clean water accessed by indoor plumbing. My heart aches for the millions who don’t have that luxury (yes, it’s a luxury to those who don’t have it). That’s why I always pack my Operation Christmas Child shoe box in a plastic shoe box – b/c the recipient can carry water in her plastic box. That’s why my heart nearly bursts when I think that our church was instumental in purchasing a well-drilling machine for a ministry in Nicaragua. That’s why I campaign for Samaritan’s Purse, an organization that see’s the physical need of clean drinking water. That’s rational. It just makes sense.

    Like

    • Good for you with your donations, Kitty!
      I especially like your idea of packing Christmas donations in plastic containers for carrying water in. I hadn’t thought of that one.
      Thanks also for reminding us that even within our own country, there are people who might not have easy access to clean, fresh water and plumbing. Your story reminds us to be grateful–and to also think about helping others when we can.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. jazzbaby1 says:

    I just want to say that I love Miss Kitty. And my favorite rationalization is that since coffee and chocolate come from beans they count toward my protein servings per day. :)

    Like

    • Giggles Jazzy!
      That is perfect! And another rationalization I have is that if someone else made a food item, then the calories don’t count. Snap!
      Cheers! Grati ;->
      P.S. But then, I count “drive through” food options as double calories to make up for that. Ha!

      Like

  3. servetus says:

    Sometimes deciding to take a nap rather than rereading my students’ homework every time before class — rationalization that my energy in discussion will make up for my hazy memory :(

    Like

    • Hi Servetus!
      That sounds very logical–the hallmark of a very good rationalization. And, by letting the students summarize their thoughts before their classmates, you are encouraging them to become more engaged with the class. Snap!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

