2 Years Ago Today Richard Armitage Announced to Portray Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit, 10/22/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #294)

Dear Readers,

I am forging new ground for me–two posts in one day.  But I could not let today’s (October 22, 2012)  anniversary go unnoticed.

You see, it was two years ago today–on October 22, 2010–that it was announced that British Actor Richard Crispin Armitage had won the lead role of Thorin Oakenshield in “The Hobbit”.

A flurry of media ensued about this choice–including Sir Peter Jackson sharing why he chose Mr. Armitage to portray Thorin.  Here is an excerpt shared by RANet:

“An abridged version of the article above is on the EW Popwatch site.

“Thorin Oakenshield is a tough, heroic character, and he certainly should give Leggie and Aragorn a run for their money in the heartthrob stakes — despite being four feet tall…Richard is a powerful actor with a wide range, and we’re very excited to be handing Thorin over to him. In this partnership, we need Richard to give us his depth, range, and emotion as an actor — and we’ll make him look like a dwarf!”   “

For more of the early and more recent articles about Richard Armitage’s portrayal of Thorin Oakenshield in “The Hobbit”, please visit RANet (their main page with portrait gallery links is  www.RichardArmitageNet.com):

http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/career/214.html

And for my own amusement, I created a wallpaper snapshot of those initial articles about Richard Armitage being cast as Thorin and some of the Thorin Oakenshield portrait images (courtesy of RANet) set against the background I created from The Hobbit Wallpaper generator (http://apps.warnerbros.com/thehobbit/wallpapergenerator/).

Congratulations to Richard Armitage!  And good choice to Sir Peter Jackson!

Cheers!   Gratiana Lovelace  ;->

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2 Years Ago Today Richard Armitage Announced to Portray Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit, 10/22/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #294)

  1. Pingback: Absolute utter unAdulterated Armitage Anniversary « Me + Richard Armitage

  2. Oh heck! I guess that I’ll add a shameless plug for a slideshow video I did in August 2011 that covered September 2010 – August 2011 as a look back at the 1st year Richard Armitage had with his Captain America and then beginning of The Hobbit film.

    Here is the link to my video “The Time of My Life” (A Richard Armitage Fan Video):

    Like

  3. D.J. says:

    Wow two years! Hard (and scary) to think it has been so long. I remember it being completely surreal when I first read about it (no way could they have brought two of my obsessions together so perfectly), and then being on a ridiculous high the rest of the week. I get flashbacks to that high each time a new image or bit of Thorin info surfaces. :-) After watching the film I will probably have to check into rehab.

    Like

    • Hi DJ32,

      I can’t believe it has been two years either. At the beginning, the time seemed to drag. Then Sir Peter came out with his vlogs that helped quench our thirst for all things Richard Armitage and The Hobbit!.

      And girlfriend, I’m going to be in the next private room with you in RehAb after the first film comes out! Giggles! But then, I always say that a little RA theRApy is devilishly good for the soul. Ha!

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      P.S. And for those who might not know, DJ32 is the Heirs of Durin blogger at http://www.thorinoakenshield.net Darkjackal32’s essays about “The Hobbit” are wonderful and have really helped me–an avowed Jane Austen girl–learn so much! I encourage you to check out her blog. You’ll be glad that you did!

      Like

    • And I have to add, DJ32,
      Patience, thy name is “Just a humble RA Fan”.
      And patience is not my strong suit. Ha!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Herba says:

    Reblogged this on Unkraut vergeht nicht….oder doch? und kommentierte:
    Einen Tag zu spät, aber ich bin gerade zu faul selbst was zu diesem Jahrestag zu schreiben….und kann es kaum fassen, dass ZWEI Jahre vergangen sind – die Zeit rennt. Und bald können wir uns im Kino selbst davon überzeugen, daß RA eine hervorragende Wahl für die Rolle ist. Dass das so ist, davon bin ich nämlich immer noch überzeugt :-)

    Like

  5. Pingback: Fun Day Sunday: Look Back, Look Back at Smouldering Thorin, and Looking Ahead for Richard Armitage, April 26, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #736) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

