Fun Day Sunday: Richard Armitage in “Ordeal by Innocence”–Did he or Didn’t he? 10/28/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #297)

Fun Day Sunday:  Richard Armitage as Philip Durrant in “Ordeal by Innocence”–Did he or Didn’t he? 10/28/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #297)

I love a mystery.  Growing up, I read and watched lots of mystery stories–especially Agatha Christies’ Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple detectives.

So I have been remiss in not viewing Richard Armitage’s foray into the Marple Murder Mystery realm in his role as Phillip Durrant in “Miss Marple:  Ordeal by Innocence” in 2007  [(1)].

In “Ordeal by Innocence”, Richard Armitage portrays philandering husband Philip Durrant with smirking success  [(2) right]–and he barely creases his dress shirt after a what was presumed to be a lusty lay with his wife’s sister [(3) left]–though he looks at the housekeeper and wonders if she suspects anything.

How do the Brits do that?  Have hot steamy sex–I’m just giving them the benefit of the doubt, and their population does keep growing. Ha!–and they still look freshly pressed.  Well, that is a question for another day. Though, the thought of unwrinkled clothing does bode well for apparel optional romantic trysts.   I hope that is not too saucy for a Fun Day Sunday.  Ha!

“Richard Armitage in “Ordeal by Innocence”” in a video of clips by AlisaGB  [(4) below] gives us a fore taste of the movie and certainly whets my appetite to see it and Richard Armitage’s performance.

The delicious question in my mind is “Did he or didn’t he?”   And just what exactly did he do?  You decide [(5) below].

And if you want the real story and you have a relaxing hour and a half to fill?  Here is the link to  a video of the first of 10 parts of “Miss Marple:  Ordeal by Innocence” by sauronsdaughter [(6) below]:

References

(1)     Here is the RANet career page about Richard Armitage portraying Philip Durrant in “Miss Marple:  Ordeal by Innocence”:  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/career/199.html

(2)     Richard Armitage portraying a smirking Philip Durrant in “Miss Marple:  Ordeal by Innocence” was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/marpleobi/album/marpleobi/marple_obi_014.jpg

(3)     Richard Armitage portraying a adulterously libidinous Philip Durrant in “Miss Marple:  Ordeal by Innocence” was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/marpleobi/album/marpleobi/marple_obi_007.jpg

(4)     “Richard Armitage in “Ordeal by Innocence”” in a video of clips by AlisaGB      https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UiWUjQdOg0

(5)     Richard Armitage portraying a smirking Philip Durrant in “Miss Marple:  Ordeal by Innocence” was found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/marpleobi/album/marpleobi/marple_obi_045.jpg

(6)     “Ordeal by Innocence – 1 of 10” by sauronsdaughter

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VVpHp7GGuaE&feature=fvwrel; you will find subsequent links with each video segment.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Mystery, Richard Armitage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fun Day Sunday: Richard Armitage in “Ordeal by Innocence”–Did he or Didn’t he? 10/28/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #297)

  1. phylly3 says:

    I was thrilled to finally watch it on Netflix. It’s not a big role for him but he does play it very well and as I like Agatha Christie mysteries anyway, the fact that he was in it was the icing on the cake! :)

    Like

    • Hi Phylly3,
      Thanks for your nice note! Glad that you had a chance to watch it. I usually rent and watch movies via iTunes. So I will have to see if it is there. If not, I’ll use the YouTube links.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. Fabi says:

    Hi Grati,
    I watched it on YouTube months ago, and I liked RA’s portrayal of the charming rascal Philip Durrant. But if you remember the book, you’ll see that the screenwriter has made several changes in the script regarding the original story, although the murderer is still the same. I enjoyed it anyway. :)

    Like

    • Hi Fabi,
      Thanks for your nice note! I’m looking forward to viewing this movie. I didn’t recall reading this particular Marple Mystery, so any “changes” won’t flummox me. Ha!
      Have a lovely Sunday! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. april73 says:

    I watched this serie a few years ago and I like it. It was great to see Richard in a role of a real bad guy, like in “Moving on”. :-)

    Like

    • Hi April,
      Thanks for your nice note. Richard Armitage portrays bad guys so well!.

      But he seems to be such a nice fellow in real life. He has said in interviews (paraphrasing) that portraying baddies lets him express those parts of himself that aren’t “polite” to do so. Would that we all had such an “outlet”.

      Of course, one can always blog. Ha!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

