Not so Fun Day Sunday: Grati’s Eyes Don’t Have It, 11/04/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #301)

Dear Friends/Readers,

After two and a half weeks of a flurry of eye doctor visits–7 or 8 at last count–the corneal abrasions on my left eye still are not healing after daily and sometimes  hourly eye medicine drops (three  kinds of meds).

So, today/Friday (Nov. 2 as I write this) my doctor said that we’re going to be “more aggressive” in our treatment because there is no quick or easy fix.  It will take several months to see if my eye can be healed–or merely managed.

They took off the third contact lens bandage they had on my eye–so that having more oxygen reaching my cornea might help my eye heal.  But I have now lost the protection and cushion of “comfort” (or at least lessened eye irritation and pain), that the contact lens bandage afforded me.

I have new eye drop meds to take starting tonight/Friday, that the doctor said “will probably make me feel worse before I feel better”.  He said that we’re going for “short term” pain in the hope of creating “long term” healing benefits.  I also might have to take time off from work since the pain the new meds might have as a side effect, might make me “not able to function” for a week or two.  The doctor said this will be a three month treatment plan to begin with–but that it may become a chronic issue that I have for the rest of my life.  Obviously, my doc and his colleague who also examined me today did not sugarcoat my eye problems at all.  But couldn’t they have thrown in some chocolate?  Ha!

To say that I’m bummed is an understatement.  I have avoided taking the first dose of the new eye drops meds tonight  (Friday night as I write this)–because I’m not sure if I’ll be able to read anything once the meds go in my eyes, or how much pain I’ll be in–and therefore I might not feel like  reading.

So, I have been stalling taking my meds by reading my friends’ blogs and commenting on them tonight–especially since I might have to rest my eyes more in the coming week.  Resting my eyes will also mean less blogging and less story writing for me–which will be hard, since I love to tell stories and I love to chat with my friends.

So “Seeing Beauty” will go on hiatus for a week or so since I have more to write on it–and need to wait to do that.  Believe me, the irony of my vision impaired Keith character’s  story needing to be tabled for a week or two is not lost on me.  But I will continue to post already written but not yet posted material–for “Sir Guy’s Dilemma”, etc.

I’m usually not so forthcoming about personal health matters–while they are happening. But I did want you, my friends and readers, to understand why I might not be online quite so much for a week or two as my eyes adjust to the new medicine.

But let’s keep our fingers crossed and hope that the new treatment plan works–we won’t know for a month or more if it is helping.  So, I’m not likely to give updates anytime soon.

Love and Hugs, Grati ;->

P.S.  And oh yeah!  You can bet that I’ll be working this bum eye angle with my hubby.   Ha!  Actually, he is such a dear sweet loving man!   I am very blessed!

P.S.  And now for something soothing for me to “rest” my eyes upon (below):  British actor Richard Armitage confidently walking on stage  at Comic Con in San Diego July 14, 2012 to discuss his role portraying Thorin Oakenshield in the upcoming “The Hobbit” films.

(Image is courtesy of RANet:  http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/Hobbit-SDCC/album/comiccon-panel-01.jpg)

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Fun Day Sunday, My Life, Richard Armitage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Not so Fun Day Sunday: Grati’s Eyes Don’t Have It, 11/04/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #301)

  1. fedoralady says:

    Sorry to hear this, Grati. Vision is such a precious thing and we tend to take it for granted. ONe of my sisters is legally blind and was born with scar tissues on her eyes from toxoplasmosis, my other sister is battling glaucoma and I am extremely short-sighted myself and seriously in need of a new pair of glasses.I spent several years teaching the blind and visually impaired, too, so it’s an area that particularly interests me. Take good care of those peepers and do as the doctor advises, although it will be frustrating to put aside your various projects. Think about the long term. And best of luck!

    Like

    • HI Fedoralady,
      Thanks for your lovely note! I’m sorry to hear about your and your sisters’ eye issues. Vision is very precious. I’m hoping that the doctors have caught this early enough to at least stop any more damage to my eyes.

      Happily, the old adage, “boys don’t kiss lasses who wear glasses” doesn’t apply with my hubby. Giggles! And he is always very caring and considerate of me, too. So he stays on my case to rest my eyes. It may be a half hour using a computer and then a half hour resting them kind of thing. I’m still trying to figure out what works.

      But I will be sure to visit your blog site, “The Armitage Effect”, for your lovely graphics and such about Richard Armitage to also “rest” my eyes. Ha!

      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      P.S. For others, Fedoralady’s lovely blog is linked over in my section on “blogroll” of RA bloggers. Snap!

      Like

  2. cdoart says:

    Oh Grati. I am so sorry to hear about your eye problems.
    I keep my fingers crossed and send all the best wishes and hope your eyes will heal well and fast.
    I am always affected with my own eyes, so I have a panic about eyes and someone else telling me about eye problems already makes mine water in panic. So I really feel for you and hope all goes well.
    With your stories – I don’t have the best tips – but perhaps you would like to audio record your stories and ideas during the time you should rest your eyes. This way, you can get your story ideas out of your head. I know, if I can’t get mine out, I sometimes feel my head is bursting, so I just came up with this suggestion.
    If you need tips regarding easy to use audio software, let me know.

    Like

    • Hi CDoart,
      Thanks for your very kind note! I know what you mean about story ideas–my brain just brims with them and I have to put them to the page. Actually, my hubby offered to be my scribe and I would dictate to him. Snap!

      Thanks for the audio software idea though. Before my vision became pesky, I had been toying with the idea of making some of my shorter essay pots “visually impaired accessible” by recording them and posting that audio version along with the printed one. I read a sonnet, recorded in a powerpoint. But I would have to upgrade my blog software with WordPress and pay for that. So I have to think about that. Besides, I’m very rusty on my vocal performance skills since I have mostly done the occasional event announcer, or radio interview over the years–rather than than interpretive performance that I did on my university speech team.

      Funny story about announcing. When I taught at a university in a Northern and much colder climate for 2 years in the mid 1980’s, I was invited to help announce the local ice skating tournament for a 4 hour shift. Let me tell you, sitting right next to the ice rink–even with blanket’s and heaters–was so freezing that it’s a wonder my teeth didn’t chatter. Ha! But it was a fun experience. So in later years, I made sure my other event announcing gigs were warm. Ha!

      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      P.S. I must confess that I was so keen on continuing reading “The Sunne in Splendour” for our Sunday chat group about it, that I read from Book one Ch. 30 through to now I’m in the middle of Book 3 Lord of the North. My eyes were really hurting, but it was worth it!

      Like

  3. fitzg says:

    Courage, ma soeur! (Easy for me to say – just glasses-corrected myopia and astigmatism since childhood.) cdoart’s mention of audio and recording thoughts is excellent. Inspiration from a voice in Lords of the North, or the song of the Misty Mountains. the sound of your favourite music. Record reactions. Have them transcribed. Use later. Temporary ordeal of eye problems – don’t all the other senses become more vivid – sound/touch/smell. Record and use. We’re with you in spirit. We can only imagine temporary loss of one sense. And imagine how you feel just now. Best wishes for speedy corneal recovery.

    Like

    • Hi Fitzg,
      Thanks for your very kind words. I’m hoping that the eye doctors can at least halt any further damage. My computer glasses I had to get in the last year–in addition to my earlier bifocal glasses that I just now use for driving–have helped.

      But I do need to rest my eyes more. 18 hours a day on the computer between my vision intensive university administrative work (budgets, advising, web and publications, etc.) and my writing and online social media chatting have taken its toll. So I just need to rest my eyes more as we go through this process of seeing what works over the next 3 – 6 months.

      But I can’t go completely cold turkey from using my computer and being online. Ha! I just have to shorten my activities and space them out–that’s what I’m trying anyway. Oh and as I write this, I realize that I’m keeping my left eye closed to prevent irritation (they took the contact lens bandage out). So just call me “Pirate Grati”. Ha!

      However, I know folks with “real” vision impairment and they live their lives brilliantly. So my little hiccup of eye issues pale in comparison to them. But they do give me inspiration.

      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Fabi says:

    Dear Grati,
    So sad about your eye trouble. I’m sending to you many healing thoughts and prayers for your health. You’re such a friendly, cheerful, kind person, I’m sure your bunch of friends at RAWorld are all wishing you the best and supporting you in this “Not so fun” moment, with hope of lots of really fun to the future.
    Love and hugs,
    Fabi

    Like

    • Hi Fabi,
      Thanks for your very kind words and well wishes! Everyone is being helpful and supportive–and pitching it to take over my RAFN chat group coordination, so I don’t feel like I’m letting anyone down.
      This too shall pass–as they say. On the bright side, I fully plan to let my hubby completely take over puppy piddle clean up. Ha! Though Heidi has been much better of late.
      Love and Hug! Grati ;->

      Like

  5. Servetus says:

    I’m so sorry to read this — I hope the different therapy helps. Praying for you.

    Like

  6. Ana Cris says:

    Hi Grati,
    I’m praying for you! For the treatment to be efficiently and with fewer side effects. I know it’s hard to deal with health problems, so receive our positive thoughts. Everything will be fine, have faith.
    I’m sure Heidi will behave very well, dogs have a sixth sense to encourage us when we are sad!
    Take care!
    Ana Cris

    Like

    • Hi Ana Cris,
      Thanks for your very kind note and well wishes! I’m keeping a positive outlook on things. And as to Heidi? Well, she is sleeping on her Papa’s legs at the moment. So all is quiet–and not being chewed upon. Ha!
      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      Like

  7. aj daisy says:

    Hi Grati sorry to hear about your “poorly” eye trouble. You take care of yourself and get well soon XX

    Like

    • Hi AJ Daisy,
      Thanks for your nice note and well wishes. I will rest my eyes more today and hope that helps. I have the last hour of “The Convenient Marriage” to listen to again. I just love Richard Armitage’s storytelling!
      But I’m going to finish uploading the last two chapters of “Guy’s Rose” to my Wattpad site, then I won’t feel like I’m leaving those readers “hanging”. Ha!
      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      Like

  8. Ania says:

    Hi Grati,
    I’m sorry to hear about your problems with the eyes. And I pray, and I believe that the treatment will be effective. (Hugs)

    Like

  9. Oh, do take good care of yourself. We will be here when you get back and will miss you while you’re away. Cheers and hugs!

    Like

    • Hi Elaine,
      Thanks for your nice note and get well wishes. It’s good to hear from you–a new commentor!

      Like I said, I can’t go completely “cold turkey”, just lessen my computer time each day and night. I’ll just play it by “ear” and see how it goes.

      So, though I won’t have a new Monday “Seeing Beauty” chapter post for a week, or two, I will still have the already written “Sir Guy’s Dilemma” chapters posting on Fridays. And I might dip into my pile of written, but hadn’t posted them yet essays that I’ve been waiting to find a date for on Wednesdays.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      Like

  10. Herba says:

    Get well soon Grati!!!!

    Like

  11. katie70 says:

    Grati take care of those eyes. I also have had family members with eye problems also and know how important eyesight is. When my Grandad become blind there was not much they could do to help him try to save it, but today we have great advances in heath care. I do hope your treatment works. Richards audiobooks are a great way to get some R&R.

    Like

    • Hi Katie70,
      Thanks for your nice note and well wishes. I hope that the doctors have caught things early enough that we can halt further difficulties. The doctors were being so diligent in monitoring my eyes those first few weeks–and having me into their offices almost daily for exams–I joked that I should have my own parking spot. Ha!
      And oh my yes! Listening to Richard Armitage tell me a story is great theRApy
      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      Like

  12. Tereza says:

    Dear Grati!
    I´m sad by hear about your eyes problem. I did not think it was so serious. For the people who love reading or writing, to have any trouble in the eyes is a terrible thing. So , I imagine how this is affecting you at this moment. Follow the doctors recomendations,take rest more your eyes, at least in these first weeks of treatment. Some suggestions made by some people here are good alternatives, at least for now. I´ll be praying for a speedy recovery of your eyes.
    Stay well soon! Hugs!

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,
      Thanks for your very kind note. Yes, resting my eyes and not reading or writing is tough. But I have to do it if my eyes are to heal.

      As to the seriousness of my eye health right now, you know that things are “serious” when two things occur:
      1) your health condition is “named” after someone–never a good sign that the disease/condition/syndrome was “discovered”; Ha!
      and
      2) your doctors are bummed out when you’re not improving; bless their hearts!

      However, there was a nice little upside moment during one eye exam this week. My eye doctor brought in his colleague to consult with him–a doctor whom I had had previously for eye exams in years past–and the second doctor asked me if I had lost weight. I replied that I had and smiled. Now asking a woman if she has lost weight is always the polite thing to say–men take note–and always makes we women feel good. Ha! So it might have just been a kindness on his part–though I have lost about 70 pounds in two years. But the number of health professionals who have noticed that either I have lost weight or they think that I am about 10 years younger than I am is getting to be comical. Delightful, but soooo funny. Giggles! All I can say is I don’t smoke, I stay out of the sun or wear 100 SPF, I drink lots of water, and I believe that smiling is infinitely more fun (and less wrinkle producing) than frowning. Ha!

      But I am no where near going blind at the moment–and I plan to keep it that way! Snap!

      Love and Hugs! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

