“Sir Guy’s Dilemma”, Ch. 3 (R)–Sir Guy Learns of Lady Roseanna’s Secret; Ch. 4–Lord Archer Admires Lady Saline Some More, 11/09/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #303)

(An Original Fan Fiction adaptation of the characters from the BBC’s Robin Hood;  & a Sequel to “Guy’s Rose” by Gratiana Lovelace)
(All Rights Reserved; No copyright infringement intended)

[From time to time, I will illustrate my story with my dream cast of:  Richard Armitage as Sir Guy, Clive Standen as Lord Archer, Emma Watson as Lady Rose, etc.]
[Story Logo 1ab]

Author’s Mature Content Note:  “Sir Guy’s Dilemma” is a story of romance and intrigue set amidst Medieval times.  As such there will be some passages in this story involving heartfelt love scenes (R rated) and some passages involving highly dramatic moments.  I will label the maturity rating of those chapters accordingly.  Otherwise, the general rating for this story is PG or PG-13 due to some mature situations and topics.  If you are unable or unwilling to attend a movie with the ratings that I provide, then please do not read the chapters with those labels.  This is my disclaimer.

Author’s Recap from the previous installment:  Although Sir Guy’s son Seth is excited with his new puppy mastiff named Prince, there are undercurrents of intrigue that are emanating from his Uncle Archer.  Sir Guy is cautious about his brother’s, Lord Archer’s, antics–especially regarding the ladies.  And Lady Roseanna also has a secret yet to be revealed to Sir Guy.

“Sir Guy’s Dilemma”, Ch. 3 (R rating):  Lady Roseanna Nurses Lady Helen and Reveals her Secret to Sir Guy

Sir Guy pleading a need for rest–which is partially true due to his winded and pained state earlier–he and Lady Roseanna repair to their bed chamber to nurse Lady Helen and nap after their mid day meal.  In the meantime, Lord Archer and the Lady Saline entertain Seth with croquet on the lawn.  Gliding serenely into their bedchamber with her husband trailing happily behind, Lady Roseanna takes over baby care from her nanny.  They had missed their morning nap time and Sir Guy is determined to make the most of their afternoon nap time.

Lady Roseanna:  “Thank you nurse Agatha.  Sir Guy and I will tend to Lady Helen for the next few hours while we rest and nap.”  Of course Lady Roseanna knows that little napping goes on.  Nurse Agatha knows, too, for that matter.  It is quite well known amongst the servants that The Lord and Lady of the manor are a love match.

Nurse Agatha:  “Aye Madam, Sir, I will leave you to your rest.”  She bows her head respectfully, but her mouth curls with a small smile.  As a grandmotherly sort, Nurse Agatha is always delighted when young married couples get along well with each other.  And Lady Roseanna and Sir Guy do indeed get on well with each other.   Theirs is such an harmonious union that the whole estate benefits from their happiness.  Happy masters make happy tenants and servants, she always says.  She leaves to tend to other household matters.

Sir Guy:  “Rose, beloved, it looks like our little Lady Helen is wide awake and wanting her lunch herself–such a hungry little minx.”

Lady Roseanna:  “Yes my love.”  She sighs as she removes her day dress and puts a shawl over her cotton shift.  When they are home and among family, Lady Roseanna eschews the rigidity of corsets except for formal occasions–especially because they take forever to get into and out of for her every four hour nursing schedule.  She goes to sit in a nearby rocking chair with arm rests.  Sir Guy goes to Lady Helen’s cradle.

Lady Helen:  “Bbbb.  Bbbb”  She almost sings.  Then she reaches her arms up high wanting to be held as she moves her little cherub mouth in suckling motions.

Sir Guy:  “Come to me my little princess.”  Sir Guy smiles pridefully as he gently lifts his daughter out of her cradle and rocks her against his breast.

Lady Helen:  “Hh hh.  Hh hh.”  She laughs as she wraps her fingers around her papa’s larger index finger.

Sir Guy:  “Lady Helen, you are such a treasure.  You have quite captured my heart.”

Lady Roseanna:  “And I thought that I had captured your heart, Guy my love?”  She asks of him impishly as she lays bare her left breast and holds out her arms for her babe to be brought to her.

Sir Guy:  Walking toward his wife while admiring her state of dishabille, he says.  “Aye, Milady Rose.  You are my heart’s benevolent jailer.”  He says tenderly while gently laying their child in her arms and Lady Helen latches onto her mama’s breast.   Then Sir Guy kneels next to them.   “But I find that as my love for you grows my Rose, so does my heart expand to welcome others into it.”  Then he looks at her in earnest as the architect of his happiness.  “Have I told you today how beautiful you are, my love?”  He smiles lovingly as his arms enfold she and their child.

Lady Roseanna:  “Perhaps beloved, but I never tire of hearing it.”  She smiles lovingly back at him.  Then she decides to reveal her secret–but in a teasing way.   “Guy, I wonder if we should test your statement about your willingness to love others–considering you have saddled us with a horse of dog.  Ha!”  They both laugh.

Sir Guy:  “Ha ha ha!   Now that was Archer’s doing.  And I had requested he wait until Seth was older before he gave him a dog.”  She looks at him plaintively.   “He just ignored me.”  He chuckles.

Lady Roseanna:   “Ha!  As usual.  Archer does as he pleases and it is nigh impossible to prevent it.”

Sir Guy:  “Well, I suppose I do indulge him a little.  He had even a more sad childhood than my own–not even knowing our dear Mama.”  His face clouds over remembering his mother’s sad death over twenty years ago.

Lady Roseanna:   Lady Roseanna reaches out and caresses her husband Sir Guy’s face as she moves his hair from near his eyes.  “Would you have liked a brother to grow up with, Guy?”  She asks with specific intention on her mind.

Sir Guy:  “I would.  Though initially Robin and I were playmates, we were not blood nor near enough in age.   And Robin was a willful child–which is where I can see Archer gets it from.   Ha!”  They both laugh.

Lady  Roseanna:   “Yes, siblings can be blessings and curses–but ultimately, blessings.”  She is almost to the point of revealing her secret.  “So how many children do you wish us to have my husband?”

Sir Guy:  “Oh?  I will take whatever blessings of children I am given.   I only want for your comfort in that regard.  I know how tired you are even now nursing Lady Helen.”

Lady  Roseanna:  Realizing that he has noticed her fatigue, but not guessed the reason for it, she says gleefully.  “Yes, two children at once can be fatiguing at times.”

Sir Guy:  “Well, at least Seth and Lady Helen are far apart in age so that we don’t have two babies to contend with at the same time.”  He smiles warmly at her, thinking that he has said a good thing.  But then Sir Guy notices Lady Roseanna’s  slight frown as she shifts Lady Helen to her right breast.  “What is it my love?”  He kisses her cheek tenderly.   “If you are too tired for our nap, we can actually sleep this afternoon.

Lady Roseanna:  Worrying that Sir Guy does not want another child so soon–expanding their offspring to three–she says.  “I am your willing sleeping companion Guy my love.  … But I fear we are past the point of insuring my rest.”  She says cryptically as she winces when she gazes at him.

Sir Guy:  Looking at her quizzically.   “Rose beloved, if my loving attentions are too wearying for you at this time, we can  … temper our frequency in lovemaking.”  Of course, Sir Guy is a virile man with a loving wife.  So he does not want to lose their intimate bond.   “Perhaps we could lie with each other only …  at night?”  He asks hopefully–wanting to maintain at least daily lovemaking.

Lady Roseanna:  “But my husband, even lying with each other only at night is not a solution to our current situation.” She states impishly.

Sir Guy:  Sir Guy looks quite chastened, wondering if this is how husbands lose their wives loving intimacy.  But wanting to ease his Lady Roseanna’s concerns he says.  “My love, I will gladly give you rest and respite in any way I can.  Are you worried that you might become with child again, while Lady Helen is still a babe?  Is that it?”

Lady Roseanna:  “No Guy, I am not worried about becoming with child again.”  Then she places one hand on her belly.  “I fear that you have already accomplished that happy state.”  Sir Guy looks at her incredulously.

Sir Guy:  Embracing her joyously, he says ecstatically.   “Oh my love!   This is wonderful!”  He kisses her soundly for several moments.   “But how did it happen?”

Lady Roseanna:  Now looking at him with incredulity.  “Are you denying your culpability, my Lord?”  She asks him mischievously.

Sir Guy:  “Ha ha ha!  Nay my love.  It is just that other couples seem to have their children spaced out more.  Well, except for the peasants.  I think Seth’s foster Mama Colleen is even with child again as well.””

Lady Roseanna:   She winces.  “I know.  And when we make the child in my womb known to others, everyone will know that we are lying together already.”  She pouts cutely and blushes quite prettily, he thinks.

Sir Guy:  “Ha ha ha ha ha!  But Rose my love, we are husband and wife–blessed by God and Fr. Bale.  Our lying together is our right and our joy.”  He kisses her lips and caresses her cheek.  Of course, what man is not so secretly pleased to give his wife children born of their love?  “So when are we to expect this new child?”  He asks, thinking that she might be only one month along.

Lady Roseanna:  “Soon after Christmas is the likely time.”  She blushes.

Sir Guy:  “You are already two months with child?  And Lady Helen is only four months old?”

Lady Roseanna:  Her cheeks pinkening up even more, she pouts.  “I know.  Even George and I are two years apart.  The midwives told me that my nursing our baby would focus my body’s energies on Lady Helen and that I could not become with child again.”  She blushes profusely again.

Sir Guy:  “Ha ha ha!  Their logic was obviously faulty.”  He says amusingly as he takes the now sated Lady Helen from her mother’s breast and burps her.  Then he rocks her to sleep

Lady Roseanna:  “And they did not reckon on the power of our loving bond.”  She looks at him lovingly as she rearranges the bodice of her thin linen shift.  Sir Guy lays Lady Helen in her cradle.   Then Lady Rose tilts her head amusingly and asks as she stands.  “Do you love me so much that you give me children almost at will?”

Sir Guy:  “Oh yes, my Lady Rose!” He kisses her lips tenderly.  “Let me show you just how much I love you, my beloved.”  He kisses her neck as  he caresses her womanly curvy hips and then her abdomen where their new baby sleeps and grows.  He lifts her up into his arms and carries her to their bed.

Lady Roseanna:   Giggling, she says.  “My Lord, have you no shame to entreat your pregnant wife to lie with you?”

Sir Guy:  Laying her on their bed and then pulling his shirt over his head, he says.  “My Rose, you are already with child.  My loving attentions cannot expand upon your happy state.”  He unlaces and then removes his leather trousers and slides into bed with her.

Lady Roseanna:  “And do you propose that we make love, My Lord?”  She asks him coquettishly as she runs her hands lightly across his muscular chest and broad shoulders.

Sir Guy:  “Without delay and without abating.”  Sir Guy unties each of Lady Roseanna’s linen shifts bows enclosing her womanly form.  Then kissing her loveliness as it is revealed to him, he says.   “My Rose, I plan to adore you until you ask me to stop in overwhelming bliss.”

Lady Roseanna:  “I am your willing wife, beloved.”

And with that, she wraps her arms around her husband and kisses him back with such loving abandon that even he is startled by her seductiveness.  When her body is unfettered from her linen shift, their arms and legs intertwine in eagerness to experience one another as lovers again.  For theirs is a true love match–without equal.  And Lady Roseanna’s delight in her husband’s loving ministrations as she sighs from his intimate touches only fuels his ardor more.  Sir Guy is a man on fire–having missed their morning tryst this day–he seeks a union with his wife’s body that strains his still healing body and the pain shows on his face as he hovers over her.

Sir Guy:  “Ahhh!”  A painful sigh escapes before he can stop himself.

Lady Roseanna:  Caressing his face, she caringly admonishes him.  “Beloved, you are still healing.  You must lie down and rest yourself.”

Sir Guy:  He lies back down.  “Oh my love, I am sorry.  I fear that my desire exceeds my body’s ability to accomplish it.”  He admits sheepishly.

Lady Roseanna:  Kissing his lips, and shoulders, chest and abdomen, she looks up at him with a smile as she moves to sit astride him.  “We shall still see if we cannot satiate your desire, My Lord.“

Then, their bodies join as one and Lady Roseanna gently rocks herself gingerly back and forth–so as not to jostle Sir Guy’s nearly healed stomach wound.  The slowness and deliberateness of her movements tantalizes and inflames Sir Guy.

Sir Guy:  “Oh Rose, my love!”  He cries out with the pleasures of their bodies’ union.  He raises his arms and caresses her loveliness, a little milk spilling out of them.  Then he brings his finger to his own lips and tastes the nectar that nourishes their child.  It is sweet–as is his Lady Rose.  “You are so beautiful!”

Lady Roseanna:  “Guy my love!”  She cries out with the pleasures she feels.

Sir Guy and Lady Rose’s lovemaking becomes more urgent as they both begin to feel waves of bliss wash over them.  They kiss each other adoringly as Lady Roseanna carefully collapses across Sir Guy’s chest, taking care to avoid his lower left abdomen.    They kiss and cuddle for some time before drifting off to sleep as they lie on their sides nestled into each others’ loving arms.

To be continued with Chapter 4

 “Sir Guy’s Dilemma”, Ch. 4:  Croquet with Seth provides a chance for Lord Archer to get to know Lady Saline better

Having more than an inkling what his brother Sir Guy and his sister in law Lady Roseanna are doing–and it is not napping–Lord Archer is beside himself filled with nervous energy for lack of a romantic companion of his own.  Since becoming Earl of Huntington and Sheriff of Nottingham nearly nine months ago, he has had to put aside his roving eye and libidinous appetites in favor of larger concerns of the village of Nottingham.  For a young and virile lover–because Archer is a young man with a voracious lust for women–being without frequent female comfort is physically painful to him. Archer has only managed the odd coupling now and again with a willing peasant woman when he visits another county disguised as a peasant himself.

Though temporarily gratifying, Archer finds these assignations less and less appealing.  Could it be that Archer is developing a sense of propriety in his sexual relations with women?   Perhaps that is why he agreed to Sir Guy’s suggestion that he seek a wife.   The comely spitfire Lady Saline is definitely to his liking as he comes to know her more and more.  And this afternoon’s game of croquet with Seth on the lawn, will give him a further opportunity to get to know the lady better and seek if they might make a good love match.   But, he is getting ahead of himself, as his nephew Seth with let him know.

Seth:   “Uncle Archer,   Uncle Archer!”  He calls out to him twice to get his attention.  His Uncle Archer is looking at Seth’s Aunt Saline with such intensity that the lady blushes and turns her eyes away demurely.  Finally Seth walks up to his uncle.   “Uncle Archer, it’s your turn.”

Lord Archer:  “What?  Oh, I’m sorry Seth.”  He tousles his hair.  “I’m afraid I was enjoying the beauty of nature.  Now where am I to strike the ball?”

Seth:  “Over here!”  He runs to the next wicket and points to it gleefully.   The croquet course they have set up is quite a bit smaller than the usual dimension, to bow to Seth being younger and less experienced in the game.  Archer shoots, but misses–intentionally of course.  “Oh!   You missed. That’s too bad.”  Seth says genuinely.  Not thinking that this game has a winner and loser, just that it is fun to play.  Patting his uncle’s knee, Seth says parroting what others tell him when he misses a wicket.   “That’s okay.  You’ll get it next time.”

Lady Saline:  Breaking her silence and looking back at the obviously devoted uncle and nephew, she says  “Lord Archer, your nephew is quite taken with you I believe–even without your gift of his new dog.

Seth:  “Oh Aunt Saline!   I love my doggie.  Uncle Archer is the best uncle I could have!”  He runs back to his Uncle Archers who crouches low with open arms that the little boy runs into.

Lord Archer:  “And you are a wonderful nephew, Seth!”  He hugs the little boy warmly–hugs being in short supply when Archer was growing up, such that he is making up for lost time with his nephew.  “My Lady Saline, I’m afraid my nephew has but to command me and I willingly comply.”

Seth:  Taking his uncle literally, he asks excitedly.   “Can we play with Prince some more?”

Lady Saline:  “May we, Seth.”  She gently corrects him.

Seth:  “May we?”  He looks expectantly at his uncle.

Lord Archer:  “Ha ha ha!  Well I don’t know.  How many baths do you want to take today?”

Seth:  “As many as I need to if I can play with Prince.”  He says gleefully.

Lord Archer:  “Alright.  Seth, shall we introduce Lady Saline to Prince?”

Lady Saline:  “Now I don’t want a dog jumping all over me.”

Seth:  “That’s alright Aunt Saline.  You can just take a bath again, like me.”  He smiles cheerfully.

Of course the thought of Lady Saline in her bath is an image that Lord Archer’s mind cannot help but wander to.  Lord Archer’s intense gaze toward Lady Saline [(2)] as he drinks in her lovely maidenly curves–contemplating them without their current fabric coverings–causes Lady Saline to blush.

Lady  Saline:  “I have already had my bath today, Seth.  So, I will thank you to keep your puppy off of me.”

Seth:  “Okay.  I’ll try.”  He shrugs his shoulders cutely.

Lord Archer:  “Let us walk down to the stables again.  My Lady, you can watch Seth and Prince play together from the safety of the fence.  That should preserve the sanctity of your person.”

Seth:  “Please, Aunt Saline!”  He bounces up and down.
Lady Saline:  “Very well.” She smiles with bemusement at Seth, while only catching a glimpse  of Lord Archer’s continuing searing gaze at her through the corner of her eye.  Besotted.

To be continued with Chapter 5

References

1)        “Guy’s Dilemma” logo is a composite of three images:
a)  Sir Guy (portrayed by Richard Armitage) in the BBC’s Robin Hood, Series 3, episode 13 (pix 64).and is found at http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasonthree/Episodethirteen/slides/13_064.html;
b)  Lord Archer (portrayed by Clive Standen) http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/RobinHood/album/seasonthree/episodetwelve/slides/12_093.html;
c)  a sword hilt from MS Ofc Clip Art was found at MS Office Clip Art at http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/images/results.aspx?qu=sword&ex=1#ai:MP900432917|

2)      The image for Lady Saline is of a pre-Raphaelite style painting of a woman by John William Waterhouse (1849-1917) was found at http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/01421/Waterhouse-2_1421196c.jpg ; for more about the painter, visit http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_William_Waterhouse

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in "Sir Guy's Dilemma" story, Creative Writing, intrigue, Love and Relationships, Richard Armitage, Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to “Sir Guy’s Dilemma”, Ch. 3 (R)–Sir Guy Learns of Lady Roseanna’s Secret; Ch. 4–Lord Archer Admires Lady Saline Some More, 11/09/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #303)

  1. aj daisy says:

    Just beautiful thank you Grati.

    Like

  2. Tereza says:

    This story is so relaxing Grati. All these people living happy and without troubles .I just stay imagining how It would have been good, if Sir Guy had had a chance of to have known a family like that: a playful brother, a tender wife and beautiful children. This simple life was everything that he surely would like to have shared with Marian.

    Like

    • Hi Tereza,
      Thanks for your very nice note. Yes, there is something to be said for ease and simplicity in life. We all long for it.
      But then, have you ever known Sir Guy’s life to be easy and uncomplicated–for long? Just wait. Ha!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. What a sweet lovemaking! One of the things I love of historical fic is that men and women enjoy the joy of sex easily and thoroughly! I always asked myself if husbands find their pregnant wives attractive. For Guy and Rose the answer is definitely a “yes”!

    And we have a bachelor in the story – could we define him a sort of medieval rake? – that is probably going to be reformed by love. Saline looks like a tough girl, it won’t be easy for Archer to breach her heart.

    I adore Waterhouse’s paintings (my avi is one of his best known portraits), so I’m very glad you chose “The Windflowers” for Lady Saline.

    Like

    • Hi Carla/Cassia,
      Thanks for your nice note! Lord Archer is a ladies man, and the Lady Saline will, indeed, be a challenge for him–not the least of which is because she is already betrothed to Lady Rose’s brother Lord George. Ha! Whether Arucher will succeed or not, I cannot say–no spoilers. I will only say that it is sometimes only when we are denied a thing that we view as most precious, that we truly come to know its value.

      When I was looking through the Waterhouse images I noted your gravatar. Very nice! And Charlotte1194’s story logo for “The Tempest”–a Guy of Gisborne tale–is also a Waterhouse image. And thanks for the painting name for the image I chose to represent the Lady Saline. It was missing from the site I went to.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Pingback: “Sir Guy’s Dilemma”, Ch. 5 (PG-13): A Celebratory Sunday Baptismal Feast Dinner with Intrigues between the Gisborne and Talkington Families, 11/16/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #307) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

