“I knew I loved you before I met you”, to my wonderful husband on our 24th wedding anniversary, 12/30/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #335)

Twenty four years ago today, I joined my life with my heart’s true love and soul mate when I married my wonderful husband.  I had been a 28 year old spinster when I met his tall cuddly bear of a man twenty five and a half years ago–waiting before I met him for my dream man to claim me, almost giving up hope.   But hope didn’t give up on me and you came into my life.

That we are also each others’ best friends is another gift we share with each other.   You are the funniest man on the planet and I am your willing partner in our crimes against humor–puns, not guns, being our usual weapon of choice.  We laugh as much as we love–which is considerable.   Joy is ever present in our lives.   We are not material people–preferring each others’ company and the gift of sharing our time with each other over an expensive gift, or the expense of outings or grand travels.  We have shared experiences with our little trips together around our region, exploring historical sites and finding the echoes of the past in our future.

And the tenderness and consideration we show to and for each other is beyond what 24thAnniversaryWeddingpix89Dec2812pastels&frameRevromantic tales–even my own stories–might aspire to.  You joke that you “live to serve” as you pump my gas for me or load the dishwasher–because I loathe those tasks.   And I always seek your input on daily living and finance decisions that affect the both of us–not that I couldn’t make the right choice on my own, but we are equal partners in life and in love.  Life is not always fair, and we do have struggles as any family does in these difficult economic times or when our health has been challenging.  But by thinking of each others’ needs and wishes–big and small–we have discovered the secret to not only living harmoniously, but living gloriously happily together.  And the unfailing consideration we show to each other is also the best aphrodisiac there is.

My darling, you saved me from what would have been a full but a despairingly lonely life without you.   That our romance continues with even more passion and tenderness is our gift to each other every day.  You and your love fill my sleeping dreams and my waking musings.  Our love and our loving each other is deeper and more adoring and passionate as each year passes.  And I fully plan to continue to love you and to be loved by you thoroughly when we are 90 and we have to use walkers for balance.  So you are forewarned.  Ha!

Thank you for being my husband, my best friend, my humor foil, my love, and my lover, etc.  You are all these and much more to me.  Your kindness, honor, faith, decency, and love are but a few examples of your goodness.  You are my dream man made real in every way as we share our lives together.    As I have often said, the best day of my life was the day we met–except for every day after that.  I will love you always and bless the day that you came into my life.

P.S.  This beautiful song “I knew I loved you before I met you” by Savage Garden expresses just some of my thoughts about you, my wonderful husband. Enjoy the video by djpeC:

Reference

“Savage Garden – I Knew I Loved You (Lyrics)”, a video by djpeC

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZqFK4dcl2Q

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Love and Relationships, My Life, Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “I knew I loved you before I met you”, to my wonderful husband on our 24th wedding anniversary, 12/30/12 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #335)

  1. Ania says:

    Happy Wedding Anniversary to you and to your husband, Grati!

    Like

  2. Servetus says:

    Congratulations, what a lovely tribute. Here’s to many more years!

    Like

  3. Kitty says:

    Happy Anniversary, Gratiana to you & your love.

    Like

  4. Beverly says:

    Wonderful. Happy Anniversary.

    Like

  5. katie70 says:

    Happy Anniversary! A little late. I hope you and your husband had a great day.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

