Fun Day Sunday: CRAzy Captions of “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey” into Humor with Thorin Oakenshield Star Richard Armitage, 01/06/13 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #340)

I haven’t done a CRAzy Captions of Richard Armitage roles and such lately, so I thought that njyholidaycardtitlethorindec0411gratidhana-copytoday is good day to die — laughing. Ha!  For the uninitiated, I will suggest light hearted humorous captions to several graphic images.  Then I invite you to suggest some captions for these images as well.  This is all in good fun and strictly G, PG-13 in rating.  Ha!

You may think, hmmmm.  Grati hasn’t done a CRAzy Caption image related to “The Hobbit:  An Uexpected Journey” (THAUJ) yet.  Well, except for a year ago in one of my holiday posts on December 4, 2011 (right).  Why hasn’t Grati touched upon Thorin and THAUJ for CRAzy Captions before now? *wink*  The simple answer is that Thorin Oakenshield is a serious dude–as is his dramatic storyline.  And there are not too many smiling–let alone humorous–Thorin moments in the actual THAUJ film.

However, the man behind Thorin Oakenshield?  Well!  Richard Armitage does have a wry and sometimes facetious sense of humor.  I love it–a man after my own heart!  And there are also some humorous moments that fans see from behind the scenes in Hobbit production videos and his more recent THAUJ premieres’ press tour interviews.  Richard Armitage has a lighthearted way about him that is the polar opposite of his dramatic on screen personae as Thorin or Mr. Armitage’s other dramatic character portrayals — except for the fun loving Harry Kennedy in The Vicar of Dibley Christmas Special from 2006.

So let’s have some fun with that Armitage humor via CRAzy Captions as I quote him, picture him, and such–with some enhanced context captions.  *wink*

A)       Our opening humor salvo comes from Richard Armitage’s most recent high profile interview in Glamour UK of January 2013–the print article and its companion video:

A--CRAzyCaptioningRichardArmitageHobbitStyle_PittWars_Jan0613GratianaLovelace

P.S.  A “metrosexual” man is one who is exceedingly concerned with his appearance and grooming.  That is one reason why I  like Richard Armitage’s low maintenance approach to his grooming which conveys, this is me, like it or lump it–in an oh so effortlessly handsome and sexy way–via his bemused expression and quote in the above Glamour UK interview portrait. Sighhhhh!   More ovaries bursting world wide for this wonderful man!

B)       These three THAUJ film blokes–William Kirchner who portrays Bifur, Graham McTavish who portrays Dwalin, and Richard Armitage who portrays Thorin Oakenshield–look like they are enjoying a relaxing moment among acting colleagues between scenes.  And in the case of Richard Armitage–sans trousers–really relaxed.  But one can understand with the many mentions by the cast of how hot and uncomfortable their costumes were.
B--CRAzyCaptioningRichardArmitageHobbitStyle_HotDwarves_Jan0613GratianaLovelace

C)       Empire Magazine asked several of the THAUJ cast members and director Sir Peter Jackson “What do you have in your pocket?” And they responded.
C--CRAzyCaptioningRichardArmitageHobbitStyle_WhatisinRAspocket_Jan0613GratianaLovelace

The question itself references the “Riddles in the Dark” sequence between Bilbo and Gollum in THAUJ.  Do you remember what Andy Serkis who portrays Gollum replied?

D)      Richard Armitage wore a long haired wig to portray Thorin Oakenshield in THAUJ.  And in the Cinemax “60 Seconds with Richard Armitage” interview video RA revealed to costar Martin Freeman a special affinity that he had with another about his “long locks”.
D--CRAzyCaptioningRichardArmitageHobbitStyle_LongLocksPonytail_Jan0613GratianaLovelace

If you had to answer some of the questions posed to Richard Armitage, how would you respond?  Here are my answers:
1)  I would put on 20 pounds, it’s going to take me 2 years to grow my hair long enough to donate it to locks of love, so I stay away from scissors;
2) I have a good sense of fashion, from a bygone era;
3) I prefer to lift pints (of milk);
4) I’ll do vocal impressions–you won’t recognize who they are, but I will do them;
5) I don’t generally eat lunch, so I don’t have the problem of sharing my menu on Twitter–nor would I share something so mundane, ha!,  Twitter is only for the juicy stuff  *wink*;
6) I have better aim with a pun–and there is nothing fake on me;
7)  I still have my flowing locks, *wink*;
8) I think I would rather troll for a better traveling companion than those choices, are you available Richard?
9)  I get along well with my pores, because I moisturize daily–I have two dogs and one husband, no equines need apply;

E)       Richard Armitage is such an endearing flirt with his lady interviewers–especially Marilyn Denis on her show in Toronto (vid by RACentral) and Kathie Lee and Hoda on The Today Show in New York.  And even with print interviewers like Greendragon at TORN.  It makes me want to revive my interest in my communication degrees and take up journalism.  Well, there is always Comic Con, I suppose. Ha!
E--CRAzyCaptioningRichardArmitageHobbitStyle_RAFlirtswithLadyInterviewers_Jan0613GratianaLovelace

References

Unless otherwise stated below or hyperlinked above, all original Richard Armitage images (before I manip them, Ha!) are courtesy of www.RichardArmitagenet.com   What I/Grati do with these images for CRAzy Captioning here is strictly my fault.  Ha!  Some additional graphics are also provided by MS Office Clip Art.  And the Orcrist sword graphic I masked from the TORN site which has a link where it may be purchased from United Cutlery.

The Thorin image I masked for the December 2011 holiday graphic was a screen cap made by ItsJSforMe who has a blog at Do I Have Blog that you should be sure to check out.

Here again is the link to the Richard Armitage Glamour UK Interview video (as hyperlinked above) for the January 2013 issue  http://www.glamourmagazine.co.uk/celebrity/celebrity-interviews/2013/01/richard-armitage-exclusive ;  and here again is the link for the video transcript http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/articlescans/Glamour-Jan2013.pdf (try using this Chrome browser for this pdf)

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Love and Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

