“Staged” (1999 UK), A blast from Richard Armitage’s past is shared by Director Darren Denison, 1/09/13 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #342)

Whenever anything new is revealed about the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage–who currently stars as Thorin Oakenshield in “The Hobbit:  An  Unexpected Journey”–and his artistic projects, it is news–even when it is old.  Perhaps, Richard Armitage admirers are especially attuned to his artistic artifacts when they are old because so little exists about the truly early years of Richard Armitage’s stage, television, and film career before 2000–beyond a few still photographs here and there.

So yesterday–Tuesday January 8th, 2013–the theatre curtain pulled back to give us another glimpse into one of Mr. Armitage’s  previously unknown early artistic projects.  Director Darren Denison shared the trailer for his 1999 short film “Staged”–starring Richard Armitage and Jennifer Taylor Lawrence–on Vimeo with the title (click on the title to go to the video):

“STAGED” (Trailer) – Starring Richard Armitage and Jennifer Taylor Lawrence (1999), UK

I first saw tweets about the trailer–and then both www.RichardArmitageNet.com (January 8th news) and then later www.RichardArmitageCentral.co.uk news on January 8th shared information about it.

Not content to wait until someone else provided me with caps–I decided to try my hand at Staged1999DarrenDenisonMockMoviePosterJan0813GratianaLovelacecapping this short 1 min 21 second trailer.  Of the 37 or 38 caps I made with my eager but unskilled hands–and the limitations of my software–only a few of the caps are really good.  Ha!  So initially, I created a mock film poster (right).

But let’s face it, if Richard Armitage is in an image or a film, it has to be good by design.  Right?   So I thought you might get a kick out of my erstwhile try at capping.  What follows is a slide show of several of the better caps that I made.  Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kudos again to the RANet and RAC cappers who provide RA interview and artistic project caps for his admirers on a regular basis.  It’s a lot of work.    Ha!

Additional References

The video “”STAGED” (Trailer) – Starring Richard Armitage and Jennifer Taylor Lawrence (1999), UK” is found at http://vimeo.com/56946099 in a video by Darren Denison.  Additional film credit information is:  Filmed in London, UK/Hackney Empire Theatre Copyright by Darren Denison/Denison Entertainment, Inc./Heatwave Productions, 1999.

Theatre curtain image in the mock movie poster that I/Grati created was courtesy of MSOffice Clip Art.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Drama, Love and Relationships, movies, Richard Armitage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to “Staged” (1999 UK), A blast from Richard Armitage’s past is shared by Director Darren Denison, 1/09/13 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #342)

  1. collarcitybrownstone says:

    Gratiana, you did a great job on the mock film poster. Give yourself a pat on the back. I love the screen caps too. :-)

    Like

    • Hi Collarcitybrownstone (Xenia),
      Thanks for your nice note about my poster and capping. I appreciate the encouragement!
      And I found a link to your blog–also called “Collar City Brownstone”–via Servetus’ latest Legenda post. I love your blog! You have fun food and fashion posts–the hair styles were fabulous!–as well as some Richard Armitage and period drama in there. I loved that version of Jane Austen’s “Persuasion” that you have an image of in your header! So, I linked your blog in my sidebar under blogs with more than mostly RA content on them so that I and my readers can find it conveniently.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      P.S. But to make it even easier to find Xenia’s blog Collar City Brownstone, here is that link as well

      http://www.collarcitybrownstone.com/

      Like

      • collarcitybrownstone says:

        Oh, thank you so much for putting my blog link in your sidebar. I really appreciate it. It always touches my heart when a fellow blogger reaches out in support. I subscribe to your blog posts. I will also put a link to your blog on my sidebar.

        I used screens caps of Staged from your blog in a post this morning and I was coming over here to get the link back to you to give you credit for it. I always do that when I know the source of photos that I use.

        I am glad that you like my blog. I love blogging and I take it very seriously.

        Like

  2. 1/09/13–RANet interviewed Director Darren Denison and shares that at
    http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/staged.html

    Like

  3. 1/10/13–Grati’s Scheduling Note: “Sir Guy’s Dilemma” Chapter will appear on Sunday this week.

    Hi Readers,
    Sorry for the delay of posting the next chapter of SGD, but my corneal eye abrasions have gone into an even more painful eye infection in my left eye. So even with new drops and OTC pain med, I’m having to keep my eye mostly shut to avoid blinking and further irritating it–not very conducive to writing. Ha! I’m actually touch typing this note. So I disavow any typos. Ha! But I will post new chapter of “Sir Guy’s Dilemma” on Sunday.

    Then I will still post the next chapter of “Love & Friendship” on Monday. Since that story is already completely written–except for some tweaking that I inevitably do–it is easier on my eyes. And I like the story, if I do say so myself. Ha!

    Thanks for understanding and Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  4. Fabi says:

    Oh Grati, I’m so sorry for your eye! Life often isn’t easy as we would like. Be patient, things will be better sometime! Sending healing thoughts and prayers, always. Take care and get some rest! I’m sure your readers understand any delay in your posts, your health is priority now.

    Like

    • Hi Fabi,
      Thanks for your lovely note. You’re very kind. It is been a long and painful day today. I went back to the eye doctors and they numbed me up, put a contact lens bandage on my eye, and told me to double up on my meds. We’ll see if it helps. Thanks for the prayers, too. I appreciate it!
      Love & Hugs, Grati ‘-> [because I’m one eyed at the moment. Ha!]

      Like

  5. Pingback: Richard Armitage in Staged by Darren Denison (1999) » Collar City Brownstone

  6. Pingback: Thespian Thursday:  Richard Armitage “Staged, 1999” Laughing Gif Reimagined, August 04, 2016 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #948) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

