Grati’s 2-Disc Special Edition Hobbit THAUJ dvd Arrives; and Several Interesting Richard Armitage Hobbit Links, March 20, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #382)

Tuesday March 19th. Why was that date sticking in my mind as being special?   I ask myself through a fever and cold induced haze after I wake up from an unplanned 3 hour nap while staying home from work on Tuesday.

When checking my email notifications, TORN (www.theonering.net) reminded me in a post titled “Share your  ‘The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey’ Blu-Ray and DVD Photos!” by NewsfromBree.   Cool!

TheHobbitAnUnexpectedJourneyDVDSpecialEditionMar1913AmazonMy THAUJ dvd copy (left, purchased via Amazon using the www.RichardArmitageNet.com aka RANet links to Amazon) had not arrived yet at 1:30pm when I woke up from my nap–but I knew that it would arrive soon.  And I dreaded the boisterous reaction from our 55 pound lovable mutt Max when the UPS truck did stop at our house.  TP1010455MaxcropDec0611crophe dining room drapery sheers crashed to the floor last week because Max jumped up on them eager to see who was on our porch. But Max really is a nice doggie (right).
[The reason I buy my Hobbit, Richard Armitage dvds, kindle books and such through RANet’s Amazon link is because RANet donates their Amazon Associate commissions to one of Richard Armitage’s chosen charities as noted when you follow their link above.]

However I couldn’t focus on THAUJ just yet on Tuesday.   I still had to process some online payroll time card entries and approvals from home in the meantime so our university Teaching Assistants would get paid.  Yup, I’m an accountant/academic advisor by day, and a romance novelist by night.  Ha!  And just because one is sick, doesn’t mean that the world stops spinning.  No?  No.  Ha!  So after my home work  was done, my Hobbit THAUJ dvd arrived–perfect timing!   Though as of this writing at 8:30pm Tuesday, I still haven’t had a chance to watch my dvd–because I was working on this post.  Ha!

Have I mentioned that we have another doggie named Heidi (left)?  She is an almost 11 DSC00691HeidiBackyardMar1913GratianaLovelaceCrpClrShrpmonths old beagle–18 pounds and completely adorable, when napping.  Ha!  Well, if Wargs are considered destructive beasts, then Heidi must have taught them all she knows in chewing, ripping, and shredding, etc.  Desolation of Smaug? DesolaDSC01016HeidiLookingforTHAUJdvdMar1913GratianaLovelaceCrpClrShrpRevtion of Heidi more like it. Ha!  Middle Earth has nothing on the Middle West when it comes to devastation.  Ha!  And it seemed that Heidi very much liked the popping noise emitted from the bubble wrap on the inside of the package that my 2-Disc Special Edition THAUJ dvd came in  when she clamped down on it (right).

CompanyofDwarves-48ThorinSuspiciousMar1913ranetCropClrShrpBut, I had previously removed my precious THAUJ dvd to a higher elevation than Heidi’s five foot jump could reach.  Ha! That’s right folks, Heidi jumps more than twice her own height.  So Thorin (left), you best be on the lookout for a small wiry beagle named Heidi if you are wanting a companion animal for battle that will give the Warg beasts a  run for their Orc pak.

So what is the point of me or anyone getting the Hobbit THAUJ dvd or blu-ray edition early?  It is because the dvd and blu-ray editions contain a special code to see a sneak preview on March 24th of the second film, “The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug”(below)–before anyone else gets to see it.  I know, it will probably be up on You Tube in 30 seconds.  But there is that thrill of seeing something first.
AskPeterJacksonSneakPeakPromoMar1913TheHobbitComHi-resShrp

I have already submitted my question for Sir Peter Jackson’s Q & A session on Twitter:

“What question do you wish interviewers would ask you, but have not?  Then please answer that question.”

This is my initial standard question that I pose to these artist Q & A fests–because I hope to elicit from the artist what no one has thought to ask, the artist’s opinions and insights rather than the interviewer asking a long winded self gratifying question demonstrating how much the interviewer knows.  Too many interviewers or talk show hosts forget that they are not the story–their guests are the story.  But I doubt that my question will actually be posed to Sir Peter–let alone receive a response.  Out of the hundreds and thousands of questions, mine isn’t flashy or off the wall.  Ha!TheDesolationofSmaugFanMadePosterJan1713GratianaLovelacejpg

However, I did include with my question a link for my own fan made poster for the 2nd film (right)–The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug–that TORN (www.theonering.net) had earlier also shared my poster and its on Facebook.  Thanks TORN!  So maybe, my poster might catch Sir Peter or a Twitter staffer’s eye–or eyes.  Ha!  And let me tell you, it took me forever to get those eyes right.  Ha!  [The images in my DofS poster are courtesy of the scroll and other graphics at www.thehobbit.com.]

P.S.  And this past week has also been busy for several related Hobbit THAUJ news and resource links that others have created or curated–and that I have been gathering these links together to have them in one handy spot for me and to also share them with you below.   Enjoy!  It is not an exhaustive list.  So please feel free to share your own and other links to resources or blog commentary posts in a comment below.

1)      DarkJackal32, the Heirs of Durin blogger at ThorinOakenshield.net shares the Xbox video excerpt:


ThorinMakeupfixBlueEyes_BehindtheScenes_untitled-87Mar1813HeirsofDurinBrtHi-resCntrstShrp
DarkJackal32 also made some fabulous screencaps from the video (a stunning portrait of Richard Armitage having his makeup fixed as Thorin Oakenshield is to the right).  So be sure and visit her post and enjoy all of her screencaps!  Then give her some love.

The Hobbit XBox Exclusive Video: The Company of Dwarves

Fedoralady, The Armitage Effect blogger, also shared her thoughts about the XBox video interview of Richard Armitage in her blog’s post linked below.  Enjoy!  Please show your love as well.

A ‘proud, cantankerous’ father figure: An Xbox SmartGlass Exclusive Vid Clip

2)        And Fabolaktuo/Faboamanto, the White Rose:  Sincere and Simple Thoughts blogger created the really fun video

More Armitage Humor – Hobbit Style-for FanstRAvaganza 4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=UD7PaYkozJM

That she shared the video in her post Armitage Hobbit Humor – FanstRAvaganza 4.  Please be sure to visit her blog post and give her some love, too!

3)  Inge, the Crispin’s eclipse blogger shared her favorite RA Hobbit interview quotes at

FanstRA 4 – Dixit RA  All are well chosen quotes and her reactions to them are thoughtful and insightful.  So be sure to visit her blog post and give her some love.

4) Three other Interviews by the media with Richard Armitage who portrays Thorin Oakenshield in the three Hobbit films and some of the other cast were made available recently:

“Richard Armitage speaks with TheOneRing.net” by The1neRing (TORN’s Greendragon is the interviewer)

Here also are two links shared by www.RichardArmitageCentral.co.uk:

“UK The Hobbit (Entertainment Celebrity Extra)” by apvideonews (interviews on 3/07/13, posted on YT 3/18/13)

“‘Hobbit’ star Richard Armitage hopes film will stand ‘test of time’” by the Los Angeles Times, March 19, 2013

http://herocomplex.latimes.com/movies/hobbit-star-richard-armitage-hopes-film-will-stand-test-of-time/

HobbitStarRichardArmitageHopesFilmStandstheTestofTimeMar1913LATimesGratianaLovelaceCap copy

““I was in a production of ‘Macbeth,’” Armitage told Hero Complex on the occasion of the film’s release last December. “So I went back to all my notes about ‘Macbeth,’ because I just felt there was something about that character unwinding that was relevant to Thorin unwinding in this story.””

5)      Graphics miscellaneous–As a treat for anyone who slogged their way through this long compendium post of mine, here are some lovely articles and graphics.

The May 2013 issue of Total film as a new Hobbit Desolation of Smaug interview article with Richard Armitage who portrays Thorin Oakenshield (as pictured below).   The article scans below are courtesy of www.RichardArmitageNet.com; page 1 left and page 2 middle and right that I cropped into two parts to make them fit here, but click on the hyperlinks in the parentheses for the best images.

RichardArmitageInterviewTotalFilmMay2013Mar1913ranetComp

http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/articlescans/Hobbit/TotalFilmMay2013-p1.jpg
http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/articlescans/Hobbit/TotalFilmMay2013-p2.jpg

Finally from TORN (www.theonering.net)  and RANet (www.RichardArmitageNet.com), we have  The Hobbit Info Graphic (below, but click on the hyperlink for the best image) gives us a great chart for understanding who is who in Middle Earth:

Hobbit_Infographic_March2013ranetHi-resShrp

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Desolation of Smaug, Drama, Graphic, movies, Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin, Video and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Grati’s 2-Disc Special Edition Hobbit THAUJ dvd Arrives; and Several Interesting Richard Armitage Hobbit Links, March 20, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #382)

  1. 3/20/13–In rereading my “The Hobbit” book, I noticed that the adventure began on a Tuesday-Wednesday–and The Hobbit THAUJ dvd was released on a Tuesday. Coincidence? I think not. Ha! So here is a little graphic I created for RAFN that I also shared on Twitter, and now here.

    Like

  2. 3/20/13–DarkJackal32, the Heirs of Durin blogger has a great post today with each of the Getty mini interviews with Richard Armitage. Enjoy!

    “The Hobbit: A Pants-droppingly Good Film – Interview with Richard Armitage”

    http://thorinoakenshield.net/2013/03/20/the-hobbit-a-pants-droppingly-good-film-interview-with-richard-armitage/

    Like

  3. 3/19/13–DarkJackal32 at the Heirs of Durin blog has Caps from the 30 minute documentary “A Hobbit’s Tale”:

    “Best Buy Exclusive Video Screencaps – A Hobbit’s Tale”

    http://thorinoakenshield.net/best-buy-exclusive-video-screencaps-a-hobbits-tale/

    Like

  4. March 21, 2013–TORN (www.theonering.net ) has a “Middle Earth Madness” voting poll similar to the tournament brackets. Have you voted yet?

    http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2013/03/19/69995-middle-earth-march-madness-2013-round-1-voting-begins/

    Like

  5. March 21, 2013–I love Love Hiddlespeare’s Gifs page on their tumblr!

    Great #Hobbit & #RichardArmitage gifs–including sword practice: http://hiddlespeare.tumblr.com/tagged/my-gifs

    Here is the Richard Armitage sword practice gif by Hiddlespeare:

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

