Fun Day Sunday: Fantasy Battle Between Thorin & Gandalf Heats up with TORN’s March Madness Finale, April 7, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #392 Update!)

Folks!  TORN’s “March Madness” has turned into April Apoplexy.  Ha! It is down to the final two–Thorin and Gandalf–from an amazing starting field of 64 Tolkien characters. There were no rules of engagement for TORN’s March Madness, just personal preference.  So this is like prom or homecoming court–where the most popular kids win.  Right?  I love it!  Ha!

Though some other Hobbit and Tolkien fans on the social media sites were decrying some of the voting as being actor driven rather than character driven.  So?  That is just as good a scheme as any other.  Giggles!   Go Team Thorin is my motto.  Ha!  And no, I am not a teenage girl drooling over Thorin.  But thank you for the compliment–the youthful age part.  Ha!   In fact, my age might best be described as the second prime number in the teens–times a trilogy of films, plus two director changes.  That should keep some geeks pondering–for two minutes.  Ha!

Early rounds also saw me voting for Treebeard, Pippin, Boromir, etc.  I wasn’t concerned with if the character actually might have a shot at besting their opponent–based on their characters’ attributes or powers–because these were fantasy competitions with fantasy characters.  So I was just having fun with it and picked the characters that I liked.

memadness2013-thefinalGandalfvsThorinApr0613TORN

And as we are now in the final matchup of Thorin versus Gandalf?  Some say, no contest.  But then, they are rooting for their guy to win.   And which Dwarf King in exile or Wizard stretching his powers beyond “fireworks” are you rooting for?

The fact that Thorin beat out Galadriel in the semi-finals illustrated to me that a Dwarf King has moxie when faced with equally long haired opponents.  Though I must confess, that until she met up with Thorin, I had been voting for Galadriel.  And I so wanted her to kick that smug Thranduil’s tush–but Luthien got there first.  Ha!

I was torn in the semi-finals when Gandalf competed against Elrond since I had been voting for both of them throughout the brackets as well.  In my mind, Elrond is the more regal and ethical Elf compared to Thranduil.  And Gandalf?  Well, he is an old codger still putting in his hours, bless him!–usually the 11th hour saves of the Dwarfs from Orc Packs, trolls, goblins, etc.  So respect is due him for saving the day a few times.  And Gandalf had my vote  against Elrond.

I had also joked online when the semi-finals were announced–Thorin vs Galadriel and Elrond vs Gandalf–that if Thorin were to win, he was going to be besting someone in a dress in any of his current and the potential matchups.  Ha!  And, I have been solidly voting for Thorin in each round and I will do so in this the final round.

So whether you admire the courage, heart, ferocity, perseverance, and majesty of Thorin Oakenshield or you admire the tenacity and cunning of Gandalf the Gray, don’t forget to vote for your favorite.  Voting is open until 10:00pm ET (that is NYC time) Monday, April 8th:

http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2013/04/06/70540-the-finals-gandalf-vs-thorin-middle-earth-march-madness-2013-vote-now/

Thank you TORN (www.theonering.net)!   March Madness was fun!

P.S.  If you haven’t seen it yet, RANet (www.RichardArmitageNet.com) has screencaps shared by Gallicka for “The Hobbit:  An Unexpected Journey” (Thanks to Kitty for the RANet link!):

http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/images/gallery/Hobbit/Hobbit-AUJ/album/index.htmlHobbitAUJ-686ThorinSmilingatBilboApr0613ranet_smlr_shrp

Here is just one of the gorgeous images from my favorite part of the film (Thanks to Teresa A for the link), the end, where Thorin bonds with Bilbo (right).  Peace and brotherly love is grand.  Sighhh!

ArmitageWatchThorntonBirdApr0613P.S.  And if you are just hankering to watch THAUJ with your friends across the world and have  a major gab fest about it as it is happening?  And who isnt’?  Then join the fun at Armitage Watch for  #ThorinWatch on April 13th .  Check their website for times and details.  There are usually two chat fest times–morning and evening, UK and US.  (Thanks to Servetus for the link!):

http://armitagewatch.blogspot.com/2013/04/the-first-thorinwatch.html

P.S.  And here is my favorite actor, Richard Armitage, talking about his role as Thorin Oakenshield in a recent interview with SFX

“The Hobbit — Thorin Oakenshield Actor Richard Armitage Interview”

UPDATE April 9, 2013:  Gandalf Emerges Victorious!  Congratulations!

http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2013/04/09/70646-and-the-2013-middle-earth-march-madness-champion-is/

memadness2013-championisGandalfApr0913torn

And the final bracket outcomes:

2013-middleearthmadness-bracket-championApr0913torn

(Both images are via TORN at the essay link provided.)

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Fun Day Sunday, Graphic, Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fun Day Sunday: Fantasy Battle Between Thorin & Gandalf Heats up with TORN’s March Madness Finale, April 7, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #392 Update!)

  1. Servetus says:

    exactly. Does it matter *why* you’re voting for someone? Team Thorin all the way (even though I’m sure Gandalf will win this one).

    Like

    • Giggles! Go Team Thorin!

      And though I intended this to post on Sunday, something must have glitched when I scheduled it. Oops! I’m blaming it on bum eyes. Ha! So I fixed the “scheduled” time to April 7th. Ha!

      Like

  2. April 7, 2013–MTV Hero Awards has Snow White and Bilbo pitted against each other?

    And some people thought the Thorin vs Gandalf matchup was “fantasy”? Ha! Let’s face it, Snow got along well with a bunch of Dwarfs. Bilbo didn’t win over the Dwarf leader until the end of film one. I think Snow can take Bilbo down. So he needs our help!

    Here is the MTV site:

    http://www.mtv.com/ontv/movieawards/2013/best-hero/

    Basically, you go on Twitter and post #votebilboto vote for him.

    Like

  3. April 07, 2013–Richard Armitage speaks frankly about how grueling it is to promote movies like The Hobbit, how having a moody character can be isolating, and why he wishes he were less shy in party situations. (Thanks to Sebastian and the Richard Armitage Daily for sharing the link!):

    “Richard Armitage: ‘I wish I could jump out of character; I’d be more popular'”,The Independent, April 7, 2013

    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/people/profiles/richard-armitage-i-wish-i-could-jump-out-of-character-id-be-more-popular-8558685.html

    Like

  4. April 09, 2013–Gandalf emerges victorious!

    There was never any real doubt that Gandalf would win–the character is an icon. But that Thorin Oakenshield was his final opponent in TORN’s March Madness was thrilling!

    Here is TORN’s essay with links for final tallies and such:
    http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2013/04/09/70646-and-the-2013-middle-earth-march-madness-champion-is/

    Here also is the final completed brackets match-ups link:

    Like

  5. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 74: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

Please Leave a Reply

