Wednesday Whimsy: 6 Degrees of StReAming Toward Armitagenous Zones, 4/24/13 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #403)

GlamourJanuary2013RichardArmitage01InterviewApr2413ranetIf “all roads lead to Rome”, then does it necessarily follow that all RA RichardArmitageInternationalDictionary_2_Mar2912BccmeeApr2413GratianaLovelaceCapFangirl thoughts lead to the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage (RA image left) and Armitagenous ZonesArmitagenous Zones being a term I coined last year for BccMee’s Richard Armitage Dictionary (video link and image right) that collected lots of fun Fangirl phrases all in one dynamite video.

Well, do they?  Our thoughts leading to RA, that is?  Maybe.  And the fact that we do make the connections to Richard Armitage, might be viewed as being either positive, negative–or both!   Ha!hugh-jackman2011-07-31_15-49-57beach-520x747Apr2413imnotobsessedcom

1)  To dispense with the negative viewpoint, our minds instantly running to thoughts of Richard Armitage might reflect a single mindedness of purpose, a lack of variety of interests (nah!), or a need to look at the wet Hugh Jackman rising from the ocean (right) image again as a comparison point.  Wait a minute!   Aussie actor Hugh Jackman wet, muscular, and slightly hairy is negative?  Not a chance!  Ha!

RichardArmitage2007Promopix08byChrisFloydApr2413ranet2)  Alternatively, viewing our respective mind’s ability to leap to soulfully blue eyed Richard Armitage (wet, left) positively, we could say that our making cognitive linkages between concepts illustrates a clarity of thought, a heightened system of logical reasoning, and a well exercised brain staving off the ravages of time.  Eating fish as brain food versus drinking in the performance physicality of or vocal performance sounds of Richard Armitage?  It is a no brainer.  Give me British actor Richard Armitage every time.  Hey, even Richard Armitage portraying Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit chucks the fish out of his barrel (gif below). Ha!

Thorin Tossing Fish Gif from Eighth Production Video by Jas

RichardArmitage_as_JohnMulligan_TemptationApr2413Fedoralady_TheArmitageEffect
3) Both positive and negative?  Let’s just say that when Richard Armitage portrays a bad character, he is so good (right, from TAE) .

So here is my little stReAm of consciousness experiment–in the 6 degrees of separation mode–of how one initial random thought might eventually lead to me  thinking of Richard Armitage. Then I will suggest some starter words for you to try to see if you can work your way to Richard Armitage on–cognitively speaking that is.  Ha!

Grati’s StReAm Toward Armitagenous Zones:
1)  The color purple–the color purple_bubblesApr2413GratianaLovelace copy, not the Alice Walker book or the Spielberg The_Color_Purple_movie_posterApr2413wikifilm adapted from the book (right).  However I loved both the book and film!  And I’m really a fan of Walker’s poetry, too.  I performed several selections from her slim aqua blue fabric covered volume titled Revolutionary Petunias when I was on my college speech team–one of the poems being “For My Sister Molly.”

2)  “Purple Rain”, a song by  Prince_logo.svgApr2413wiki–the artist formerly known as Prince (aka Prince Rogers Nelson) (and logo left). I loved the movie, too.

3)  “Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head”, a song sung by B. J. Thomas and made famous by the 1968 film Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid.

4)  “Head Games” by Foreigner.  My adolescence in the 1970’s is showing with this Foreigner band reference.  The driving rhythms were common in that genre of light metal music–which I often listened to on my brother’s 8-track tape player.  And I know that this media type and player is a foreign reference to anyone born after 1990.  Ha!

5)  “Let the Games Commence” (video below starting with part 2 of  5) — the Episode #5 RH3epi5_087RichardArmitageasSirGuyApr2413ranetCroptitle in Series 3 of the BBC’s Robin Hood (2009), and starring–you guessed it!–Richard Armitage portraying Sir Guy of Gisborne (right) .

From Purple to Richard Armitage–and I did it in only 5 stages (making four inferential connections)!  Snap!  And I also notice that my inferences tend to be literary/film or musical.  Hmmm.

So!   Now it is your turn to try your hand at letting your thoughts flow from some wholly unconnected concept to see how many stages or steps it takes you to get to Richard Armitage.  And if you feel so inclined, please share your stages to connecting to RA–no, you do not need to be as detailed as I was. Ha! Here are some sample starter words/concepts for you (or make up your own):

  1.  flower
  2. dishes
  3. Paris
  4. berries
  5. taxes
  6. micro lending
  7. pink
  8. yawn
  9. fireplace
  10. Scrooge


Some unscientific interpretation of your levels of Richard Armitage connectedness as you get into your Armitagenous Zone:

1.  You think of RA in two stages, making one inferential connection–Brava!–You are so attuned to Richard Armitage and his character portrayals that when Lucas’ cell phone rings in Spooks, you try to answer your phone.  Ha!  Of course were Lucas answering his phone to be made into a drinking game–where every time Lucas  answers his phone, everyone has to sip their wine/beer–then  the RA Fangirls would get really sloshed.  Ha!

2.  You think of RA in three stages, making two inferential connections–Well Done!–This is kind of like Harry’s third date with tongues–between Harry and Geraldine in The Vicar of Dibley.  *wink*

3.  You think of RA in four stages, making three inferential connections–Very Good!–This makes me think of the four episode BBC drama North & South where RA as John Thornton pleas for Margaret to make a loving connection with him:  the proposal, the Look Back at me plea, and finally he hits the jackpot with the train station kissing scene.

4.  You think of RA in five stages, making four inferential connections–Nicely Done!–You THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEYhave wide interests, yet you still find Richard Armitage to be a touchstone for you.  This makes me think of Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit (right)– Thorin is the guiding and unifying force for his people, and the measure by which all others are judged.

5.  You think of RA in six stages, making five inferential connections–Good Job!–Just as John Porter doggedly and relentlessly researched  the key players in the middle Eastern conflict in Strike Back, Series 1, during his seven years of being an outcast, you also are determined to bring Richard Armitage into the conversation.  Don’t worry.  He is always lurking in the background–sometimes more eager than other times to come forward.  But he always does.

So there you have it! My adventure in cognitive mapping explorations.  Or what I refer to as from zero to 60 in five seconds.  And on that note, here is a little bonus of  the 60 Seconds with Richard Armitage interview:

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Creativity, Fan Fiction, Fangurling, Gifs, Richard Armitage, Thorin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wednesday Whimsy: 6 Degrees of StReAming Toward Armitagenous Zones, 4/24/13 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #403)

  1. April 25, 2013

    Dear Readers of “Love is a Choice”,

    Though I would normally post the next installment/chapter–in this case, Ch. 18–on Friday (April 26), my eyes have been quite painful and troublesome vision wise this week. As a result, I have not been able to write as much as I would like.

    So, I probably won’t post Ch. 18 of “Love is a Choice” until Saturday. And since I like to leave at least one day after story posts clear of a new post, I will probably not have a Fun Day Sunday post. However, I hope to have the usual Monday story post (Ch. 19, in this case).

    Thanks for understanding. Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  2. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 76: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  3. Pingback: Dad’s last vacation day with tangential Richard Armitage reference | Me + Richard Armitage

Please Leave a Reply

