WCW: Grati’s 2013 Richard Armitage Character Poll Matchups, July 31, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #433)

We seem to be in British Actor Polling Season again,what with the Glamour UK’s Sexiest Men of 2013 (below left with RA as Thorin Oakenshield added by me) poll and the BBC America Angelophenia poll (below right).

Glamour2013SexiestMenPollRichardArmitageJul3113GlamourUK-Rev    AnglopheniaPoll2013Jul

So I thought, what is one more meaningless but fun poll?  Ha!

And the beauty of this poll is that British actor Richard Armitage is only competing with himself–or rather, his many character portrayals. Below right is the www.RichardArmitageNet.com  Picture Gallery page screen shot (love their resources!):

RichardArmitageNetGalleryJul3113ranetVote in any or all Categories:
1. Sexiest Richard Armitage Character
2.  Handsomest Richard Armitage Character
3.  Sleaziest Richard Armitage Character
4.  Best Hair and Makeup Armitage Character
5.  Best Beard/Stubble Armitage Character
6.  Best Dressed Armitage Character
7.  Best Undressed Armitage Character
8.  Best Voice of an Armitage Character
9.  Best Kiss by an Armitage Character
10.  Best Memorable  Quotes of an Armitage Character

Here is the character set:
A.  John Standring
B.  John Thornton
C.  Sir Guy of Gisborne
D. Claude Monet
E.  Harry Kennedy
F. Ricky Deeming
G. Percy Courtenay
H.  Lucas North
I.  John Mulligan
J.   John Porter
K.  Thorin Oakenshield
L. Richard Armitage, himself

You may pick any or all of the “Best” categories above and share which RA character gets your vote (and why if you want to share).    Feel free to add your character suggestions if you don’t see your preferred character listed.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Richard Armitage, Sexy, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to WCW: Grati’s 2013 Richard Armitage Character Poll Matchups, July 31, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #433)

  1. perry322 says:

    Where is the Poll Grati?

    Like

    • Hi Perry322,

      Sorry for my lack of technical expertise. But I haven’t figure out how to do a poll automatically in WordPress yet. I have to investigate that. Ha!

      So for now, people can just pick which category/categories that they wish to respond to–like Best Kiss–and match up the RA character they think did it best. And that way, readers can also “advocate” for their choice if they wish. I’m always interested in hearing “why” my readers make a particular choice.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      P.S. I will share my suggestions later today in a comment. But I didn’t want to put them out there just yet to let my readers have their say. Besides, my readers are very insightful and I always learn something from them.

      Like

  2. perry322 says:

    I’m going to start with John Mulligan (Moving On) as the best-dressed character. I especially like his charcoal shirt with white collar because this foreshadows the real life Richard Armitage we see now. Second is Lucas North because I love the look of tailored dark shirts with jeans- but his choice in outerwear leaves something to be desired.

    Sexiest character- Richard Armitage himself . No explanation necessary.

    I’ll weigh in again.

    Like

  3. vec170203 says:

    Hi, my choices are:
    1. Sexiest : Lucas North (I ♥ tattoos)
    2. Handsomest: John Porter.
    3. Sleaziest : ¿? (I don’t have idea what is this and I’m lazy today)
    4. Best Hair and Makeup: Thorin Oakenshield. (I highly respect all those artists who are able to transform someone so much)
    5. Best Beard/Stubble: Thorin Oakenshield.
    6. Best Dressed: John Thornton. (period costumes and cravats :swoon:)
    7. Best Undressed: Sir Guy of Gisborne (that scene with his armour)
    8. Best Voice: Richard Armitage, himself…
    9. Best Kiss: John Thornton, without a doubt.
    10. Best Memorable Quotes: “…and the whole world rolling on forever and the whole structure never skipping a beat. And nothing ever changing. Except the weather….” (Ricky Deeming) — It’s spoken with so much heart, that I really felt the depression and angst that surrounded the character.

    PD: I’m sorry if I’m not explain better my choices but my English it’s not really good today :P

    Like

    • Hi vec170203!
      Love your choices! As for “sleaziest” on #3,that means a person of questionable moral character–perhaps someone who is a criminal, like John Mulligan.

      And The Hobbit Makeup and Hairstyle artists did an amazing job on Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield–Tami Lane was even nominated for an Oscar for her work. Here is a link to a post I had about she and Richard Armitage:
      https://gratianads90.wordpress.com/2013/02/20/illinois-native-tami-lane-oscar-nominated-for-thauj-make-up-and-hairstyling-february-20-2013-gratiana-lovelace-post-366/

      And I also swoon and melt with every nuance of Richard Armitage’s deep velvety baritone voice–whether he is in character, or narrating audiobooks and doing all the voices, and especially as himself in interviews. Sighhhh!

      And Richard Armitage’s kissing technique is inspirational–as John Thornton, John Porter, or Lucas North and Sir Guy of Gusborne (to lesser degrees since he didn’t get as much kissing in. Ha!).

      And your English is just fine, my dear.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati;->

      Like

  4. Kitty says:

    1 = L

    2 = L

    3 = I

    4 = L

    5 = L

    6 = L

    7 = J

    8 = E
    [audio src="http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/files/sounds/Well_there_you_go.MP3" /]
    9 = B

    10 = B
    [audio src="http://www.richardarmitagenet.com/files/sounds/NS4-4-lookback.mp3" /]
    The most memorable one for me is Lucas saying “I’m a polymath” but I can’t find his voice saying those particular words.

    Like

    • Great choices, Kitty!
      And your picture links are gorgeous! Richard Armitage, the man, always gets my vote for “best” in everything. Sighhh!
      Cheers! Grati;->
      P.S. Per #10’s quote “I’m a polymath”, I tried to find a ringtone or YT vid of your quote choice, but haven’t been successful. I think you had thought earlier that it might be from Spooks 8, epi 8. So if anyone out there can provide a link to the sound file, that will make us both happy.

      Like

  5. Ania says:

    1. Sexiest: Oh, this is a difficult choice, because I hesitate between Lucas and Mr. Thornton. But for the moment Lucas wins.
    2. Handsomest: The same as in the first.
    3. Sleaziest: Heinz Kruger, I think.
    4. Best Hair and Makeup: Without a doubt, Thorin
    5. Best Beard/Stubble: John Porter.
    6. Best Dressed: Lucas North.
    7. Best Undressed: Sir Guy.
    8. Best Voice: Richard Armitage, himself<3
    9. Best Kiss: John Thornton
    10. Best Memorable Quotes: at the moment the two quotations came to my mind, Sir Guy "Stay. And make this place bearable." and “woman, your willfulness will kill you”.

    Like

  6. July 31, 2013–Lucas North Richard Armitage “Stranger in Moscow” vid by Delicate Blossom

    Lucas North seemed to be a pretty good kisser–for what he had to work with. Ha! And he is handsome and dashing–and sexy as hell,clothed or unclothed. But his tortured soul really touched my heart. Here is a lovely video that I just happened across. Enjoy!

    Like

  7. July 31, 2013–And Richard Armitage portraying John Thornton is my first and always love. Both Richard and John are true gentlemen–honorable, respectful of others, well mannered, and passionate. Sighhhh!

    And in honor of a true lady, Angela Smith (aka Spikesbint), here again is her beautifully haunting video “North & South – Tears of an Angel”:

    Like

  8. August 1, 2013–As I wrote over on Armitage Agonistes blog just now:

    Grrrrr! Sooooo close! But it is amazing that RA is getting this close this quickly–and I’m guessing without “block voting”–no doubt due to his greater world wide recognition this year rather than last year.

    now regarding the Anglophenia after round 1 poll that closed this morning–with Cumberpatch nudging past Armitage:

    Benedict Cumberbatch or Richard Armitage? (Poll Closed)
    Benedict Cumberbatch 50.45%
    Richard Armitage 49.55%

    P.S. Here is Armitage Agonistes’ blog link: https://armitageagonistes.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/less-than-half-a-point-with-10-minutes-to-go/comment-page-1/

    Like

  9. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 90: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  10. i.f. says:

    Did you consider enclosing Robert Lovelace (Clarissa) in your range of characters? I know it might be a bit unusual to think of a character not having come to live on screen but only in a radio play. But my – have you heard it? His performance perfectly fits #1, #2, #3, #8, #9, #10.

    When I was young and innocent I thought audio-books and radio plays are only for people that are at least 4 generations senior to me. I have never been so wrong…….

    Like

    • Giggles i.f.!
      No to me thinking about RA’s audio and audio book roles–but good for you bringing them up.

      Robert Lovelace (“mine, mine”) in Clarissa is not my favorite audio role of RA’s–simply because he is so despicable (#3). Ha!

      The distinction of my favorite audio role or RA’s goes to Lord Rule in his narration of the audio book The Convenient Marriage. And I love RA’s whole narration of this story. Actually, I would love to see Richard Armitage portray Lord Rule on film.

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

