A Perfect Fun Day Sunday Picnic Dream with Richard Armitage, September 08, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #446)

The weekends are the perfect time to rest and relax for me. In fact, I have so much to and fro during the week driving my husband to work and back and myself to work and back since we have been down to one car for fifteen months– as well as the mid day run that I make for feeding and letting outside our two doggies Heidi and Max–that weekends I just nest.    Sighhhhh!

I don’t usually set foot out of my house–except to water the plants on our deck and to bring the said doggies back inside.  So I pad around my home in my comfy clothes–soft and stretch blouse fabrics usually with either pink or lavender in them, over non constricting stretchy camis and capri pants.   And though I tell myself that I am pampering my skin by not wearing makeup–just moisturizer–over the weekend, I still set my hair in hot rollers so it is full and falls in soft curls over my shoulders.  Hey!   I have a hubby who says I look younger anyway without my make up on–he is well trained, ha!–but I know he particularly likes how feminine my hair is now that it has grown so long.  And I still like to be feminine even while being comfy.

And nesting for me also means reading stories, writing stories, and chatting online with my friends about this guy (little g) whom we know only by his work and reputation–the talented British actor Richard Armitage.  We don’t know him personally–but he is one whom we would like to know.  Ha!  This fellow is six foot two or maybe three–depending upon who interviews him.  He is a mature handsome man of 42 years–he is no boy toy– who just gets bettah with age.  He is poised and gentlemanly in public settings and admired by his colleagues for his professionalism and authenticity in his character portrayals.  And he is admired by his fans the world over.  Naturally!

And his work ethic is so pronounced, that that barely a new advert or voiceover narration and such are not released.  Yet recently, this man has not been seen anywhere lately–not personally, nor professionally.  Might he be a secret nester like me?  Is he quietly having some much needed down time to rest and relax, recharge his batteries, visit with friends and family, and *gasp* do his laundry?

If it is the latter of playing catch up with his laundry, just a note or two of caution to  Promo2003_RichardArmitage06Sep0813ranet-hi-res-clrhim–read the clothing care labels, separate lights and darks, wash everything in cold anyway, and be careful to line dry where needed.  I often wondered if this shirt of his from this 2003 portrait (image right) was the result of not following that last guideline.  My clue being the wrinkly–dare I say shriveled?–look to the fabric.  [I know, it’s supposed to look like that.]  And I see that he didn’t even try to button the shirt up any higher than his chest.  Though with my fondness for his clavicle, shoulders, and neckage as renaissance architectural structures–things of beauty not surpassed anywhere in nature–I am not complaining. Ha!  On second thought, maybe he should wash all of his clothes in hot water and run them through the dryer.  Too tight and unbuttoned fabric is oh so sexy on him!   Purrr!

I know, I know. No doubt the man has clothes given to him with every photo shoot.  So he probably has enough clothes that he doesn’t have to worry about washing his outer clothes for 30 days.  Yet, I can’t imagine that the man owns thirty pairs of underwear to stave off completely doing laundry for a month.  So I’m guessing that he has seven pairs–one for each day of the week–and his briefs (my preference over boxers) are maybe on a weekly wearing and washing cycle.  And no, I will not post any images of different styles of briefs because the images were just too scandalous for a Sunday morning–and you can Google them as well as I can.  Ha!

But I digress.  England’s Hearthrob has to eat sometime, right?  So I say that this Sunday with its predicted 85 degrees with cooling breezes is the perfect weather for a picnic by the lake.   There is a lovely unspoiled lake just thirty minutes away from us at DawsonLake-at-MoraineViewStatePark-IllinoisSep0813IL-dnr-hi-res-clrMoraine View State Park (image left).  My hubby and my picnic meals are the usual easy to pack cold foods of fried chicken, potato salad, fruit, raw veggies to nibble on, and sodas or water to drink.  And I will make my yummy fudgie brownies with powdered  sugar on top for dessert.   After lunch, we can stroll close to the lake and tear off bits of bread to toss into the lake to feed whatever fish or fowl are around to nibble on it.   Or we could take a walk in the woods to see how many creatures we can spot.  And for the really adventurous, there are even stables where horses can be rented for group guided trail rides were this fellow to miss the connection he has had in past film roles to those noble beasts.  It will be a lovely restful day.

So I will sparingly apply my make-up as usual–fresh faced is what I’m going for–curl Promo2013RichardArmitage05byTraceyNearmy-Sep0813ranet-crop-hi-res-drkmy long hair but tame it with a headband because  the wind would blow it around too much, and endure the slight constriction of foundation undergarments to go out in public to enjoy this lovely day for a picnic by the lake. And if I happen to see this friendly fellow (image right) standing around waiting for an invitation to a picnic–with part of his shirt casually untucked in a haphazard and carefree manner–I will extend my picnic invitation to him, as I do to all of you who might be in my neck of the woods on any given Sunday while the weather is still agreeable.

So wherever you are, I hope that you enjoy these last lush days of Summer into Fall/Autumn.  They are worth my venturing out of my cozy nest to reacquaint myself with nature and all of its beauty.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in My Life, Richard Armitage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Perfect Fun Day Sunday Picnic Dream with Richard Armitage, September 08, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #446)

  1. utepirat says:

    What a lovely description of a beautiful late summer Sunday, especially while a bad thunderstorm is going to happen around my hometown in Germany.
    So I take the opportunity to nest, too, googling mens briefs (hot link there) and imagining a special men wearing them, or should it be the swimming trunks? :) and I´d do the laundry for him, of course.
    Enjoy your Sunday, it seems to be a wonderful place on earth where you live…

    Like

    • Hi Utepirat,
      Thanks for your kind note! When the sun is bright, the sky is blue, and a gentle breeze takes the edge off of the heat, all is right with the world here in the Midwest of the U.S. The leaves have yet to turn their brilliant colors of gold, red, purple, and burgundy. That will have to be another post. Ha!

      Giggles! When I looked at the various brief brands’ advertising images for a possible illustration to my essay above, some of the guys’ attributes were so “prominent” that it looked like codpieces had come back into style. Ha! Maybe I’ll have to do a separate post sometime about “brief/boxer selection and loins”. Ha! Though I fear that Agzym and others would do it more justice than I since they are bolder than I am. Ha!

      And RA’s Speedo screencaps from his “Cold Feet” days (2003) are indeed attention getting–for his upper chest definition as well–for the reasons I noted with the first image above. The man is gorgeous head to toe and everywhere in between. Sighhhh!

      Wishing you a lovely Sunday for yourself! Cheers! Grati;->

      Like

  2. Marie Astra says:

    Aww this is so lovely, Gratiana! England’s hearthrob? I think our man belongs to the world right now! So many fans from everywhere! Such a nice thought to think about him “nesting” with his beloved! :D

    Like

    • Hi Marie Astra,
      Thanks for your nice note! And I agree, Richard Armitage has world wide fans. Go Global Team Armitage!

      And Sundays are a perfect time for unhurried cuddles with your sweetheart–wishing RA some cuddles, too. Frankly, if my hubby and I didn’t have our two dogs as “alarm clocks”, Saturdays would also be cuddle time. Ha!

      Have a lovely Sunday! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda 96: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  4. AgzyM says:

    I’m imagining Richard sitting in a giant nest fluffing his feathers ;)

    Like

    • Giggles, AgzyM!
      Now would Richard be an eagle–majestic, soaring, with unsurpassed grace of spirit? I loved that scene in THAUJ at the end when the eagles fly the Dwarves and company near to Erebor!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

