Sharing Saturday: Three things you didn’t know about Grati, November 16, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #471)

My friend Jazzy on Facebook–and of the Funky Blue Dandelion blog–passed along a challenge to share numbered sets of not previously known info about oneself.    She “gave” me the number 8.  Yikes!

Oooh!   I’m with our other friend Kitty about putting myself out there most of the time anyway.  Ha!  Besides, I doubt if I could scrounge up 8 previously unknown things about me to share that anyone would find remotely interesting.   Having said that, I find other people’s minutiae endlessly fascinating.  So who knows?   Maybe someone else–other than my hubby, of course, ha!–will find me fascinating.  Ha!  And I’m not usually in the habit of posting personal items on Facebook–except for my story posts, which are very personal to me.

But how about 3 Grati tid bits?  BirthdayCupcakeNov1613MSOfcClipArt

1)  My birthday coincides with a national holiday every six years–so when I was six years old, I thought that the family gathered together for me, not for the holiday.  Ha!  The restaurant we ate at seemed to reinforce this in my mind because they brought me a cupcake with a candle in it.  Ha!

2)  I wonder if one reason I love milk so much is because my grandfather owned a dairy GlassMilkJugNov1613GratianaLovelacedecades before I was born?  As in, around the first part of the last century.  No, I’m not that old (Ha!)–but my mother was their youngest child and she married and had us late in life.  Ergo, milk is in my blood.  Ha!  And I still try to find old glass milk jugs from my grandpa’s dairy when I go to flea markets.  No luck yet.  But here is an example of a milk jug that I do have on a shelf in my dining room as an homage to nostalgia (my image right, filled with white pellets to approximate milk, Ha!).

3)  I fell in love with blue and white china (and crockery) when I was a little girl because my GravyBowlNov1513GratianaLovelacematernal grandmother had an old blue and white (faded gray now really, ha!) gravy bowl with a blue handle on it that she served us with.  She didn’t cook really–just chicken and noodles, strawberry preserves, and homemade custard.  I guess most of the food groups were represented in her limited culinary capacity.  Ha!  And you know? I still have that crockery gravy bowl (my image right)–and I use it when gravy is called for at family meal gatherings, too.

So, dear readers.  Care to share something about yourselves?   I see the numbers of views for my posts–and the total number visitors to my blog on any given day–but only a handful of people make comments.  And thank you to those faithful commenters!  But I would so love to hear from some more of you–even if you are too shy to share a memory and you only say hi, and maybe tell me where in the world that you live.  By the way, I’m from Illinois in the U.S.

Cheers!   Grati ;->

P.S. Relevant to my fascination with blue, I like a certain man in navy blue plaid, too.  Lovely new RA portraits for NY Moves Magazine shared are at Its an RA World blog .I can’t wait to buy that issue of the magazine!  I wonder if it will contain apartment photos.  I love home furnishings/layouts kinds of articles.  Thanks also to Armitage Agonistes for clarifying the Getty images label of “self assignment”.  Ha!

P.S.  And you knew that I couldn’t let a post go by without a teensy image of Richard Armitage, too. Ha!

KeepCalmSelfDec2013RichardArmitageProfileNavyPlaidNov1613ItsanRAWorld

Nota Bene:  This Richard Armitage image is just for personal expression and to encourage others to buy the NY Moves magazine.  The photographer who took this gorgeous portrait of Richard Armitage was Leslie Hassler, New York.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Birthday, Graphic, Humor, My Life, Portraits, Richard Armitage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sharing Saturday: Three things you didn’t know about Grati, November 16, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #471)

  1. Perry says:

    Not too comfortable with this, Grati, but here goes:as a little girl I was obsessed with cowboys and girls,and frequently ran around in a cowgirl outfit complete with plastic fringes, a hat and a six shooter. I straddled the back of a big arm chair to use as my horse. My two favorite birthdays were when my parents took me ( twice) to the rodeo at Madison Square Garden. My father used to take me to the zoo or Coney Island on Sundays where he would stand patiently while I went on horseback rides , which really meant some man walking me around the ring while I was on a horse over and over.

    My second nanny was a doberman pinscher. Her name was Dawn.

    Like

    • Giggles Perry!
      No one has to share a memory if they don’t want to. But I love your cowgirl story! Dressing up is so much fun as a child. I envy you your pony ride. And your “second’ nanny sounds quite formidable! Ha!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. jazzbaby1 says:

    This is a great list, Grati! I have to admit that my favorite of those lists was posted by a friend who wrote lines from songs (one was “I’m a cowboy, on a steel horse I ride”) and said there was truth in each one and if we knew him well we’d figure out what they meant. An extra from me because you asked: I did not inherit my mother’s math gene. When she graduated from high school in 1964 she was offered full-ride academic scolarships to study math or science at three different universities. When I took the SATs in the 80s my verbal score was high but my math score was the one they give you when you put your name on the paper. My husband is teaching the kids basic math thinking and all I can do is whip out my calculator. :)

    Like

    • Giggles Jazzy!
      Thanks for your nice note! I love the cowboy story! I wonder if cowboy stories in families are a generational thing? Us having grown up in the era of John Wayne “McClintock” (a fun film) swagger and “Gunsmoke” (tv)? Ha!

      However, I did inherit my engineer Dad’s “math gene”–and love of it. Ha! Though I eventually veered into speech and English after starting out in math ed, I still use quite a bit of math for work–accounting (Oh Harry, dear, Ha!), algebra, statistics, etc. And I love math puzzles–sudoku and such. And of course, I help organize our university’s annual Women in STEM careers conferences for girls in 5th – 10th grade–the national link is http://www.expandingyourhorizons.org .

      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. Servetus says:

    Good to know you like milk :)

    Like

  4. Servetus says:

    Oh, and I think I basically do nothing BUT talk about myself. But — I almost didn’t graduate on time from high school because — tada — I was missing a history credit.

    Like

  5. Nov.17–Jazzy at Funky Blue Dandelion has a suggestion for that drink that RA suggested in his NY Moves interview ( Link by Morrighan’s Muse : http://www.newyorkmoves.com/?p=5200 ) with a request to help Jazzy name her cocktail entry her blog before she submits it to NYMoves:

    http://funkybluedandelion.blogspot.com/2013/11/cocktail-challenge-seriously.html

    Grati:
    Giggles! My RA cocktail suggestion was a “Roarin Thorin”:
    rum, gin, vodka, and tequila (like a Long Island Iced Tea), then add Pineapple Juice for extra kick. Ha!

    And as to you naming Jazzy’s drink “process”? Ha! Hmmm. How about:
    1) The Unexpected Journey to the drink you really want;
    2) The Smaug of Someliers
    3) Back Again at the Bar for some more

    Please go give Jazzy some love and provide your own naming suggestions on her blog.

    And don’t forget to visit the NY Moves link to submit your own drink entry.

    Here also is Morrighan’s Muse blog post about Richard Armitage’s NYMoves interview:
    http://lovesexandotherdirtywords.com/2013/11/16/well-its-here-and-its-good/

    Like

  6. katie70 says:

    This is fun. Well lets see, Mr. 70 and I have known each other for 38 years and are 43. That would make us kindergarten sweethearts of sorts. I move away for 6 years from 5th grade – 10th grade, I didn’t remember him but he remembered me. We started dating 25 years ago in February 1989. On Tuesday November 19th we will be married for 23 years and today it has been 23 years since my call up to active duty from the Wisconsin Army Guard.

    Like

  7. This is fun to read. :) As for sharing s.th.about myself, maybe something on the math topic. I used to be really good at maths at school and everyone expected me to go that way later, but I didn’t. Got degrees in languages and history because…tada… “I could already count pretty well”. *winks* Not sure it was the right choice.

    Like

    • Hi Bryni!
      Thanks for your nice note! I think this is your first comment. Welcome! Good for you about math and languages/history! We have to follow our passions–wherever they lead us.
      Choices we make, or that are made for us, can sometimes have unanticipated outcomes–sometimes happily so. For me, to end up where I am now–not perfect, but quite content–I wouldn’t change a thing. Well, maybe “one” thing–which some might guess. And I took a very circuitous career and life path. Ha! I still have some goals–NY Times Best seller list! Ha! Bu if you don’t dream, it won’t have a chance of happening.
      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  8. Lesley, Eagle, and Marie, Thanks for the likes! Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

