THDofS World Premiere in LA (Part 2, Grati’s Caps), December 03, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (#478b)

I loved “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” World Premiere LA Black Carpet THDofS--Dec2HollywoodPremiereTicketNov2613TORN-hi-res-smlLivestream!  I took 84 caps that I will share with you in a slideshow below.

Nota Bene:  All THDofS  images belong to Warner  Bros. Pictures. I’m just a fan promoting a film that I am sure to enjoy.

But first, my impressions about the organization of the event (I’m a back seat tv director here):

1)       The order of the black carpet THDofS attendees needed to build a bit more, from least to most important–with Sir Peter Jackson coming last–and be better guided  to the broadcast host Dave K., with less gaps in between;  chatter from the hosts trying to fill air time–we don’t need;  we want to see the stars;  And of course,  the only mispronunciation of the night had to come in introducing Richard Armitage as portraying Thorin Orkinshield? (Thorin is not a termite removal company.  Ha!)

2)      And though the social media co-host Amy P. was game to fill air time when the interview host Dave K. had no one to interview, I felt switching to her for social media questions took up precious time that could have been spent with camera close-ups of the cast and crew meeting with fans.  She kept saying that so and so was just over there given fans autographs and chatting with them, but the camera never showed them–very frustrating;  yes, they were trying to be inclusive of fans, but as a fan sitting at home, I was only interested in the stars, not other fans (unless, of course, it was a fan I knew.  Ha!);

3)      The THDofS black carpet interview backdrops were stunningly gorgeous (below)!
RichardArmitage-in-HugoBossNov3013IlariaUrbinati-cropBut the too narrow space (depth wise) meant that interviews were shot in close-ups (upper torso)–no full length images, no trousers and no shoes were visible via the video footage. And we know that Ms. Ilaria Urbinati was doing the wardrobe styling of Richard Armitage for the World Premiere because she tweeted that she was–and she also styled him for the Nov. 30th  New Zealand Book event (image left).

But thank goodness that The Hobbit Movie tweeted some full length images (Richard 0DofSWorldPremLARichardArmitageDec0213TheHobbitMovieRevArmitage with trousers and shoes, right, Ha!): Loved the suit with vest, cuffs showing, and great shoes!  Richard Armitage looked professional and effortlessly elegant–and he looked comfortable, too.  Well done Ms. Urbinati!  And well done Mr. Armitage!

However back to my point, people looked quite cramped as they moved around or even just stood there.  The Theatre looked so impressive and majestic from pictures shared by fans (below).  The black carpet up to it should have been equally as grand in scale and size.  Wellington shut down the whole street–for a mile.  And despite the road closure notice for Hollywood Boulevard, we could still see cars whizzing by in two driving lanes in the background.  So they could have deepened the black carpet by at least one lane.

THDofS--Dec2LA Premiere Stage Dec0213TheHobbitMovie                           THDofS--Dec2LAPremiere-theatreDec0213GuyKawasakiTweet
The Hobbit Movie                                      Guy Kawasaki              

THDofS--Dec2LA Premiere Entrance2 Dec0213MiddleEarthNewsTweet                              HwoodBlvdClosureTHDofSPremDec0213-Nov2613NavitageHwoodcom-smlr
Middle Earth News                              Navigate Hollywood

But, I’m being picky.  And the fact that this event had a live stream for fans at home to enjoy was delightful.    So just ignore me. Ha!

Anyway, before I give you my 84 caps in a slideshow, here are my two favorite caps of mine for the night of Richard Armitage:
0DofSWorldPremLA73RichardArmitageDec0213GratiLovelaceCapRev

0DofSWorldPremLA81Armitage&CastDec0213GratiLovelaceCapRev

Now, without further ado, here are the 84 caps I took of the THDofS World Premiere Livestream event:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Desolation of Smaug, Graphic, Middle Earth, movies, Richard Armitage, The Hobbit, Thorin and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to THDofS World Premiere in LA (Part 2, Grati’s Caps), December 03, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (#478b)

  1. Dec. 3, 2013–I am receiving dozens of view from Italy this morning.

    Buongiorno, Italia!

    Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  2. Hi Xenia! Thanks for liking this post! Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  3. Perry says:

    Thanks for this Grati. I managed to get four or five – a record for me. These are really something.

    Like

    • Hi Perry,
      Thanks for your nice note. By now I have a system down for live capping:
      1) when live stream window is active and I see an image I like, I hit printscreen button on laptop;
      2) I immediately switch to my open Adobe Photoshop window and select New from Clipboard (it pastes the printscreen into a new window; leave it there for editing later);
      3) go back to live stream window to cap some more; repeat;
      4) Photoshop will number the printscreens lowest to highest–putting the most recent (highest #) on top. So after the live event is over I go back to edit (crop, resize, sharpen) in reverser order most recent cap (highest number) to first cap–and save to a new folder with image file names that have the format:
      a) event abbreviation,
      b) cap number (that way they appear in chronological order by number),
      c) abbreviated description of who or what is in the cap,
      d) date of event,
      e) my name or originator’s name,
      f) any subsequent edits I make to the image
      So the filename ends up being something like, in this case:
      THDofSWorldPremLA-03-hostDaveK-Dec0213GratianaLovelace

      It’s the editing the images from Photoshop’s temporary windows to their final “resting place” in a unique folder, cropped, and having a unique filename that takes the time. That’s why I don’t do live event capping often. I’m tuckered out. Ha!

      Cheers! Grati;->

      P.S. To my blog readers, I haven’t tried to download slideshows in my posts as an alias to see if it can be done. Feel free to do so to enjoy the images on your computer, just please credit my capping if you post an image I capped elsewhere. However the images belong to Warner Bros. Pictures–and they should be credited as well.

      If you can’t download the slideshow and you want me to thumbnail the images into a contact sheet like format in a new post for easier downloading selected images. Let me know.

      Don’t forget that RANet (www.RichardArmitageNet.com), RAC (www.RichardArmitageCentral.co.uk), and other fan resource sites will have probably capped these and other images, too.

      Like

      • Perry says:

        Ha.So I did the same thing at turtle speed. Am I right , that you must paste the current screenshot,into photo editor because if you screenshot again you will lose the earlier one -of not pasted.

        Like

        • Giggles about your “turtle speed”. Ha!

          Yes, you will lose the capped image if you don’t immediately paste it into your photo editor.

          So, you must hit printscreen, go to Photoshop and choose “new from clipboard” (which pastes it into a new window)–or whatever procedure your photo editor calls it–then go back to your other window where you are capping for the next print screen. Repeat.

          Like

  4. Dec. 03, 2013-Armitage Agonistes (Thanks!), shared the link for Crystal Chandlyre’s account of being at the THDofS World Premiere in LA and seeing Richard Armitage up close:

    http://crystalchandlyre.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/seeing-richard-armitage-against-all-odds-or-welcome-to-my-hood-richard/

    Like

  5. Dec. 3, 2013-Armitage Agonistes (Thanks!) shared a video link for Richard Armitage posing at the THDofS World Premiere in LA with photographers shouting his name to get his attention.

    But gals, I think we fangirls could out shout them. Lovely smiles from Richard here.

    http://armitageagonistes.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/richard-richard-richard-hold-that-smile/

    Like

  6. Great post and there are some really great pictures here. I did get a pic of that sunset. Might post it. :)

    And the pics that you see by the fans (like mine) are actually part of the Mall that leads up to the Dolby Theatre, which is up the stairs and back. It was designed and built this way just for the Academy Awards, and functions like this of course, to best utilize Hollywood Boulevard. :)

    Like

    • Hi Crystal Chandlyre,
      Thanks for your kind note about my post and pix! I read somewhere (maybe your essay?) that Richard Armitage was walking up the Oscar steps when walking into the theatre. The must give a person chills! The venue is amazingly majestic! Perfect for this epic film’s world premiere!
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  7. Dec. 03, 2013–Brigitta (thanks!)shared a great Richard Armitage interview link on Facebook:

    “Richard Armitage Reveals What Peter Jackson is REALLY Like”, by Rotten Tomatoes

    Like

  8. Dec. 03, 2013–Ma Vie En L’air has a great article interview of Richard with pix

    http://mavieenlair18.wordpress.com/2013/12/03/the-hobbit-the-desolation-of-smaug-tf-indonesia-feature-richard-armitage/

    Two excerpts, of RA quotes that I especially liked:
    Richard Armitage: ““Thorin’s not somebody I was in love with initially,” confessed Armitage, a longtime J.R.R. Tolkien fan with a purist streak in his love for the writer’s works. “I was often at odds with him and disagreeing with him,all the way trying to defend him. But I think I’ve found a place in him whereby the thing I loved about him was his loyalty to his men and the fact that he would fight to the death for them.””

    And later in the article:
    “As calm and collected as Armitage is in real life, there’s no denying his enthusiasm to act under Peter Jackson’s direction. “I’d go away the night before and imagine how the scene would be, and come back in and the first thing Peter would do was to tell me exactly what I’d imagined. I was like, ‘We really are on the same page.’ That was a brilliant thing,” he said, describing his collaborative process with Jackson, especially during the pick-ups. “In the final two weeks of pickups, it was very much myself and Peter working together. We were both pushed to the limit and we really got through the last week together. It was a relationship based on trust.” “

    Like

  9. Dec. 04, 2013–My dear friend Kitty (Thanks!) shared a link on Facebook to a post World Premiere Access Hollywood brief interview with Richard Armitage that is delightful. He is so charming and self effacing. Sighhh!

    “Richard Armitage Reacts To Fan Enthusiasm At The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug Premiere”
    http://watch.accesshollywood.com/video/richard-armitage-reacts-to-fan-enthusiasm-at-the-hobbit:-the-desolation-of-smaug-premiere/2893533201001?utm_source=watch.accesshollywood.com&utm_medium=share-link

    Like

  10. Dec. 04, 2014–Richard Armitage France share this link to a fabulous Hobbit 2 playlist.

    This video has clip after clip of THDofS scenes and behind the scenes action–so keeping watching when it goes to black in between the clips, another clip will start soon. So cool! Definitely choose, “play all”:

    http://cinema.jeuxactu.com/news-cinema-streaming-the-hobbit-2-22017.htm

    The article credit is “par Morgane Cadignan”.

    Here is the direct video playlist link as well (video playlist by Fresh Movie Trailers)
    “Your World Will Burn” THE HOBBIT 2 The Desolation of Smaug…” (Clip #4)

    Then clip # 3 plays, then clip #2, then clip #1.Enjoy!

    Like

  11. Dec. 6, 2013–Richard Armitage is live tweeting about THDofS at 10:50am NYC time

    Send your questions via tweet to #AskThorin

    Like

  12. Dec.5, 2013–Thanks to Armitage Agonistes blog who pointed me to an online Today Show interview with Richard Armitage talking about THDofS and his gift wish for Christmas:

    P.S. And her is AA’s blog post link:
    http://armitageagonistes.wordpress.com/2013/12/05/what-richard-armitage-wants-for-christmas-and-more/

    Like

  13. Dec. 5, 2013–Jonia of Jonia’s Cut (Thanks!) shared a link for a video touting little known facts about The Hobbit–and Richard Armitage is mentioned in #2:

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

