Sexy SatuRdAy: Richard Armitage Fans JUST GIVING Back, December 7, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #480)

I for one, can’t wait until The Hobbit:  The Desolationof SmauTHDesolationofSmaug_poster_Dec0713TheHobbitComg debuts on Dec. 13th!  So celebrating British actor Richard Armitage portraying Thorin Oakenshield in  “The Hobbit:  The Desolation of  Smaug,”  (mage right) through chartable.

Last year, several Richard Armitage fans were virtually sitting around talking and came up with the idea to promote Richard Armitage’s Just Giving charitable giving site as a way to honor him for his artistic achievement as Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit:  And Unexpected Journey.  It was called The Hobbit Gift Bomb for charity.  I made the giving graphic that caught on and that bloggers and tumblrs, etc.,  shared on their site to promote it.

This year, I have talked with a few bloggers about renewing this idea of promoting Richard Armitage’s Just Giving charitable giving site–with a name change to Fans Just Giving Back that Zan and I each had a hand in phrasing–but with variable feedback since it is such a busy time of year.  However,  I’m moving ahead with the suggestion that one way Richard Armitage Fans can share their admiration for Richard Armitage in his role as Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug (poster right) is through donating to one of his chosen charities at RA’s Just Giving site.

I created a new graphic (see images below) and posted  it in my sidebar for the World Premiere of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug  (THDofS) as a soft beginning to the Fans JUST GIVING Back initiative.  We have one week until the release of the film THDofS on December 13, 2013 world wide.

CA: BAFTA Los Angeles TV Tea
So I gently suggest that if your spirit is so moved, please donate to  the JUST Giving site between now and through December 15th–the weekend of the THDofS film’s release–as just one more way to honor Richard Armitage (image right courtesy of RANet) as a masterful storyteller, compassionate man, and a true gentleman.

And here is how you can help encourage other RA Fans to make a donation (all levels of giving are welcome) to Richard Armitage’s Just Giving site:

1)       Please make a donation yourself and list in your donation comments Fans Just Giving Back.  Though we have no way of tracking or counting up donations, this will help me gauge  if some of these charitable giving efforts have been fruitful.  Every donation level is welcome.  Donating $5, $10, $25, etc., in dollars or pounds becomes even more meaningful when they are pooled together.

2)      Please promote the Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative on your blogs, tumblrs, Facebook page, Twitter, Pinterest, etc.  Here is the Just Giving link to share (http://www.justgiving.com/user/18578864 ). And here are the two graphics that  I created with size info for you to use:

Sidebar size (200×209)      and                        Larger size for a Post (900×941)
FansJustGivingBack1--HonoringRichardArmitageasThorin-inTHDofSNov2313GratianaLovelace_200x209                              FansJustGivingBack1--HonoringRichardArmitageasThorin-inTHDofSNov2313GratianaLovelace_900x941

Update:  And to promote this giving initiative on Twitter, I created the hashtag:
#RAFansGiveBack

3)      Please let me know that you are also promoting the Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative  by commenting below with your blog/tumblr name & link so that I may add you to  my thank yous.  So far, here is who has expressly committed to promoting this initiative:

An RAViewer’sPerspective by Mulubinba
April’s  Violet by April
Armitage Agonistes by Perry
CRYSTALCHANDLYRE  by CrystalChandlyre
FunkyBlueDandelion by Jazzy
I Want to be a Pin Up by AgzyM
Me+RichardArmitage by Servetus
Richardtreehouse by Richard
Something About Love by Grati
Well, There You Go … Musings, Meanderings, and Richard Armitage by Zaniam

And to remind us of why Sir Peter Jackson felt Richard Armitage was the right choice to portray the role of Thorin Oakenshield, here is a video from the THAUJ Japan Premiere press:

“Peter Jackson speaks about Richard Armitage and Thorin in THAUJ” (Japan Premiere press), video by jepineo

And finally, let’s enjoy a glimpse of Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield in the 2nd film of the trilogy, The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug:

“The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Sneak Peek [HD],” a video by Warner Bros. Pictures

And here are some of my caps featuring Richard Armitage as Thorin Oakenshield from the Sneak Peak video:

THDofS-SneakPeak-1-IhavetheonlyrightDec0713WBPictures THDofS-SneakPeak-2Thorin-and-KeyDec0713WBPictures THDofS-SneakPeak-3Thorin-BroodingDec0713WBPictures THDofS-SneakPeak-4Thorin-ThatiswhyyouarehereDec0713WBPictures THDofS-SneakPeak-5Thorin-suspecting-BilboDec0713WBPictures  THDofS-SneakPeak-7Thorin-IfthisendsinfireDec0713WBPictures THDofS-SneakPeak-8ThorinExplodingOutDec0713WBPictures THDofS-SneakPeak-9LogoDec0713WBPictures
And one more look at Thorin Oakenshield (as portrayed by Richard Armitage):

THDofS-stills-Thorin2-FMovieMag-Nov2013ranet

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Desolation of Smaug, Fangurling, Giving, Graphic, Middle Earth, movies, Richard Armitage, Sexy, The Hobbit, Thorin, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Sexy SatuRdAy: Richard Armitage Fans JUST GIVING Back, December 7, 2013 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #480)

  1. Servetus says:

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    Check it out! Another opportunity to give something back.

    Like

    • Hi Servetus,
      Thanks so much for promoting the Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative! I will add you to my thank yous in the post. You had a wonderful idea last year when you came up with the initial giving campaign, and it is gReAt to be able to continue it this year.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. Perry says:

    Reblogged this on Armitage Agonistes and commented:
    A concerted giving project to mark appreciation for Richard Armitage’s performance by helping his charities.

    Like

  3. Mulubinba says:

    Great idea Grati. I will promote on my blog :)

    Like

    • Hi Mulubinba.
      Thanks for supporting this RA Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative this year. And I can’t claim to have had the initial idea last year–that credit goes to Servetus and then Judiang who organized it. I am just continuing it this year.
      I will add your blog link to the thank you list in my post.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Pingback: What Richard Armitage (Hollywood Heartthrob) Does With Fan Art | Armitage Agonistes

  5. AgzyM says:

    Hello, what a beautiful initiative, please count me in!
    Just as soon as I round up RA Silent Auction (I’m waiting for one more transfer, then we’re done), I’ll add the info in my sidebar :)

    Like

    • Hi AgzyM,
      Thanks for supporting RA’s Just Giving site–with your earlier Silent Auction, and now with this Fans JUST GIVING Back initiative. I look forward to hearing your auction results! Great fun was had by all.
      I will add your blog link to my thank you list in my post here.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  6. Promoted on WordPress and Twitter. Great idea!! Thanks for making it so easy!

    Like

    • Hi Richard!
      Thanks for supporting the RA Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative. And I love your concise post. Ha! I will add your blog link to the thank yous in my post above.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  7. Dec. 7, 2013–Leicester Mercury article with another example of Richard Armitage supporting charitable causes:

    http://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/Hollywood-star-donates-signed-art-auction/story-20271886-detail/story.html

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on crystalchandlyre and commented:
    This is a fantastic idea and one I completely and wholeheartedly support. Similarly, you can also visit and access the charity links at RichardArmitageNet.com.

    Like

    • Hi Crystalchandlyre,
      Thanks for the reblog and supporting this RA Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving effort. I will add your blog link to the thank you listing in my post above.
      Credit is due to the originators last year, Servetus and Judiang. I just made the graphic. But this is the time of giving so several of us thought that it was a good idea to give it a go again.
      Thanks also for mentioning the RANet site. I buy all of my online stuff through RANet’s Amazon Associate link, because Ali donates the commissions to one of RA’s Just Giving charities.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  9. Dec.07, 2013–I just made my donation–to Childline–under my RL name (Ha!), and with our RA Fans JUST GIVING Back label. There are four RA Just GIving charities to choose from.

    And since I had earlier promised to make a memorial donation for a good friend’s mom to the Salvation Army, I will make that donation through RA’s Just Giving site–though with the appropriate memorial comment, not labeling it as FJGB. So, we have a donation twofer here. Ha!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Fans Just Giving Back … | Well, There You Go ...

  11. Dec.7, 2013
    Hi Zan (Well There You Go blogger),
    Thanks so much for helping to promote the RA Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative to honor Richard Armitage for his portrayal of Thorin Oakenshield in THDofS by supporting his chosen charities!
    I will add your blog link to the list of thank yous in my post above.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    Like

  12. Dec. 07, 2013–RANet shared a link to a wonderful New Zealand Herald interview with Richard Armitage (who portrayed Thorin Oakenshield, King Under the Mountain) and Lee Pace (who portrayed Elven King Thranduil) that share new insights from Richard Armitage about his experience filming and acting in The Hobbit trilogy of films:

    “The Hobbit’s clash of the kings”
    http://www.nzherald.co.nz/movies/news/article.cfm?c_id=200&objectid=11168789

    Like

  13. Dec. 07, 2013–Another great interview where Richard Armitage elaborates upon his conception of his character portrayal of Thorin Oakenshield in The Hobbit trilogy of films:

    “Richard Armitage – The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” a video ty TVsTalkingPictures

    Like

  14. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda “Boutique” 108: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  15. Dec. 08, 2013–Here is a link for one of the Valentina Armitage videos of Richard Armitage at the Waterstones Piccadilly THDofS book signing (link shared by Angelika):

    “Richard Armitage @ Waterstones Piccadilly London” video by Valentina Armitage

    Like

  16. Dec.08, 2013–Thanks to LinnetMouse, CrystalChandlyre, Vec170203 , Lamaruca, and Herba for liking this post! Cheers!

    Like

  17. Pingback: It’s curtains for RA Silent Auction 2013 | I Want to be a Pin Up

  18. Dec. 10, 2013–Many thanks to those who have already donated tothe Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving initiative. Though we’ve stated that Dec. 15th is the tentative end date for giving, if individuals are waiting for a pay check to arrive–or after their wallets are replenished from their holiday spending–they can also give later. Please be sure to include the “Fans JUST GIVING Back” in your donation comment. Thanks!

    Like

  19. Pingback: me + Richard Armitage after Madrid, before Wisconsin | Me + Richard Armitage

  20. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda “Boutique” 109: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  21. Pingback: Richard Armitage Legenda “Boutique” 110: Stuff worth reading | Me + Richard Armitage

  22. Dec. 20, 2013
    Hi Serv,
    Thanks so much for reminding folks about the RA Fans JUST GIVING Back charitable giving campaign. There has been a lot of interest in it based on messages. But only a few people have included the tagline “Fans JUST GIVING Back” in their donation messages,. So without the tagline, it’s hard to tell if their donation is part of this effort. And there might be some folks waiting to get past the holiday spending crunch and/or waiting to receive their next paycheck who will donate later. In any event, thanks to those who have already donated, and thanks to those who plan to donate.
    Cheers! Grati ;->

    P.S. A strange thing happened when I donated to two different Just Giving RA charities (under my real name on my credit card, ha!). My credit card company thought that it was odd to have two closely timed donations to the same site and they put a temporary hold on my credit card–as a potential fraud alert. Ha! I got it fixed. But for those who also plan to donate to more than one of RA’s Just Giving charities–or make any “international” purchases on other sites–you might want to make your donation transactions on different days.

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

