WCW: Is Actor Richard Armitage Causing Global Warming? March 12, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #528)

A good friend of mine related to me yesterday that she had a dream about the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage that made her feel warm.  Ever the lady–and supremely happily married–she was being modest and conservative in her disclosure. 

However, if I were relating one of my RA dreams–and I won’t, Ha!–I would suggest that my dreams exceed warm.  Dare I even say hot to sizzling?  And I’m in the extremely happily married camp, too.  Giggles!

Of course, I’m being facetious and poking fun at myself.  Even with my love stories that I write, I’m more of a PG-13 kind of girl (who sometimes stretches toward R, then skitters back to PG-13).  *blushes*

But there is something so charming and tender about Mr. Armitage’s portrayals of a lover GlamourJanuary2013-RichardArmitage01article_Mar1114ranet-sizedon screen–his gaze, his touch, and his kisses all convey the emotion of true love–that we can’t help but be attRActed to him.  And though I swoon for Richard Armitage’s romantic side of these  complex character portrayals of  Thornton, Guy, Lucas, and Porter, the shy sweet Standring also holds endless appeal for me as a romantic muse.  In a perfect world–of fan fic writers, ha!–passion will eventually burn brightly for Standring.  But I envision love happening for John Standring only after a long slow courtship between two hearts who are loving soulmates–kind of like my own courtship and marriage with my hubby.  Oooh!  I’m getting sidetracked.  With Richard Armitage (right from Glamour UK January 2013, courtesy of RANet; and the Glamour video below), that is easy to do.  Sighhhh!

And if two of the hundreds of thousands, probably now millions, of Richard Armitage fans worldwide admit to feeling over warm–when viewing, listening to, thinking about, reading about, writing about, and yes dreaming about him–if the rest of RA’s fan were to also admit feeling over warm, might there be enough datapoints to plot worldwide RA Fangirl temperatures?   Hmmm.

And if we plotted those RA Fangirls’ rising temperatures, would we see a correlation between Richard Armitage warming we Fangirls up and Global Warming of the Earth?   Or would there be an inverse relationship?  Or does the word relationship in the same sentence as Richard Armitage raise our temperatures all on its own?  Sighhhh!

So to be total geekettes about it, let’s look at some actual U.S. government Earth temperature statistics first, courtesy of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association (NOAA) from November 8, 2013 (gov’t data in blue;  Grati’s additions are in red):

YearlySurfaceTempAnom1880-2010_Nov0813NOAA_Mar1214sized_GratianaLovelace_red-labeling-rev

We can see in the world temperature chart above, that in the year of Richard Armitage’s birth, 1971, the Earth’s surface temperature was at what is considered to be the average of the temperatures plotted from 1880 to 2010.  So, RA’s birth year is a significant starting point for our discussion here–for Fangirls, anyway.  And then there are zig zaggy (technical term, not) peaks and valleys over the next several decades–with a presumed average temperature increase past 2010 (added in red by Grati).    (N.B.  All red items on the chart above were added by Grati–for fun.  Apologies to NOAA.)   QED–my reasoning above is so not QED, but I’m being facetious, so please play along.  As Richard Armitage pursued and broadened his career–and became more well known and admired–global temperatures rose on average. Snap!   Or should I say sizzle!?!

So let’s continue to be pseudo scientific–which means not scientific at all–and take a little poll test about our Fangirl reaction to Richard Armitage images as they might relate to we, his fans, becoming over warm–which ultimately might impact Global Warming trends (not).

RichardArmitage-Poll-of-Images-Warmth-Ratings-Mar1214GratianaLovelace-horizontal-sized

So there you have it!   A non-scientific look at Armitage World warming–global or otherwise–caused by Richard Armitage heating up his Fangirls.  Look up smoulder in the dictionary and you will see Richard Armitage’s portrait next to the entry.  Sighhhh!  *Gratiana fans self and goes in search of a cold shower …. uh, I mean some cold water, to sip*

P.S.  And let’s enjoy Tanni’s lovely Richard Armitage wallpaper again, this time full size:

RichardArmitage--BerlinPremiere-andAnglophileCollageMar0914Tanni-sized

Let’s all do a collective *THUD*   Sighhhh!

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in AttRAction, Fangurling, Graphic, Humor, John Porter, John Standring, John Thornton, Love and Relationships, Lucas North, Middle Earth, movies, North & South, Richard Armitage, Robin Hood, Romance, Sir Guy of Gisborne, Sparkhouse, Spooks, Strike Back, The Hobbit, Thorin, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to WCW: Is Actor Richard Armitage Causing Global Warming? March 12, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #528)

  1. Teuchter says:

    Am I really the first one to vote Grati? Floppy hair *always* does me in and that “errant bang” certainly raises *my* temperature! ;) *fans self* I recall an article in a British publication (forget which one at the moment) a few years ago where the reporter said something to the effect that if Richard could be plugged into the national grid they would be warm all winter! Works for me! :) Sure would cut down on the heating bills!

    Like

    • Giggles Teuchter!
      It’s only 12:27am right now where I am. So not too many stateside folks are awake. Ha! So you get the bragging rights on first vote.
      And I’m a “love to run my fingers through my man’s hair” kind of gal. So long locks–like RA’s errant bang hair are so tempting. *grins sheepishly*
      I think you’re on to something there about RA’s potential for energy production. He certainly seems electrifying to me. *wink* However, we have gas heat. So RA heating our home would require a different sort of “effort” on his part. Ha!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting! I’m off to bed to dReAm myself.
      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  2. March 12-13, 2014 and July 30, 2016–Thanks for liking this post:
    Crystal Chandlyre, Ladysableh, kelbel75, alyssabethancourt, Jazzbaby1, Servetus, richardtreehouse, ania- zrysiowana ja, & Buffy Brinkley

    Liked by 1 person

  3. guylty says:

    Oh, this was brilliant. Loved your graphic – I think you are on to something. If the Hollywood career doesn’t work out, RA could always go into the sustainable energy business. And yes, I am a strong contributor to this energy grid (although married *ooops*), and I voted in your poll.

    Like

    • Hi Guylty,
      Thanks so much for your lovely note! *blushes* RA’s dazzling smile alone could power a large geogRAphic aReA.
      And I’m to hear that you are “helping” in supplying this RA sustainable energy source to the world. Me, too!
      Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. kelbel75 says:

    there’s a significant jump there between LAMDA & SH; “smug man at party” spiked that heat index! :lol:

    Like

  5. Servetus says:

    More plausible than many explanations I have read!

    Like

  6. Servetus says:

    Reblogged this on Me + Richard Armitage and commented:
    Richard Armitage has certainly changed my climate!

    Like

  7. Sally says:

    Wot, no Guy??? :(

    Like

    • Hi Sally,
      My abject apologies for omitting the truly heat inducing RA character portrayal of Sir Guy of Gisborne as a poll choice–though I did mention him in the poll above. I was going for brevity–not my strong suit. Ha!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  8. jazzbaby1 says:

    Have I ever told you that “puddle of womanly essence” cracks me up every time you mention it?

    Like

    • Giggles, Jazzbaby1!
      Glad to give you a laugh with my “puddle of womanly essence” phrase! And with RA’s handsome legs and feet to drop to, one could gleefully give up verticality. Oooh! Jonia’s Cut’s crop of RA’s 2003 Cold Feet promo to his lower legs springs instantly to mind. Sighhh! Here is that link:

      *THUD*

      And maybe we could start a signature fRAgrance based on RA called Essence.
      For him, the Essence scent could be smokey pine with a hint of musk–those oh so masculine RA armpits that he deigns to wash for red carpet appearances, don’t you know.
      For her, the Essence scent could be yellow roses mixed with pine scent.

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  9. Frances says:

    Yeah, but Sir Guy deserves some credit too, since he has contributed hugely for the heating up. :D

    Like

  10. P.S. Due to popular request, I added Sir Guy of Gisborne, John Standring, Monet, and Lucas North to the poll choices. Enjoy!

    Like

  11. trudystattle says:

    So reassuring to see Thornton still consisted a hottie. But even *I* hesitated a moment in considering casting my vote for the real man himself in Berlin. It isn’t even legal to look that devastating and be good-natured and humble at the same time!!!

    Like

    • Hi Trudy,
      Richard Armitage’s portrayal of John Thornton is, indeed, a perennial favorite! Sighhhh! And I agree with you about Richard Armitage the man being so handsome and talented and modest and gentlemanly that it is no wonder that we all admire him so. Sighhhhhhhh times 1,000!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  12. Kitty says:

    The RA in my dream was rockin’ way too much Urkelesque factor. I am so glad we don’t have a picture of THAT. It would be fun, though, to see Mr. Armitage in such a challenging role. I’m sure he could pull it off!

    Like

    • Hi Kitty,
      Indeed! Ha! A “geeky” RA role–perhaps a cross between accountant Harry Kennedy and shy man John Standring–would be adorable.

      And we have yet to see RA do broad screwball comedy like from movies of the 1930’s–but he would be brilliant!

      Cheers! Grati ;->

      P.S. And thanks for being the inspiration to my post!

      Like

  13. katia says:

    “A prolonged warming of the temperatures when compared with the average value”.
    This is the scientific definition of “El Nino”.
    But for me this definition could perfectly apply to the RA’s effect all around the world !!!

    Like

  14. Irish Witch says:

    Grati,
    He puts me in mind of a RAdiant heater. No matter what DVD I watch it just gets hotter and hotter.to me Sir Guy does me in along with Thornton. Heck I just fall under his spell in them all.
    With the physical and then the acting….gah..my temps to soar. No one “smolders” like him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Giggles, Irish Witch, Good one! I also think that Richard’s RAdiant smiles are so dazzling that they could power a small town’s home electric grid. I have to fan myself whenever a new portrait of him comes out. Sighhh!

      Smoulder must be Richard’s middle name. It would be amusing to figure out how he developed that particular skill. For example, as a young child, did he practice a charismatic stare? Ha! Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  15. Irish Witch says:

    Grati,
    As always love your articles. RA? He puts me in mind of a RAdiant heater. Sir Guy and Thornton can put my temps quite high, love the longish hair and when it spikes on the forehead. All his roles, no matter what DVD I watch leave me warm to hot so air conditioning is on all year long. Every night is a selection of goodness thanks to RA and all the roles on his DVDs.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Irish Witch says:

    Sorry came thru twice.

    Liked by 1 person

Please Leave a Reply

