THBOFA Teaser Trailer–Thorin: “Will you follow me, one last time?”, July 29, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #610)

Sunday, The One Ring Net (TORN) reported that a teaser trailer for The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies would be released on Monday, July 28th(and the teaser for the teaser below). Thanks to Michaela Servetus for pointing me to that TORN link!

“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – 15 second Trailer Tease – Official Warner Bros. UK” by Warner Bros. UK

Then after watching the 17 second teaser for the teaser trailer yesterday, I wondered if we THBOFA--Initial-Poster-wSmaug-andBard_Jul2814SirPeterJacksonFB-sized-600x893would see shock and awe or mostly fire breathing dragon in the real teaser trailer? The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies initial movie poster that Sir Peter Jackson (right) shared on Facebook also seemed to lean that way.

But, it was anyone’s guess at that point. We all know the bones of The Hobbit tale storyline–which I will refrain from stating to keep this post spoiler free. However, I will say one thing–there is a big nasty fight that goes down. And may I state for the record, that I am a big fan of this third movie in The Hobbit films trilogy’s name change to the most descriptively appropriate eponymous title, The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies! The new name isn’t really a spoiler, is it? Ha!

But getting back to the teaser video for the teaser trailer, the lack of clips showing Thorin THBOFA--BilboPoster_Jul2914TORN-sized-600x889Oakenshield–brilliantly portrayed in the other two films by the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage–made me wonder what secrets were yet to be uncovered in this third film. Would some plot points be emphasized or expanded more than others? Are those appendices getting a work out again? Bard and Thranduil and Gandalf and Bilbo (see his movie poster shared by TORN, right) and the Company of Dwarves and Legolas and Tauriel and others, all must have their due in this final film.

And even if you knew nothing about The Hobbit story’s ending, with one of the writers and producers, Phillipa Boyens, unfailingly stating her being enamored of Thorin’s storyline and how wonderfully Richard Armitage portrays him, I think we’re safe to assume that Thorin will have a big role to play in this last film.

 

Finally, the revealed teaser trailer for The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies gives us a few clues:

“The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies – Official Teaser Trailer [HD]” by Warner Bros. Pictures

 

Shock and awe? Oh yeah!  I feel even more certain about Thorin’s role in this third film zzTHBOFA-TeaserTrailer--Thorin-SeekingJul2914GratianaLovelaceCap-cropwith the teasing glimpses of Thorin smouldering–while retreating into the shadows with the darkness of the gold fever dragon sickness overtaking him, and then Thorin taking command again–that we see in this teaser trailer. And then, the closing voice over in today’s teaser trailer is a plea by Thorin Oakenshield (right) to his warrior friends as he brings them together for a common cause a final time, touched my heart with its honest simplicity:

“Will you follow me, one last time?

This one line embodies the courage and determination and heartache and inspiration that the Dwarves of Middle Earth have faced together, with Thorin as their leader–and of what is yet to come. My response to Thorin? A resounding yes!

 

P.S. And now, for your viewing pleasure, some caps I made of the Official THBOFA Teaser Trailer video. You knew I would. Ha!
N.B.  These caps are not necessarily in the order they appeared in the teaser trailer.

 

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Buddies/Friends, Drama, Evangeline Lily, Fiction, Graham McTavish, Lee Pace, Legolas, Luke Evans, Middle Earth, Orlando Bloom, Portraits, Richard Armitage, Something About Love, Tauriel, The Battle of the Five Armies, The Hobbit, Thorin, Thranduil, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to THBOFA Teaser Trailer–Thorin: “Will you follow me, one last time?”, July 29, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #610)

  1. July 29-30, 2014–Thanks for liking this post!

    Servetus, ania- zrysiowana ja, and crystalchandlyre

    Like

  2. July 29, 2014–TORN shares “five” official stills from the THBOFA teaser trailer (ah! The fifth image finally loaded. Ha!):

    http://www.theonering.net/torwp/2014/07/28/91968-five-official-stills-from-the-hobbit-the-battle-of-the-five-armies-teaser-trailer/

    Like

  3. Perry says:

    Your Caps are just great Grati and I predict they will be used over and over.

    Like

    • Hi Perry,
      Thanks for your kind note! I’m glad that you like the caps I did. It is not an exhaustive set, but I tried to make a sampling of all parts of the teaser trailer.

      And I hope that people will enjoy the images I capped and use them. I did not watermark my caps since the images belong to Warner Bros. Pictures. But people including a link back to this post when they do use them on their sites would be a nice little gesture.

      And it looks like five of my scene choices caps also seem to be among the “five official” stills released per TORN. Ha! Dumb luck! I’m sure that The Hobbit folks released higher res versions of those 5 images than my caps. But then again, I was quicker to share my caps. Ha!

      Thanks again and Cheers! Grati;->

      Like

  4. July 30, 2014–Here is the link to the lovely Heirs of Durin’s HD caps of the THBOFA teaser trailer:

    http://thorinoakenshield.net/2014/07/30/hd-screencaps-hobbit-battle-of-five-armies-teaser-trailer/

    Like

  5. July 30, 2014–Thanks to Servetus for sharing a tweet link to a new image of Richard Armitage as Thorin being directed by Sir Peter Jackson:

    And here is Servetus’ post link:
    http://meandrichard.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/new-photo-of-richard-armitage-as-thorin-from-empire-magazine/

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

