Thespian Thursday: Stunning Johan Persson Portrait of Richard Armitage Raging in Chains as John Proctor in “The Crucible”! August 07, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Posts #616)

Photographed by Johan Persson, this stunning character portrait at right of the exquisitely THE CRUCIBLEtalented British actor Richard Armitage raging and wailing as John Proctor in chains is riveting and evocative in The Old Vic Theatre’s production of The Crucible that runs through September 13th.

My not having seen this production of the play gives me leave to interpret this image somewhat out of context–or at least, make an educated guess. The costume and makeup alludes to the scene being near the end of the play when John Proctor is imprisoned–not for what he has done (adultery) but for not being willing to falsely accuse his neighbors, many of whom have already been executed.

And therein lies the dilemma. Can a person live with himself for one lie–as John did for a long time before being discovered as an adulterer–but he can not live with himself for another lie (were he to make false accusations)? Or can a person be resigned to his own fated death by doing right–in John Proctor’s case, him not falsely accusing others–because in telling the truth, it makes up for him doing wrong (his adultery)?

Though John Proctor confessed his and others’ sins out of weakness in a vain attempt to save his own life–by falsely accusing the others of witchcraft and devil worship–he now denies that confession and his accusations out of strength. The heartrending wail that issues forth as John Proctor strives to convince the Village Elders sitting in judgment of the rightness of his choice–and possibly, to convince himself as well–shatters the illusion that his death is noble when his life is to be taken from him.

What does John Proctor’s death prove, but to silence Proctor’s solitary voice of truth and reason? The Village Elders need John Proctor to lie and accuse others in order to salve their own consciences of any wrong doing in the deaths of their neighbors. But as the old saying goes, “two wrongs, don’t make a right”.

And poignantly, we still hear echoing in our minds, John Proctor’s almost final words of truth (in Act four) before TheCrucible--RichardArmitageasJohnProctorCryingOut_Aug0614byJohanPersson-viaenikoniTweet-GLmask-sized-enl-quote2he is executed by hanging  (right and below):

“Proctor, with a cry of his whole soul: Because it is my name!   Because I cannot have another in my life!   Because I lie and sign myself to lies!   Because I am not worth the dust on the feet of them that hang!   How may I live without my name? I have given you my soul; leave me my name!
I fervently hope that Richard Armitage and The Old Vic bring The Crucible (with the full cast) to Broadway in New York City! I would be there in a heartbeat! Because as all the wonderful reviews state, this production of The Crucible is:

Unmissable--OldVicFBBannerAug0714oldvicfb-sized
Finally, here is a brief interview with The Crucible star Richard Armitage about his character John Proctor:

 

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Drama, History, Honor, Interview, John Proctor, Period Drama, Portraits, Review, Richard Armitage, Social Justice, Something About Love, The Crucible, The Old Vic Theatre, Theatre, Thespian Thursday, Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Thespian Thursday: Stunning Johan Persson Portrait of Richard Armitage Raging in Chains as John Proctor in “The Crucible”! August 07, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Posts #616)

  1. August 7, 2014–The superlative kudos just keeping coming for Richard Armitage and colleagues in The Crucible at The Old Vic Theatre! Bravo!:

    pic.twitter.com/v1CZaUAyI3

    Like

  2. Pingback: Thespian Thursday: Stunning Johan Persson Portrait of Richard Armitage Raging in Chains as John Proctor in "The Crucible"! August 07, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Posts #616) | Tinseltown Times

  3. August 8, 10, & 14 2014–Thanks for liking this post!

    guylty, LadyButterfly, and Herba

    Like

  4. Pingback: Thespian Thursday: Digital Theatre’s Film of Richard Armitage in The Crucible will be Revelatory, October 02, 2014 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #642) | Something About Love (A)

  5. Pingback: WCW: Euphoric ReActions to Richard Armitage’s 2015 Olivier Awards Best Actor Nomination, March 11, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #717) | Something About Love (A)

  6. Pingback: Thespian Thursday: Forever Love–John Proctor’s Loving Final Kisses to his Wife Elizabeth, September 17, 2105 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #807) | Something About Love (A)

  7. Pingback: Thespian Thursday: Forever Love–John Proctor’s Loving Final Kisses to his Wife Elizabeth, September 17, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #807) | Something About Love (A)

Please Leave a Reply

