Happy New Year 2015, Plus 1 Day–Grati’s Optimization Plans, January 2, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #685)

Happy New Year 2015!   I know, I’m a day late. But I have an excuse–or rationalization. HappyNewYear2015_RichardArmitage-bySarahDunn_Jan0215GratianaLovelaceManipHousekeeping, the technology kind–not the real house kind–has been glitchy of late because my desktop hard drive is too full. So I needed to reorganize, repurpose, and resolutely trash some items.

And it occurs to me that these 3 R’s–notice the allusion to my blog motto–might be considered a metaphor for enhancing my life in 2015 as well. So here goes:

First, the technology:
1) Who knew that one’s admiring the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage (Grati’s Happy New Year Graphic, right; RA portrait original by the fabulous portraiture photographer Sarah Dunn) and related story and essay writing activities could fill up a 136 GB laptop hardrive so quickly? That is GIGA Bytes! So last year, I had to buy a Terra Byte (1000 Giga bytes) hard drive last year to assume some of the load. But still my laptop isn’t happy–mostly because I was cautious about not moving everything to the External HD wholesale, because there is something comforting about an internal HD. What that is? I couldn’t tell you. So after moving a few more file folder chunks to the TB Ext HD this morning and clearing out 1.49 GB of space on my laptop HD, my laptop is working much faster. Snap!

2) Now if only my spacebar would work properly. But I fear a trip to the geek squad is needed to no doubt give it a tune up. But when? I need my laptop. And no, though some people have the facility to post from their phones, I find everything way too tiny–the eyes, you remembers– to accomplish that. Ha! So please bear with me if the spacebar or other keys stick. Ha!

3) And my tablet needs a new battery, because I think it became unplugged with one of our doggies nosing around at the adapter cord and the plug pulled out–so the charge drained out completely. That is usually a good thing–unless your tablet is a cheap $36 after store discounts android knockoff. I hope it isn’t dead. The tablet is a nice stop gap for me for reading other people’s stories, while my laptop is engaged. I’m a multi-tasking kind of lady.

 

Second, the writing:
1) On the blog–Despite The Hobbit frenzy seeming to be less in January 2014 (for DoS) and December 2014 (for BOFA), this little blog has held its own.   I thank you for visiting, reading, commenting, and voting! And I am especially tickled when I see past stories and essays that I have posted still getting reads. Or as WordPress told me in my End of the Year 2014 stats summary, that my writing “has staying power”. I am still trying to limit my posts here to about 2 to 3 times a week–due to the eyes still being problematic. But I’ve learned that when the double vision becomes too bad and I just can’t read–even what I’m typing–it’s time to rest them a bit for the evening.  So though I just finished a marathon of posting my “A Magnificent Love” story posts continuously from Dec. 25th (3 chapters) to Dec. 31st here and on my Wattpad site (writing it as I went, whew!)–that kind of daily blogging/story writing posting on a sustained basis just isn’t possible for me. So I hope that you’ll understand. My hope is to get back to more regular reading of other peoples blogs as time permits.

2) My Stories On my Wattpad site–My stats are really booming over there. And I understand that reading stories is easier on that platform–because the chapters are contiguous, not separated by other topic essays as they are on my blog.  My most popular story to date is “N&S: John Thornton, Love Lessons” with over 62,300 reads–just on Wattpad, and more on my blog! My jaw drops with that figure. And I still have a backlog of stories that I had earlier posted on my blog, but not yet on my Wattpadsite –but I’m catching up and recently serialized an updated version of “Lost & Found” (Revised) on my Wattpad site. I have also entered/nominated two of my stories into the Wattys 2014 awards–My “Thorin’s Dream of Love” being one of them. I mostly hoped for more readership of them, and that has proven to be the case. My stories are like my babies–and I want them to find friends/readers. And I immensely enjoy writing and sharing my stories–both my original stories, as well as, my RA fan fic stories. My love stories just tumble out of me and sometimes I get so excited that I can’t wait to write them. Ha! Well, they say do what you love, and writing stories is certainly it for me.

3) Social Media–I’m the Founder and Lead Admin over in RAFN (Richard Armitage Friends Network) on Facebook that we started in June 2011. We’re an unofficial little group of ladies fans of Richard Armitage who continue to have lovely daily discussions and sharing about Richard Armitage (RA) resources in real time. Of course, RANet 2015--RichardArmitageSelfie-ontheSlopes_Jan0115RCAtweet-sized(RichardArmitageNet.com) is always my go to site for RA resources–along with RAC (www.RichardArmitageCentral.co.uk) . But Twitter is also great for finding resources, and I often find myself also sharing something in Twitter with the ladies in RAFN. But of course, the biggest social media and Twitter news this year was that Richard Armitage joined twitter! And RA is a natural Twitterer!  RA is witty, concise, and the #kingofthehashtags! RA takes the best selfies–as I collected on my blog here (an example, right).

Third, the Real Life:
1) My hubby and just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and love with him is ever sweeter. I am truly blessed! And we have family and friends across the miles who also fill our lives with joy. And we feel especially blessed by our niece who gave birth to our great nephew this year. But we love all of our nieces and nephews equally. And our friends near and far across the miles are dear to us beyond measure–and you know who you are. Hugs & Love!

2) Our two doggies Heidi and Max continue to be our joy–and sometimes our consternation when they make like they want to go outside to do their business, but they really just want another treat. So they dash out onto the deck, then they run right back inside and wag their tails. We have to figure out a way to break them or us of this habit. Because those 1 or 2am requests for being let fout or treats, are really quashing our sleep stride. Ha! But I must say that my wonderful hubby tends to take most of the overnights–even though he gets up for work at 4:30am.

3) Our home, however could use some optimization. Among other things, as I have lost 20 more pounds this past Fall on a carb counting diet with the goal of improving my health stats–76 pounds and counting overall (50 more to go and I might have that tummy tuck and then some operation) after some dieting slippage–more of my clothes are way too big on me. So I need to take some more to the seamstress to have them taken in, or simply pass them on to the next person and gain some space in our closets. I’m also planning to consolidate all of my Richard Armitage The Hobbit memorabilia into one bin (to lessen the need to dust it). Then there will be the other reduce and recycle of other flotsam and jetsam that I have accumulated over the last year or two. I’m serous people/family, please don’t give me a gift unless it is a consumable–hand lotion or hot chocolate. Ha! And finally, I hope to return our dining room to its intended purpose–from being dissertation central. I just have to decide if I’m past the point of being able to finish it, or I’m done. It’s hard to give that up when I have put so much effort into it over many years. So, I just have to make the final decision whether or not to pack the dissertation resources all away. But my life goals have changed since I started my doctoral studies–I’m an amateur fiction story writer now. And I’m okay with that.

Goodness! That did become a long essay. Ha! But I write essays as much for me as I do for anyone who might be reading them. It’s not that I think that what I have to say in my essays so scintillating. But if an essay I write resonates with someone on a personal level, I am glad to have shared my journey with you. I find it helpful to know that others have issues they struggle with–because none of us are perfect–and I take comfort in that, and hopefully, you do too. But we have the power to make our own lives and to make our own happiness, we just have to really focus upon the good that we have in our lives–it is there, if you will look closely enough–and to step away from what or who might be negative or holding us back.

So let’s look to the new year of 2015 with wide eyes of wonder for the possibilities that await us, with open minds for the new ideas and people that we will meet, and with kind hearts for those around us who may need a friendly ear or vital assistance in their time of need.

And as I always say to friends and loved ones  as my parting blessing: I wish for you every happiness that you wish for yourselves.

Love! Hugs! & Holiday+1 Cheers!   GratiGrati-at-18months_Jan0115GratianaLovelace-crop-clr

(Image right is me at 1 year)

Gratiana Lovelace, Something About Love blog, 2015

 

P.S. And I’ll get around to updating my blog banner over the weekend. But I love the look of it, so I’m planning to just update a few of the pictures of RA in character, or so.

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in "N&S: John Thornton Love Lessons", "Thorin's Dream of Love", A Magnificent Love, Balance, Blessings, Buddies/Friends, Creative Writing, Fan Fiction, Fiction, Holiday, Lost & Found, Love and Relationships, My Life, Portraits, Richard Armitage, Romance, Something About Love, Storytelling, The Hobbit and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy New Year 2015, Plus 1 Day–Grati’s Optimization Plans, January 2, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #685)

  1. Jan. 2-4 & 6, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    jholland, phylly3, Herba, Carolyn, Servetus, & ania- zrysiowana ja

    Like

  2. phylly3 says:

    Happy New Year Grati! Congratulations on your weight loss ( I hope I am able to do the same). And also congratulations on your success at fiction writing. (I also relate to your cleaning goals).
    Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Guylty says:

    Gee, your start-of-year activism is almost making me feel bad ;-) You’ve achieved a lot – congrats on that. And thanks for entertaining us with your stories and posts. Here’s to another year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Giggles Guylty! I have “said” what I wanted to do in my 2015 organizing plans. And I have bought the bin for my Armitage Thorin stuff. But all I’ve succeeded in doing so far is make a Graham Cracker Pie, and write a 95 page story in 6 days and serialize as I went, and optimize my laptop hard drive. But it’s a start! Ha! And you’re very kind about me being “entertaining”. Hugs! Love! & Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  4. Jan. 4, 2015–Making a little bit of progress on my Richard Armitage artifact optimization plans:

    Still haven’t had lunch–I was organizing my Richard artifacts. They are now all safely in a bin–no dusting required. Ha!

    It was almost like an archaelogical expedition and hitting the jackpot–realizing that I had two THAUJ 3-D hologram Thorin covers! I already knew that I had inadvertently bought two of the Esquire UK issues with his 6 page spread in tuxes. Purrrr!

    Now for lunch!

    Like

  5. Servetus says:

    Happy New Year!

    I know how hard it is to let go of that research stuff / space. I’ve just begun selling professional books that I know I will never have a reason to consult as a non-professor. It’s difficult. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for your thoughtful note, Servetus! I have to bite the bullet and let the Ph.D. goal go at some point. I’m almost there–letting go–but not quite. Happy New Year to you, too! Hugs & Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

