FunDay Sunday: Happy International Women’s Day! March 08, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #715)

UN-InternationalWomensDay_banner_iwd2012_Mar0815UnitedNations

Today is International Women’s Day (image above c/o United Nations)!

Today is about women–and the men, husbands, fathers, brothers, friends, and colleagues IntlWomensDayHeartGraphic_Mar0815Angelikawho support them.  Thanks to Angelika for the graphic, right.

No matter your gender, you had and/or have a woman in it somewhere–as mother certainly–and perhaps, sister, wife, daughter, friend, and/or colleague.

You cannot escape us!  See?  Even the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage agrees!  I couldn’t resist a little RA humor there (RANet & Fitzg image credit below, my crop).

British Actor Richard Armitage

But seriously, International Women’s Day   reminds us that though women comprise more than half the world, some women’s voices and lives are still not heard or valued–and  women also suffer violence.

So we ladies who are blessed and privileged and safe should never take our pleasant circumstances for granted.  Nor should we fail to help other women and children in need.  We can become informed (see the United Nations link for IWD), volunteer, and donate our pennies, etc.  I have and I do.  And I know you have and do as well.

So often women are taught to be demure, don’t be “pushy”, let others have the limelight and take credit.  We need to stop doing that.  We are strong and capable ladies.  We give life and we sustain it.  People depend upon us and we come through for them.   Here are some examples of Women of Courage from around the world who inspire us (and image below from the March 6, 2015 ceremony):
2015-International-Women-of-Courage-Award-Winners-Portrait_Mar0615usgov
And here is the video “Bad Romance – Women’s Suffrage” with the Lady Gaga song to also inspire us:

So today, let us celebrate ourselves, the women in our lives, and women around the world who make a difference!  We deserve it!

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Friendship, Graphic, International Women's Day, Mothers, My Life, Observations about life, Reflections, Richard Armitage, Voice, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FunDay Sunday: Happy International Women’s Day! March 08, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #715)

  1. Mar. 08, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    Servetus

    Like

  2. Mar. 11, 2015–Lebanese tv journalist Rima Kiraki demands respect, and so should we all:

    http://i100.independent.co.uk/article/what-rima-karaki-has-to-say-about-that-interview–lyqJ26z3Te

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

