RAndom NumeRicAl Musings of the Richard Armitage Kind, April 20, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #733)

Even a stalwart Richard Armitage fan girl like me has to have her priorities in their proper place.   So I spent most of my Sunday afternoon and early evening attempting to optimize the efficiency of my 8 year old laptop so that it would run more smoothly for my Richarding activities of blogging, storytelling, and social media-ing. During this time, I had Richard Armitage in his Lucas North character from Spooks in mind [(1abc) below courtesy of RANet]. But which one? Lucas in Spooks 7, 8, or 9? Decisions, decisions! A licking thumb Lucas? A shirt painted on his body Lucas? Or, an I’m all business Lucas? I can’t decide. So I’ll take all three. Ha!

Spks7epi2cap080Lucaslickingfingers-imageA-isRichardArmitage_Nov2211ranetcrop-sized-clr   Spks8epi1_083LucasPerplexed-imageB-isRichardArmtiageApr1712ranetbrt-sized-clr   Spooks

Like spy man Lucas, precision and accuracy are everything when it comes to computers. And my file transfer process involves making sure that my files have completely backed up to my newish bought on sale last Fall Terra Byte external hard drive. And now that I am confident that the TB HD is working correctly, I am gradually completely deleting my folder files from the lap top.   My blog post file folders are the last part of this transfer process.

This might not be as simple as it sounds. Each blog post I write has its own folder containing the word document essay and then the pictures files. And if we are talking my story files, the story files migration was completed over several weekends–because those files are huge! Their large size is due to the fact that my story files they have multiple drafts per chapter as I write the story–with individual version files that grow in length and in size. Such that by the time a story is finished and completely illustrated by me, the final story file version can take up 60 – 80 MB of space. Now multiply that one file by its average number of versions divided by exponentially increasing file sizes.  Ooh! So much math! I need Richard Armitage in character as accountant Harry Kennedy from his Vicar of Dibley role to help give me an incentive with this one [(2ab) below left, Grati cap; below right, kelbel75 cap of Nowhere in Particular blog ].

Harry-You-owe-me-the-sum-of-one-kiss-with-tonguesFeb1214GratianaLovelace-sized-clrcst  VofDibley-epi1-380--GerryKissingHarry-isRichardArmitage_Mar1415kelbel75-crop-clr
Yup! That kiss helped immensely! *wink*

So listed below is what I am talking about computer memory size wise , using my completed serializing last Fall “N&S: John Thornton, Love Lessons” fan fic love story as the example–with its files by the numbers:

Total completed story pages = 582 single spaced (with blank lines between paragraphs)

Final story chapter version file size = 73.257 MB

#’s of Chapters = 89 (it could have been a bit longer, but I combined some chapters to finish serializing it by 365 days after I started.

Total size of Chapter version word files (with embedded illustrations) = 9.717 GB

#’s of versions of these chapters = 258

Actual average # of versions of each chapter is > the simple average of 2.89; since I work on several chapters ahead with each iteration. So it actually works out to about 5 to 10 edit versions per story chapter.

Size of images folder for this story = 383MB with 1092 files and 11 sub folders–grouped by location images, children images, various N&S episode/scene screencaps, etc.

Total size of “N&S: JTLL” story folder (word files and picture files) = 10.1 GB

No wonder my laptop wasn’t running efficiently, because nearly all of its memory was used up between software and story files. And this is only one of my stories. Ha!

So 205 post folders later in this weekend’s backup/migration/deletion stint, I have freed up about 5GB more space on my laptop–doubling the GB I had left on the lap top. Brand new, my lap top came with 136 GB, but software ate up that memory space quickly. Only 466 more blog post file folders yet to verify their backup, copy files to the TB HD that didn’t make the first back up, and then delete said files from the lap top. Ha!

And not to worry, every file I have is backed up in a second location–onto a flash drive stick that I keep with me always. And even there, I’m improving. My current stick came with only 64 GB on it. And it has rapidly filled up. So I now have a 128 GB flash drive stick to start backup up to. Sighhh! It’s the little things in life that make me happy.

I can only hope that my striving for computer efficiency meets with businessman Mr. John Thornton’s approval [(x) below left, Grati cap]. And a bonus would not be remiss from him either [(x) below right, Grati Cap].

John-isRichardArmitage-inNorth&South-22h46m08s1-Dec2813GratianaLovelaceCap-crop-manip-sized-brt-clr-sized   John-isRichardArmitage-andMargaret-isDanielaDenby-Ashe-inNorth&South-Epi4-17h54m34s7_Nov1013GratianaLovelaceCap-hi-res-cntrst-sized

And I so love the strong and tender sides of Richard Armitage as John Thornton in North & South–with or without his cravat! *wink* Ha!

Have a great start to your Monday and your week!

 

 

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Blogging, Creative Writing, Fan Fiction, Fangurling, Harry Kennedy, Humor, John Thornton, Love and Relationships, Lucas North, North & South, Period Drama, Portraits, Richard Armitage, Romance, Sexy, Something About Love, Spooks, Storytelling, Vicar of Dibley and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to RAndom NumeRicAl Musings of the Richard Armitage Kind, April 20, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #733)

  1. April 20 & 25, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    Servetus, Esther, & Carolyn

    Like

  2. Esther says:

    Wow, what a job that was! Hope everything works faster now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Giggles, Esther! I am noticing a slight improved computer speed. And I’m only 1/3 of the way through it! There will be future weekends to finish this tedious project–made less so by the injection of a “tall drink of water” here and there–Richard Armitage. *wink* Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

