Meryl Streep Sponsors Workshop for Women Screen Writers 40+, April 22, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #734)

What becomes a legend most? Well if you’re the esteemed and legendary American Actress 2015--Meryl-Streep-Tribeca-Film-Festival_Women-Writers_Apr2015BFI-cropMeryl Streep, it is providing a nurturing mentoring opportunity for aspiring women screen writers over 40:  “The Writers Lab was announced this weekend at the Tribeca film festival, and will nurture eight screenwriters at a retreat in upstate New York”

                                                                                                               (“Photograph: Carlo Allegri/Reuters”)

Ben Beaumont-Thomas (@ben_bt on Twitter) of The Guardian wrote on April 20, 2015 in his article Meryl Streep funds screenwriting initiative for women over 40:
“…The Writers Lab, run by New York Women in Film and Television, will mentor eight screenwriters at a retreat in upstate New York. ….

The initiative was launched over the weekend at the Tribeca film TheWritersLab-4553_Logo9_Apr2215NYWIFTfestival, and will aim to develop and hone the selected writers’ scripts. It comes following a study last year that found the number of female screenwriters in the US was falling, from 17% of the sector in 2009 to 15% in 2014. They were also found to be paid less than their male counterparts….”

Ross A. Lincoln wrote in his April 19th Deadline dot com article about the initiative:
“…Among the lab’s mentors are Jane Skalski (Win Win, The Station Agent), Kirsten Smith (Legally Blond, Ten Things I Hate About You), Gina Prince-Bythewood (Secret Life of Bees, Beyond the Lights), Jessica Bendinger (Bring It On, Aquamarine), and Caroline Kaplan (Boyhood, Me and You and Everyone We Know).

Submissions will be accepted between May 1 and June 1. Winners will be announced Aug. 1. Submissions should be “feature-length, fictional narrative scripts of any genre written by women over the age of 40, who are American citizens or permanent residents of the U.S.”

 

Wow!  This is such a wonderful opportunity for aspiring women screen writers–especially if you’re in the 40 plus group like me. I have no illusions that I will be selected to attend. But I would be monumentally foolish if I didn’t at least submit an application with one of my stories. And I urge my women writer friends to also take note of this wonderful mentoring opportunity.

It is unfortunate that application eligibility is limited to U.S. Citizens or permanent residents of the U.S. as stated above. But that is the way these things go–they have funds earmarked for a certain group. Hopefully, other countries and their arts foundations will take up the charge and also mentor women screen writers, etc. And at least this NYWIFT mentoring focus is for women screen writers–and women who are over 40–a unique and long overdue consideration given that women can be just as successful at screen writing when given the chance. See the list of women screen writing mentors above.

Be sure to visit the NYWIFT’s official website for more information about this worNYWIFTLogo_Apr2215nywiftkshop competition–because you know, the devil is in the details. Ha! And though the FAQ page is extensive, I haven’t found the “terms and conditions” explanation yet–it was not hyperlinked. So hopefully that will be up soon. Because if a requirement of submission is that my story becomes the property of NYWIFT, that would be a not on your life condition for me.

My stories are my babies–and I sweat blood and tears over them. Speaking of which, I’m still deciding which story of mine to submit from my various romance sub genres–contemporary, tearjerker, rom com, thriller, drama, or period saga. So here are some examples of my original (non fan fic) stories that I have narrowed down to pick from–with hyperlinks to their story Wattpad URL (or my blog URL in the case of “Fire & Ice” since I haven’t serialized it on my Wattpad site yet) as a reminder about them. And I welcome your thoughts as to why you liked one particular story of mine over another story. Thanks in advance!

A-Magnificent-Love_Story-Cover-256x401_Dec1714GratianaLovelace                                aLost&Found-story-logo-Wattpad_Oct1914GratianaLovelace_256x395                                   zt_aaLoveandFriendshipStoryLogoWattpadNov2612GratianaLovelaceSml_256x384
“A Magnificent Love”
               “Lost & Found” (revised)             “Love & Friendship”
88 pages  (contemp)                     125 pages (tearjerker)                 122 pages (rom com)

Fire&IceStoryLogoMay1312GratianaLovelaceSml_256x400                             aSeeingBeautyStoryLogoAug2012GratianaLovelace_256x346                          aaaLove_is_a_Choice_story_logo_Mar1313GratianaLovelace256x319
“Fire & Ice”                                “Seeing Beauty”                          “Love is a Choice”
97 pages (thriller)                      95 pages (drama)                       400 pages (period saga)

 

Or, for those of you who prefer a poll, here you go:

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in "Love & Friendship" story, "Love is a Choice" story, "Seeing Beauty" story, A Magnificent Love, Authors, Creativity, Drama, Fiction, Fire & Ice story, intrigue, Lost & Found, Love and Relationships, movies, Period Drama, Richard Armitage, Romance, Something About Love, Storytelling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meryl Streep Sponsors Workshop for Women Screen Writers 40+, April 22, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #734)

  1. April 22, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    april73, Carolyn, & obscura

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

