Sexy SatuRdAy: Richard Armitage’s Harry Lends a Hand, May 09, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #743)

It is Saturday morning and rather than hunkering down to write my love stories and read other people’s stories like I normally do, I head back into my office on campus to do some admin things in peace and quiet without people pulling me away to work on their project. Ha!

Adding insult to injury [(idiom)] is that my hubby is dropping me off at my campus building and then he is going on to church relief sale at our county fairgrounds to see what treasures he can find. Fairgrounds. Yeah! It’s a really big sale. Years ago I used to enjoy puttering around flea markets and such like that–looking for hidden treasures. But if the item doesn’t have an immediate use–and requires dusting–it is not coming home with me. So my hubby is having fun at the sale. While I am going paperless–or at least going less papery.

Getting back to my weekend sojourn at the office, I think the proliferation of paperwork at the end of the school year and fiscal year must be contagious. Obscura at her Ancient Armitage blog yesterday was talking about being snowed under with tons of grading she has to do. I commiserate. I am snowed under having multiple fiscal years worth of admin stuff that we are no longer required to keep at the department level since an office higher up the administrative food chain keeps it.

And I think that I need some assistance from the exquisitely talented British vod1-036--RichardArmitage-asHarryKennedy-keeping-these-q_May0815ranetactor Richard Armitage as his 2006 Vicar of Dibley character Harry Kennedy [right] –at least, he will make my sorting and paper dispatching to the confidential recycling bin beaRAble. Besides, Harry is an accountant–papers and paperwork are his stock and trade. Me, too! However, if Harry says to throw it out, that is good enough for me.

Compounding the problem of multitudes of admin papers in my office is that our department had long ago run out of locked storage space for our/my admin files in our small storage room down the hall, so I could not remove the current admin files from my office to a secure location. Picture 5 ft 2.5 inch Grati in a small windowless interior office with mountains of paper and more filing cabinets then it can house–including two five drawer verticals, two-two drawer horizontals, a tall four drawer horizontal cabinet, and a big double pedestal desk with drawers–and you get the picture.

My office is darn near radiation proof with all the steel in there–as in, allsteel furniture from the 1970’s. Yeah, our office styling is rather retro. But my office furniture is in great condition, indestructible. They really knew how to build stuff then. Although, I wouldn’t mind changing to a sleek glass tabletop desk like I have at home.

So I am standing at the precipice of reducing the paperwork in my private office on campus–perhaps even making it feel inviting for advising consultations, etc. Is it wrong of me to want a work space that is less functional and more feng shui?   Or at least, Harry shui

Well! The ever supportive Harry [right] might say (paraphrasing) “Cobblers!vod2-016-RichardArmitage-asHarry-tellingGeraldine-tothinkofherself-for-once_May0815ranet-sized You’ve spent [29] years doing for others. Now it’s time to do something for yourself.” Of course, Harry was referring to the wedding of his fiancé Geraldine’s dreams. But the reference works here as well. Snap!

And the lure of confidential recycling bins for the now no longer needed admin stuff has me going glassy eyed in anticipation of also being able to rid my office of a couple of filing cabinets.  I would then do like our newish Chairperson has done and switch to furniture with surface space to spread out reports and stuff on when I’m in work mode. But then just keep the table surface blank and empty in between–like a canvass. Feng shui heaven!

Oh, I will keep printouts of the basic admin summary reports that I created–ledgers, scholarship winners lists, student advising/recruiting files, presentation posters, alumni events prep, and such–I can’t bear to part with every thing. Afterall, this is my worklife product that we’re talking about. Ha!

But over the years, many admin things at my campus have gone partly or mostly digital or electronic–as have I.  And I’m trying to only print out a file if it is a work in progress–which still happens a lot because reports and schedules, etc. end up with multiple iterations. So thank god I won’t run out of storage space on my desktop computer–or its cloud backup–because hundreds of giga bytes is what we’re talking about, without even counting the media files.  vod1-032--SmilingHarry-isRichardArmitage_May0815ranet-crop-brt

And my reward for working in the office on a weekend Saturday morning? Harry’s gleaming smile says it all [right].   Sighhh!

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Harry Kennedy, Humor, Observations about life, Richard Armitage, Sexy SatuRdAy, Something About Love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sexy SatuRdAy: Richard Armitage’s Harry Lends a Hand, May 09, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #743)

  1. May 09, 2015–Just for fun, I played around with the first Harry image as a wallpaper:

    Like

  2. Esther says:

    Aw, I’m glad you had Harry to help!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Esther, Thanks for your note! 2 hrs of shredding/recycling (standing the whole time) and I’m exhausted! But everything goes better with Harry! Ha! Thanks for visiting, liking, and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  3. May 09 & 17, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    Esther, Servetus, & Hariclea

    Like

  4. Servetus says:

    Crazy how the paper piles up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh lordy! It truly is! I was a gleeful shredder this morning–only stopping when my back gave out and two recycling bins were full. More streamlining to come this week! It’s a very freeing feeling to “let go” of having to be the paperwork archiver. Ha! Thanks for visiting and commenting! Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

  5. P.S. The electricity was out for one hour tonight. A frontier girl, I am not. Now I’m charging my backup battery charger devices just in case. Ha!

    Like

  6. May 17, 2015–I had my recycling mojo, this Saturday as well. And my hubby helped at home and at the office! After 29 years with my department, they will be replacing my 60 year office furniture for something more functional for the way we work now–Yay!–with lots of work surface space for spreading out my spreadsheets. Ha!

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

