WCW: Grati’s Miscellaneous Musings! June 24, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #773)

I’m in a random musings mood:

Though the Summers of my youth were carefree and leisurely, the Summers of my adulthood are anything but. As an example, it is nearly July and my hubby and I haven’t VintageWomanGolfer_Jun2415onPinterest-sizedgolfed even once yet! [image of vintage woman golfer at right] Not that we are great golfers, but we enjoy the scenery as we chat and play bad golf. But the reason for lack of carefree is all of the overtime I’m putting in for end of the fiscal year stuff–coming in early and leaving late. So by the time my hubby and I run errands after the workday, then make and eat dinner, it can sometimes be 8:00am at night. Then two hours later, we’re asleep. And on the weekends, I just want to stay home and nest–reading and writing.  Giggles!

 

Monday, I discovered a store bag with two casual blouses I had bought a few years ago DSC02879--cute-fabric-on-too-big-blouse_Jun2415Gratithat had gotten buried under another bag in our tiny walk in closet in our master bedroom. We should have put in a pocket door to save space when we built the house. Anyway, one blouse is way too big and the other blouse is positively cavernous–and it’s the got the really cute fabric, too. Darn it! [(image right)] I would love to be able to have the blouse with the cute embroidered fabric taken in. But three sizes? Not possible. And I fear that like straight to video films, these two blouses will go straight to the resale shop–with the tags still on them.

 

Of course, I also have the opposite problem–my hanging on to clothes that I really like and Gratis-decolletage-at-aWedding-Recep2011-crop-to-bosoms-spraystickseffectwearing them for 10 to 20 years–such as several of my dressy dresses. Though they, too, are needing to be taken in since I have lost several dress sizes. And on some dresses or blouses, the looseness is more problematic in the bosoms area. In that, the necklines fall lower and are in danger of revealing my charms. And I am a strict I don’t show my breast crevice kind of gal. Crevice’s are for rock climbers–not ladies. *wink* Example image to the right (my edit) of one of my dressy dresses that kept riding low in the front when I wore it to a wedding four years ago. And unfortunately, this image was snapped before I could readjust myself. Ha! I know, I know. it’s a tame picture–but still, there is a hint of crevice.   So as a result, I now use a safety pin to affix my blouses in front to my slip underneath–in the hopes of keeping my blouses from falling down. Ha!

I love fusable bond tape for quickly hemming skirts, draperies, etc. But I don’t stop there. I DSC02877--BluePaisleySkirt_Jun2415Grati-sized-clr-cropusually also then invisibly baste the hems for real. The fusable bond tape just adds strength and stiffening. I have one blue paisley patterned skirt waiting to be basted after it received the fusable bond tape treatment a few weeks ago. I usually have to hem my skirts since I’m short–5 foot, 2.5 inches tall–or I’ll end up tripping over them. I’m probably making extra work for myself. But I like the thought of hemming the right way.

 

And lastly, at my last birthday, I crossed over to someone who gets to take advantage of Senior discounts for folks 55 and up. And my hubby and I prefer early dinners out the rare times we do that–it’s less busy then, except for the folks twenty years older than us who eat so sparingly they always have plenty to take home as leftovers, even with the smaller portion sizes. And I count sleeping until 6:00am as sleeping in. With Summer Sunrise at 5:23am–and our bedroom having East facing windows–it is rise & shine early in our household. Although on Wednesdays, my hubby has the day off. So I get to sleep in until 6:30am. Snap! Image of another couple sleeping in [(from The Impressionists, epi 1, pix 72, RANet below].

TheImpressionists-epi1_072RichardArmitage-asClaudeMonet-inBed_Jan1613ranet-sized
I started this post talking about sleep and I’m ending it talking about sleep. Ha! Since it is late Tuesday night as I write and post this, I think that I will now toddle off to bed.  See you in the morning. Cheers!  Grati ;->

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in Musings, My Life, nesting, Observations about life, Richard Armitage, Something About Love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WCW: Grati’s Miscellaneous Musings! June 24, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #773)

  1. June 24, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    Carolyn & Servetus

    Like

  2. Kitty says:

    If you get some free time, give me a call and I’ll walk you through tailoring your pretty print shirt. You can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Giggles, Kitty!
      Thanks! You’re on! How about Saturday or Sunday? What time works for you? I will probably head into my office again Saturday for a few hours to work on budget stuff due to the end of the fiscal year looming, but that time is flexible.

      Some blouse or skirt styles lend themselves to creative darting–or a nip and tuck here and there. I took in my tweed skirt quite easily. But with this blouse being 2 – 3 sizes too big at my shoulders, I would need to take it in about 2 inches on each side–to keep it symmetrical.

      And my blouse is short sleeved–with the sleeves being too big, too. But I somehow need to make the arm holes and sleeves smaller as well. Ha!
      Thanks and Cheers! Grati ;->

      Like

Please Leave a Reply

