Sexy SatuRdAy: E-RA-tica–Romancing Richard Armitage, One Story at a Time, July 25, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #788)

Since I have two newish stories that I am writing on in rotation while I am pondering which other of my romance stories that I will serialize next here on my blog and on my Wattpad site, I’m toying around with it. You know, it–the first romantic tryst between each set of characters in my stories, respectively.

And with the exquisitely talented British actor Richard Armitage (right as John Proctor in TheCrucible--RichardArmitageasJohnProctorCryingOut_Aug0614byJohanPersson-viaenikoniTweet-GLmask-sized-enl-quote2The Crucible) as my writing muse–and as my lead male characters in each of my stories–I have much romantic fodder to plow. That reference is intentionally punny since one of my newish stories that I am writing has a gruff and sexy farmer in it that I blogged about recently. The flannel plaid shirt and ball cap just do it for me. Ha!

 

Anyway, firsts are so important–hand holding, embracing, kissing, etc.–and first times making love, are especially so. And this nugget is from a lady with only one first time experience. So I have to use my vivid imagination to weave romantic tryst first time chapters with nuances to keep things interesting–for myself as much for my readers. Ha!

 

My writing love scenes–such as first time love scenes–almost become an Elizabeth Barrett Browning moment for me (with apologies to Lizzie): How do I make love with thee? Let me count the ways.

1) In my original regency period romance, “Love is a Choice” , the wedding night didn’t aaaLove_is_a_Choice_story_logo_Mar1313GratianaLovelace256x319happen between Lord Rafe and Lady Katherine–to hopefully comedic effect. But over the next 24 hours– after some delightful cuddling, baby lambs in distress, discovering he had fathered a daughter eleven years ago, and everyone making that daughter feel welcome after her mother died, and Lord Rafe honorably offering to annul his marriage to Lady Katherine due to his previously rakish ways–but Lady Katherine loves him now and rushes into her husband’s arms for a night to remember.

2) And then I mixed it up with the ladylike virginal Hope secretly in love with the aaznMrRomanceStoryCoverforWattpadSep1513GratianaLovelace256x398heartbreaker lothario Kent in my original contemporary and short (45 pages) love story, “Mr. Romance”. Will she be seduced? Or will he be seduced, as Hope learns to embrace her womanhood under Kent’s tutelage?   It is a light and frothy story with both heartfelt and steamy passages with skiing toned leg muscles coming into play.

3) Getting away from the virgin lady trope, I enjoyed exploring the older woman with zt_aaLoveandFriendshipStoryLogoWattpadNov2612GratianaLovelaceSmlyounger man theme in my original contemporary love story “Love & Friendship”. Lydia travels from the U.S. to London to work with England’s Heartthrob Robert on translating her love story to film, and they fall in love. But their love is slow to kindle–first becoming fast friends and then their relationship deepens through shared experiences and interests. They are a true love match. And my story’s themes also explore issues of adoption and children with AIDS. So there are funny screwball comedy bits–a towel and not much else is involved–as well as, deeply poignant moments involving children and family.

4) Issues of love and loss and identity and self direction are the themes of my original aLost&Found-story-logo-Wattpad_Oct1914GratianaLovelace_256x395contemporary love story “Lost & Found”. When you experience a loss and grief so profound that you retreat from the world into an existence devoid of hopes, wishes, and dreams, how do you find your way back from that? Matthew couldn’t find his way back–despite him having a caring and supportive family–because they have come to accept his illness as never going to change. That is, until, an open and giving stranger named Jocelyn perceives Matthew’s disaffected and distant persona as someone desperately needing human contact if he is to survive. And through her patient and caring interactions with Matthew, Jocelyn will come to exorcise her own relationship demons.

5)  And to close, I return to the older woman and younger man theme in my original short HandsomePlaybillLogoWattpadNov1712GratianaLovelaceSml(14 pages) one act romantic comedy “Handsome”. It is a romantic romp with definite screwball tendencies and large physical comedy as Elaine and Rodger discover that sex with the proper friend is very alright–as long as you remember doing it.

 

Though I have many more stories that I have serialized wherein my muse Richard Armitage plays the lead romantic character–in period as well as fan fic genres, too–I will stop with these five stories. My imagination lovingly loves Richard through his characters in my stories time after time after time. These stories represent for me the innocent and the not so innocent ways of romance and seduction, of yearning and desire, and of love and caring.

 

And my/Grati’s expression of E-RA-tica is most often within my comfort zone of PG-13 (with a teensy bit of R here and there). Though mature themes are present, I like to think that I approach these love scenes tastefully and with restraint.  I write what I like to read–romance, not an instruction manual. *wink* And happily, I seem to have readers who like that, too.

 

P.S. And since I hope to get my original contemporary romantic story “Fire & Ice” serialized on my Wattpad site the first week in August when I have some extended vacation time to devote to it–with only minor tweaking of the original that I serialized here on my blog– that gives me some time to decide what my next synchronized romance story serialization will be for my blog here and for my Wattpad site. Any requests?

 

About Gratiana Lovelace

Gratiana Lovelace is my nom de plume for my creative writing and blogging. I write romantic stories in different sub genres. The stories just tumble out of me. My resurgence in creative writing occurred when I viewed the BBC miniseries of Elizabeth Gaskell's novel North & South in February 2010. The exquisitely talented British actor portraying the male lead John Thornton in North & South--Richard Crispin Armitage--became my unofficial muse. I have written over 50 script stories about love--some are fan fiction, but most are original stories--that I am just beginning to share with others on private writer sites, and here on my blog. And as you know, my blog here is also relatively new--since August 2011. But, I'm having fun and I hope you enjoy reading my blog essays and my stories. Cheers! Grati ;-> upd 12/18/11
This entry was posted in "Love & Friendship" story, "Lucas North, Lost & Found, Love and Relationships, MrRomance and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sexy SatuRdAy: E-RA-tica–Romancing Richard Armitage, One Story at a Time, July 25, 2015 Gratiana Lovelace (Post #788)

  1. July 25 and August 02, 2015–Thanks for liking this post!

    Carolyn, jholland, & Hariclea

    Like

Please Leave a Reply

